Skip links
Companies
› Hong Kong › Chinney Investments, Limited
Chinney Investments, Limited logo

Chinney Investments, Limited

Private limited company (Ltd.) Active

Registration No.
00901795
Incorporation Date
1959-06-23
Company Type
Private limited company (Ltd.)
Address
Central, Hong Kong
Website
www.chinney.com.hk/
Source: Companies Registry

Chinney Investments, Limited (建業實業有限公司) is a Hong Kong-incorporated public company limited by shares, registered with the Hong Kong Companies Registry under registration number 00901795 and originally incorporated on 23 June 1959. The company was first registered as Nylex Plastics, Limited, was renamed Nylex Realty Limited in 1972, adopted variations of its present English name from 1987, and took its current Chinese name in 1989. Its registry status is active, and its registered office is at the 23rd Floor, Wing On Centre, 111 Connaught Road Central, Hong Kong. Chinney Investments, Limited is listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited under stock code 216.

Chinney Investments, Limited is an investment holding company. Its Group is principally engaged in property development, property investment, and property and carpark management, generating recurrent rental income from a portfolio of commercial, office, hotel and data-centre properties while also developing residential and mixed-use projects for sale. The Group’s property activities are concentrated in Hong Kong and Mainland China, notably Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Chongqing, Shanghai and Nanhai/Foshan, with a smaller portfolio of hotel properties in Osaka and Tokyo, Japan, acquired during the financial year ended 31 March 2024. The Group’s carpark division sub-leases and manages parking spaces, and a property-management arm services residential and commercial buildings.

For the year ended 31 March 2024, the Group reported consolidated revenue of HK$1,103 million (2023: HK$1,066 million) and a consolidated net loss attributable to shareholders of HK$66.7 million (2023: profit of HK$33.0 million), the loss driven mainly by fair-value revaluation losses on investment properties. Consolidated shareholders’ equity stood at HK$7,539 million as at 31 March 2024. These are Group-level, consolidated figures and are not necessarily representative of the standalone Hong Kong legal entity Chinney Investments, Limited on its own.

Material recent business developments include the acquisition of a portfolio of five hotel properties in Osaka and Tokyo during the year ended 31 March 2024, and an ongoing renovation of the Group’s Bauhinia (Central) hotel and serviced-apartment building in Hong Kong, which incorporates building-integrated photovoltaic solar technology.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including Companies Registry.

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

5

Chinney Investments, Limited is a Hong Kong Main Board-listed company subject to the disclosure-of-interests regime under Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO), which requires holders of 5% or more of voting rights to be recorded in the company’s register of substantial shareholders. As at 31 March 2024, the latest date for which the company’s own audited Report of the Directors discloses this register, three substantial shareholders were recorded: Dr. James Sai-Wing Wong, Lucky Year Finance Limited (incorporated in the British Virgin Islands), and Chinney Holdings Limited (incorporated in Hong Kong), each shown as interested in 341,439,324 shares (61.93% of the 551,368,153 shares then in issue). Dr. Wong additionally held 480,000 shares (0.09%) directly. Under Section 316 of the SFO, Dr. Wong, Lucky Year Finance Limited and Chinney Holdings Limited are deemed interested in the same underlying parcel of shares rather than three separate stakes, because Dr. Wong controlled Lucky Year Finance Limited, which in turn controlled Chinney Holdings Limited, the direct registered holder. No other substantial shareholders or persons were recorded in the register as at that date. No verified ultimate beneficial owner percentage below the corporate holding chain (i.e., naming a specific natural person’s effective stake distinct from Dr. Wong’s own disclosed interest) was located in the primary sources reviewed.

Ultimate beneficial ownership

Dr. James Sai-Wing Wong was identified in the company’s own FY2023/24 annual report as the Company’s controlling shareholder and Founding Chairman, holding an effective interest of approximately 62.02% (61.93% through the Lucky Year Finance Limited/Chinney Holdings Limited chain plus 0.09% held directly) as at 31 March 2024. Reputable news sources reported that Dr. Wong passed away on 16 February 2025 and that Madam Madeline May-Lung Wong Cha has since been reported, as executor of his estate, to hold an interest of approximately 63.87% in the Company. This later figure was not corroborated in this review against a primary-source SFO Section 336 substantial-shareholder filing and should be treated as unverified pending confirmation from an official disclosure-of-interests filing or a more recent annual report.

Data availability

Major shareholders only: Hong Kong’s SFO disclosure regime requires reporting of holdings at or above a 5% threshold, so only substantial (not all) shareholders are publicly recorded; the last verified register date located was 31 March 2024, and a change in the controlling interest following Dr. Wong’s reported death in February 2025 has not been independently confirmed in this review.

Sources

Chinney Investments, Limited, Annual Report 2023/24, “Report of the Directors – Substantial Shareholders’ and Other Persons’ Interests and Short Positions in Shares and Underlying Shares,” filed with and published via HKEXnews, retrieved 3 September 2026 (registry/filing date 27 June 2024). News reports on Dr. Wong’s death and estate interest via TipRanks/MarketScreener aggregating Reuters and company announcements, retrieved 3 September 2026, not independently verified against a primary SFO filing.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registry, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Shareholder Type Holding Source Document
DFA International Small Cap Value Portfolio 44.5% Companies Registry
DFA International Vector Equity Port 4.2% Companies Registry
SEI Institutional Investment Tr-Global Managed Volatility Fd 3.3% Companies Registry
DFA Investment Dimensions-World Ex U.S. Core Equity Port 1.8% Companies Registry
John Hancock Fds II-International Small Company Fund 1.4% Companies Registry

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

9

As at the most recent primary-source board announcement located (a Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing announcement dated 29 August 2025), Chinney Investments, Limited disclosed nine directors: four executive directors, one non-executive director and four independent non-executive directors. One of the four executive directors named in that announcement, Donald Yin-Shing Lam, subsequently resigned effective 19 December 2025 per a later company announcement, leaving eight current directors as of the most recent primary-source confirmation available during this review. The current directors are James Sing-Wai Wong (Chairman, Executive Director, appointed Chairman 31 August 2023, a director since August 2018), Yuen-Keung Chan (Vice Chairman, Executive Director, and formerly Managing Director from 2018 until 29 August 2025), Raymond Ming-Joe Chow (Executive Director and Managing Director, appointed 29 August 2025), Dr. Emily Yen Wong (Non-Executive Director since 2017), Richard Chi-Ho Lo (Independent Non-Executive Director since 2017), Winfred Wai-Lap Fan (Independent Non-Executive Director since 2019), Randall Todd Turney (Independent Non-Executive Director since 2021), and Stephen Henry Chu (Independent Non-Executive Director, appointed 12 December 2023). The Company Secretary is Ka-Yee Wan, in post since 2018. Nationality is not disclosed for any officer in the sources reviewed for this profile; Hong Kong company and listed-issuer disclosures record correspondence details and appointment history but not citizenship, and nationality has therefore not been inferred from any officer’s name, education or country of residence.

Recent officer changes

  • Raymond Ming-Joe Chow was appointed Executive Director and Managing Director with effect from 29 August 2025 (source: HKEXnews announcement dated 29 August 2025).
  • Yuen-Keung Chan ceased to be Managing Director, while remaining Executive Director and Vice Chairman, with effect from 29 August 2025 (same source).
  • Donald Yin-Shing Lam resigned as Executive Director with effect from 19 December 2025, to focus on his role as Managing Director of the Company’s 68.09%-owned subsidiary Hon Kwok Land Investment Company, Limited (source: company announcement, December 2025, as reported by financial news aggregators referencing the official disclosure).

Data availability

Full for board composition and appointment/resignation dates: Hong Kong Main Board issuers must announce director appointments, resignations and role changes to HKEXnews under the Listing Rules, and the company’s annual report separately discloses biographical detail for directors and named senior management (including the Financial Controller and the Director of Corporate Finance and Business Development). Not disclosed for nationality: no source reviewed states any officer’s citizenship, and Hong Kong’s regulatory disclosures do not require it.

Sources

HKEXnews announcement “Appointment of Executive Director and Managing Director,” Chinney Investments, Limited, 29 August 2025, retrieved 3 September 2026. Chinney Investments, Limited, Annual Report 2023/24, “Biographical Details of Directors and Senior Management” and “Corporate Governance Report,” published 27 June 2024, retrieved 3 September 2026. Financial news reporting (via TradingView/Reuters and MarketScreener) on Donald Yin-Shing Lam’s resignation effective 19 December 2025, retrieved 3 September 2026.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registry, including entries the profile above does not cover.

SW
Sing-wai Wong J.d. ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Executive Chairman

MN
Ming-yui Ng ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Director Of Corporate Finance & Business Development

YL
Yin-shing Lam ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Executive Director

MC
Ming-joe Chow ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Md & Executive Director

YS
Yin Shing Lam ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Executive Director

SW
Sai-Wing Wong ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Executive Director

KS
Kai-nor Siu ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Financial Controller

YC
Yuen-keung Chan ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Vice Chairman & Md

KW
Ka-yee Wan Acis, Acs ACTIVE

Residence
🇭🇰 Hong Kong
Occupation
Company Secretary

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Chinney Investments, Limited is part of a verified corporate group. Its immediate parent, per the Company’s own audited consolidated financial statements, is Chinney Holdings Limited, incorporated in Hong Kong, and its ultimate parent is Lucky Year Finance Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The Company holds a direct 68.09% interest in Hon Kwok Land Investment Company, Limited (stock code 160), itself listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and the entity through which most of the Group’s property development and investment activity in Mainland China, Hong Kong and Japan is conducted, together with a wholly (100%) owned direct financing subsidiary, Chinney Treasury Limited, and numerous further intermediate subsidiaries incorporated in Hong Kong, the British Virgin Islands, Mainland China, Canada, Singapore and Japan. Separately, the Company holds a 29.10% equity-accounted interest in Chinney Alliance Group Limited (stock code 385) — this is an associate, not a subsidiary, and Chinney Alliance is a distinct listed entity engaged in construction, foundation-piling and building-services contracting. Despite the shared “Chinney” branding and overlapping directors (James Sing-Wai Wong and Yuen-Keung Chan sit on both boards), Chinney Alliance Group Limited must not be conflated with Chinney Investments, Limited. Chinney Alliance in turn holds a 74.5% interest in Chinney Kin Wing Holdings Limited (stock code 1556); Chinney Kin Wing is not part of the Chinney Investments consolidated group and is linked to Chinney Investments only indirectly, through the Chinney Alliance associate relationship and common family directors, not through direct ownership.

Verified corporate relationships

Entity Country Relationship Ownership Status Information date
Chinney Holdings Limited Hong Kong Immediate parent Not disclosed (controls Company) Active 31 Mar 2024
Lucky Year Finance Limited British Virgin Islands Ultimate parent Not disclosed (controls Chinney Holdings Limited) Active 31 Mar 2024
Hon Kwok Land Investment Company, Limited (SEHK:160) Hong Kong Direct subsidiary 68.09% Active, listed 31 Mar 2024
Chinney Treasury Limited Hong Kong Direct subsidiary 100% Active 31 Mar 2024
Chinney Alliance Group Limited (SEHK:385) Bermuda / Hong Kong Associate (equity-accounted; not a subsidiary) 29.10% Active, listed 31 Mar 2024
Chinney Kin Wing Holdings Limited (SEHK:1556) Hong Kong Possible relationship (subsidiary of the Chinney Alliance associate; no direct ownership link to Chinney Investments) 74.5% owned by Chinney Alliance Active, listed 31 Mar 2024

Recent structural changes

On 28 May 2024, a solely-funded subsidiary of the Group’s 60%-owned Japan hotel joint venture entered into a sale and purchase agreement to dispose of a hotel property in Asakusa, Japan, for approximately JPY1,872.5 million, with completion expected on or before 31 July 2024 (source: Chinney Investments, Limited, Annual Report 2023/24, “Event after the Reporting Period”).

Data availability

Full for the immediate parent, ultimate parent, and the principal listed subsidiary (Hon Kwok Land Investment Company, Limited), each independently confirmed via the Company’s own audited consolidated financial statements. Partial for the wider subsidiary chain: the annual report discloses only the “principal subsidiaries” it considers material, not an exhaustive registry-level list, and individual registration numbers for related entities were not independently re-verified against the Hong Kong Companies Registry or the BVI registry during this review. An on-file group-structure record also lists a “Minghui Weiye Electronic Technology (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd.” as a subsidiary; this entity could not be located in the Company’s FY2023/24 annual report subsidiary schedule and is treated here as a possible, not verified, relationship.

Sources

Chinney Investments, Limited, Annual Report 2023/24, Note 1 “Corporate and Group Information,” “Report of the Directors,” and Note 41 “Event after the Reporting Period,” published 27 June 2024, retrieved 3 September 2026. Chinney Group corporate website (chinneygroup.com), “Investor Relations” page, retrieved 3 September 2026.

Ultimate HQ
Lucky Year Finance Limited
British Virgin Islands
Minghui Weiye Electronic Technology (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd.
ChinaCN 440301503376810

Hon Kwok Land Investment Company, Limited
Hong KongHK 02138425

CHINNEY TREASURY LIMITED
Hong KongHK 35573896

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on Chinney Investments, Limited?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Chinney Investments, Limited?

Chinney Investments, Limited (建業實業有限公司) is a Hong Kong-incorporated investment holding company listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (stock code 216), principally engaged in property development, property investment, and property and carpark management.

Where and when was Chinney Investments, Limited incorporated?

It was incorporated in Hong Kong on 23 June 1959, originally under the name Nylex Plastics, Limited, and has been renamed several times since, most recently to its current name in 1989.

What is Chinney Investments, Limited's Hong Kong company registration number?

Its Hong Kong Business Registration number is 00901795.

Is Chinney Investments, Limited a listed company?

Yes. It is listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited under stock code 216.

What does Chinney Investments, Limited do?

Its Group develops and invests in commercial, office, hotel and residential property, mainly in Hong Kong and Mainland China with a smaller Japanese hotel portfolio, and also operates carpark and property-management businesses.

Who is the immediate parent company of Chinney Investments, Limited?

Chinney Holdings Limited, a company incorporated in Hong Kong, is the immediate parent per the Company's own audited financial statements.

Who is the ultimate parent company of Chinney Investments, Limited?

Lucky Year Finance Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands, is disclosed as the ultimate holding company in the Company's audited financial statements.

Is Chinney Alliance Group Limited a subsidiary of Chinney Investments, Limited?

No. Chinney Alliance Group Limited (stock code 385) is a separately listed associate in which Chinney Investments, Limited holds a 29.10% equity-accounted interest; it is not a subsidiary, despite the shared branding and overlapping directors.

What is Chinney Investments, Limited's principal listed subsidiary?

Hon Kwok Land Investment Company, Limited (stock code 160), which is 68.09% owned by Chinney Investments, Limited and conducts most of the Group's property development and investment activity.

Who are the substantial shareholders of Chinney Investments, Limited?

As at 31 March 2024, the disclosed substantial shareholders were Dr. James Sai-Wing Wong, Lucky Year Finance Limited and Chinney Holdings Limited, deemed interested in the same parcel of 341,439,324 shares (61.93%) under Section 316 of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

What was Chinney Investments, Limited's revenue for the year ended 31 March 2024?

The Group reported consolidated revenue of HK$1,103 million and a consolidated net loss attributable to shareholders of HK$66.7 million for the year ended 31 March 2024.

What is Chinney Investments, Limited's company registration number?

Chinney Investments, Limited's registration number is 00901795, filed with Companies Registry in Hong Kong. Its current status on the register is active.

Is Chinney Investments, Limited still an active company?

Chinney Investments, Limited's status on Companies Registry is listed as active.

When was Chinney Investments, Limited incorporated?

Chinney Investments, Limited was incorporated on 23 June 1959, according to Companies Registry.

What is Chinney Investments, Limited's registered address?

The registered address on file for Chinney Investments, Limited is Central, Hong Kong.

What legal structure is Chinney Investments, Limited registered as?

Chinney Investments, Limited is registered as a Private limited company (Ltd.) in Hong Kong.

Can Zavia monitor changes to Chinney Investments, Limited's ownership over time?

This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies Registry. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to Chinney Investments, Limited's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.

Can I access Chinney Investments, Limited's data through an API?

Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Hong Kong, so records like Chinney Investments, Limited's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.

Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?

This record is sourced directly from Companies Registry and was last synced on 11 August 2026.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.