JAMES HARDIE INDUSTRIES PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
James Hardie Industries plc, registered with the Irish Companies Registration Office as James Hardie Industries Public Limited Company (CRO number 485719), is a public limited company incorporated in Ireland on 17 June 2010, with its registered office at 1st Floor, Block A, One Park Place, Upper Hatch Street, Dublin 2, D02 FD79, Ireland. The plc became the ultimate holding company of the James Hardie group on that date, when the group completed a two-stage redomicile of its corporate parent from the Netherlands to Ireland; the parent had converted from a Dutch N.V. into a European Company (SE) in February 2010 before shareholders approved the move to Irish domicile, with Irish tax residence taking effect on 29 June 2010. The wider James Hardie business traces its own operating roots to a building-materials company founded in Australia in 1888, but James Hardie Industries plc itself, as the entity on file here, dates only from this 2010 restructuring.
James Hardie Industries plc describes itself as the world’s largest producer and marketer of high-performance fiber cement and, in Europe, of fiber gypsum building solutions. Its principal products are fiber cement exterior siding, panel, trim and backer-board systems sold under the Hardie brand (including Hardie Plank, Hardie Panel, Hardie Trim, Hardie Backer and Hardie Artisan Siding), together with fiber gypsum and cement-bonded boards under the fermacell brand and fire-protection boards under the AESTUVER brand, serving residential and light-commercial construction markets across North America, Europe, Australia and New Zealand. On 1 July 2025 the company completed its acquisition of The AZEK Company, Inc., a US-listed maker of composite and PVC decking, railing and exterior trim products (TimberTech, AZEK Exteriors, Versatex and StruXure brands), in a cash-and-stock transaction with an implied enterprise value of approximately US$8.4 billion; AZEK’s shares ceased trading on the New York Stock Exchange on completion.
James Hardie Industries plc’s shares trade as CHESS Depositary Interests on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX: JHX), its primary listing, and, in the United States, as American Depositary Shares representing CHESS Units of Foreign Securities on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: JHX). The company files an annual report on SEC Form 20-F and separately publishes Irish Statutory Accounts under the Companies Act 2014. For the fiscal year ended 31 March 2025, the James Hardie group reported consolidated net sales, prepared under US GAAP, of US$3,877.5 million, a consolidated group figure rather than a stand-alone measure of this legal entity; James Hardie Industries plc’s own parent-only balance sheet showed net current assets of US$516.3 million at that date, with liabilities consisting mainly of amounts owed to other group companies. Through a wholly-owned subsidiary, James Hardie Industries plc also guarantees payments under a 2007 court-approved funding agreement to an Australian asbestos compensation fund relating to former group companies’ historical asbestos liabilities.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
3
Shareholders of James Hardie Industries plc
James Hardie Industries plc is a widely-held public company whose shares trade as CHESS Depositary Interests on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX: JHX, primary listing) and as American Depositary Shares on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: JHX, secondary listing); it does not have a public register listing all shareholders. Its beneficial-ownership disclosure instead follows ASX Listing Rule 3.17.3 and Australian Corporations Act substantial-holder notice requirements, and, for US holders, SEC Schedule 13G/13D filings, under which only holders whose interest reaches or crosses 5% of voting shares must notify the market. On this basis, James Hardie Industries plc has disclosed substantial holding notices for The Vanguard Group, Inc. (reporting 33,188,353 shares, 5.73% of the class, as of 30 September 2025 per an amended SEC Schedule 13G) and BlackRock, Inc. (reporting total holdings and voting power exceeding 6% as of 17 April 2025 under an ASX substantial holding notice). Other institutional holders, including Barclays and Millennium-linked investors, have also filed and later amended substantial-holding notices during 2025, indicating an actively-traded, institutionally-held share register rather than a small number of static block-holders. No natural person or corporate group has been disclosed as holding a controlling or near-controlling stake.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
No individual has been identified by an authoritative source as the ultimate beneficial owner of James Hardie Industries plc, and no ownership chain permitting a calculated effective percentage was located. As a widely-held listed company with disclosed institutional holdings below 10% each, James Hardie Industries plc does not have a natural-person UBO in the ordinary sense; Irish beneficial-ownership registration requirements applicable to unlisted companies do not extend a comparable natural-person filing obligation to companies whose securities are already admitted to trading on a regulated market such as the ASX or NYSE.
Data availability
Shareholder information for James Hardie Industries plc is classified as major shareholders only: substantial-holder and Schedule 13G/13D notices disclose holders crossing the 5% threshold, but no complete register of all shareholders is publicly available for this ASX/NYSE-listed company.
Sources
ASX substantial holding notice, BlackRock, Inc., announced 17 April 2025 (announcements.asx.com.au), retrieved 18 September 2026. The Vanguard Group, Inc., Schedule 13G/A, filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission reporting 30 September 2025 holdings (sec.gov, CIK 1159152), retrieved 18 September 2026. James Hardie Industries plc, Investor Relations, Stock Information (ir.jameshardie.com), retrieved 18 September 2026.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registration Office (CRO), including entries the profile above does not cover.
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| Massachusetts Financial Services Co. | 7.3% | Companies Registration Office (CRO) | |
| SmallCap World Fund Inc | 1.8% | Companies Registration Office (CRO) | |
| MFS SERIES TRUST I-MFS New Discovery Fund | 0.6% | Companies Registration Office (CRO) |
Officers
14
Directors and officers of James Hardie Industries plc
James Hardie Industries plc’s most recent definitive proxy statement, filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on 1 July 2026 for its 2026 Annual General Meeting, names the following as current directors: Nigel Stein (Independent Non-Executive Chair, appointed to the Board and as Chair effective 17 November 2025), Aaron Erter (Chief Executive Officer and Director, CEO since September 2022), and independent or non-executive directors Howard Heckes, Gary Hendrickson and Jesse Singh (all appointed 1 July 2025), John Pfeifer (appointed May 2024), Renee Peterson, Suzanne B. Rowland, and Rob Sindel (appointed effective 1 June 2026, succeeding Persio Lisboa, who retired from the Board on 14 May 2026). The Company Secretary is Aoife Rockett. Several directors ceased to hold office in the twelve months preceding this review, including Anne Lloyd (the previous independent non-executive Chair, who ceased to be a director on 29 October 2025), Peter-John Davis and Rada Rodriguez (both ceased 29 October 2025), and Harold Wiens (resigned effective 1 July 2025), reflecting a substantial board refresh coinciding with the Company’s July 2025 acquisition of The AZEK Company, Inc. This information reflects the Company’s FY2025 Irish Statutory Accounts, its DEF 14A filed 1 July 2026, and its own investor relations disclosures, retrieved 18 September 2026, and may not capture appointments or departures announced after that date. Nationality of individual directors is not disclosed in the sources reviewed and has not been inferred from name, reported country of residence, or committee assignment; director biographies in the Company’s Form 20-F disclose “Residency” (for example, United States) as a distinct data point, which is not equivalent to nationality.
Recent officer changes
Nigel Stein was appointed independent non-executive Chair of the Board effective 17 November 2025, succeeding Anne Lloyd. Ryan Lada was appointed Chief Financial Officer effective 17 November 2025, succeeding Rachel Wilson, who remained with the Company in an advisory capacity until 31 March 2026. Rob Sindel was appointed an independent non-executive director effective 1 June 2026, succeeding Persio Lisboa, who retired from the Board on 14 May 2026.
Data availability
Officer information for James Hardie Industries plc is classified as full: as an Irish-incorporated, ASX/NYSE-listed public company, it discloses current directors, the company secretary and executive officers, together with appointment and cessation dates, through its Irish Statutory Accounts, SEC proxy filings (Form 20-F and DEF 14A) and its own investor relations announcements. Nationality is not separately disclosed for directors in these sources; country of residence is disclosed for some directors as a distinct field and has not been used here to infer nationality.
Sources
James Hardie Industries plc, FY 2025 Irish Statutory Accounts and Annual Report on Form 20-F, Appendix to the Directors’ Report, retrieved 18 September 2026 (s21.q4cdn.com/242028226/files/doc_financials/2025/ar/FY2025-IAR-Final-reduced.pdf). James Hardie Industries plc, Form 8-K / ASX announcement of director changes, filed 14-15 May 2026 (sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001159152/000162828026035264). James Hardie Industries plc, Form DEF 14A, filed 1 July 2026 (sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001159152/000162828026046522/jhx-20260701.htm). James Hardie Industries, press release “James Hardie Announces Appointment of Nigel Stein as Chair of its Board of Directors,” 17 November 2025 (ir.jameshardie.com). James Hardie Industries, press release “James Hardie Industries Appoints Ryan Lada as Chief Financial Officer,” 17 November 2025 (businesswire.com), retrieved 18 September 2026.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registration Office (CRO), including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Group structure of James Hardie Industries plc
James Hardie Industries plc is the ultimate parent holding company of the James Hardie group; no source reviewed indicated that it is itself controlled by another corporate parent. Its FY2025 Annual Report on Form 20-F (Organizational Structure note, as of 30 April 2025) lists significant wholly-owned subsidiaries including James Hardie Building Products Inc., James Hardie North America, Inc. and James Hardie U.S. Investments Sierra Inc. (United States); James Hardie 117 Pty Ltd, James Hardie Australia Pty Ltd and RCI Holdings Pty Ltd (Australia); James Hardie Europe GmbH and James Hardie Europe Holdings GmbH (Germany); James Hardie NL1 B.V. and James Hardie NL2 B.V. (Netherlands); James Hardie Technology Limited (Bermuda, Irish tax resident); and several Irish holding subsidiaries, including James Hardie Holdings Limited, James Hardie International Holdings Limited, James Hardie International Group Limited, James Hardie International Finance Designated Activity Company, and James Hardie Technology Holdings 1 Limited and 2 Limited. On 1 July 2025, James Hardie Industries plc completed its acquisition of The AZEK Company, Inc., a Delaware-incorporated, previously NYSE-listed manufacturer of composite decking and exterior building products, in a cash-and-stock transaction with an implied enterprise value of approximately US$8.4 billion; AZEK and its subsidiaries became part of the James Hardie group on completion, though they are not yet reflected in the last-published subsidiary list above, which predates the acquisition. Separately, through its wholly-owned subsidiary James Hardie 117 Pty Ltd, James Hardie Industries plc guarantees payments to the Asbestos Injuries Compensation Fund (AICF), an independent Australian trust that is consolidated into the group’s financial statements as a variable interest entity even though James Hardie does not legally own it. This information reflects the Company’s FY2025 Irish Statutory Accounts (as of 30 April 2025) and its July 2025 acquisition announcement, retrieved 18 September 2026.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| James Hardie Building Products Inc. | United States | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct or indirect subsidiary | 100% (wholly-owned) | Active | 30 April 2025 |
| James Hardie 117 Pty Ltd | Australia | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct or indirect subsidiary (“Performing Subsidiary” under the AFFA) | 100% (wholly-owned) | Active | 30 April 2025 |
| James Hardie Holdings Limited | Ireland | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct or indirect subsidiary | 100% (wholly-owned) | Active | 30 April 2025 |
| James Hardie Technology Limited | Bermuda | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct or indirect subsidiary | 100% (wholly-owned) | Active | 30 April 2025 |
| The AZEK Company, Inc. | United States | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct or indirect subsidiary (acquired) | 100% (acquired) | Active since completion | 1 July 2025 |
Recent structural changes
Completion of the acquisition of The AZEK Company, Inc. on 1 July 2025, adding composite decking, railing and exterior trim manufacturing subsidiaries to the group (implied enterprise value approximately US$8.4 billion).
Data availability
Corporate-linkage information for James Hardie Industries plc is classified as full for the position as of 30 April 2025 but partial thereafter: its Form 20-F sets out a complete list of significant wholly-owned subsidiaries as of that date, but The AZEK Company, Inc. and its own subsidiaries, added to the group on 1 July 2025, are not yet reflected in a published organizational-structure note, and their individual registration numbers were not located in the sources reviewed.
Sources
James Hardie Industries plc, FY 2025 Irish Statutory Accounts and Annual Report on Form 20-F, Organizational Structure note (as of 30 April 2025), retrieved 18 September 2026 (s21.q4cdn.com/242028226/files/doc_financials/2025/ar/FY2025-IAR-Final-reduced.pdf). James Hardie Industries plc / The AZEK Company, Inc., joint press release “James Hardie Completes Acquisition of AZEK to Become a Leading Provider of Exterior Home and Outdoor Living Solutions,” 1 July 2025 (jameshardie.com/all-about-james-hardie/press-releases/performance/james-hardie-completes-acquisition-of-azek/), retrieved 18 September 2026.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registration Office (CRO), including entries the profile above does not cover.
JAMES HARDIE INDUSTRIES PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
Ireland
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is James Hardie Industries plc's Irish company registration number?
James Hardie Industries plc is registered with the Irish Companies Registration Office under number 485719. On Zavia.ai this is recorded as registration number IE485719.
When was James Hardie Industries plc incorporated?
James Hardie Industries plc was incorporated in Ireland on 17 June 2010, when the James Hardie group completed the redomicile of its corporate parent from the Netherlands to Ireland.
What is the legal form of James Hardie Industries plc?
James Hardie Industries plc is a public limited company (plc) under Irish company law, the entity type on file for CRO number 485719.
What is James Hardie Industries plc's registered office address?
The registered office of James Hardie Industries plc is 1st Floor, Block A, One Park Place, Upper Hatch Street, Dublin 2, D02 FD79, Ireland, per its Irish Statutory Accounts and SEC filings.
Is James Hardie Industries plc active on the Irish companies register?
Public company-search sources report a normal (active) registration status for James Hardie Industries plc under CRO number 485719. An active registration status does not by itself indicate current financial performance or trading activity.
What does James Hardie Industries plc do?
James Hardie Industries plc describes itself as the world's largest producer and marketer of high-performance fiber cement and, in Europe, fiber gypsum building products, and since July 2025 also composite and PVC decking and railing products following its acquisition of The AZEK Company, Inc.
Where is James Hardie Industries plc listed?
James Hardie Industries plc has its primary listing on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX: JHX) as CHESS Depositary Interests, with a secondary listing on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: JHX) as American Depositary Shares.
Who is the Chief Executive Officer of James Hardie Industries plc?
Aaron Erter has served as Chief Executive Officer and Director of James Hardie Industries plc since September 2022, per the company's SEC filings.
Who is the Chair of James Hardie Industries plc's board?
Nigel Stein has served as independent non-executive Chair of the Board of James Hardie Industries plc since 17 November 2025, succeeding Anne Lloyd.
Who are James Hardie Industries plc's major shareholders?
As an ASX/NYSE-listed company, James Hardie Industries plc discloses only substantial shareholders crossing the 5% threshold, including The Vanguard Group, Inc. (5.73% as of 30 September 2025) and BlackRock, Inc. (over 6% as of 17 April 2025). No complete shareholder register is publicly available.
Does James Hardie Industries plc have a parent company?
No source reviewed indicates that James Hardie Industries plc is controlled by another corporate parent; it is the ultimate parent holding company of the James Hardie group.
What subsidiaries does James Hardie Industries plc have?
James Hardie Industries plc's FY2025 Form 20-F lists wholly-owned subsidiaries including James Hardie Building Products Inc. (United States), James Hardie 117 Pty Ltd (Australia) and several Irish holding companies. It also acquired The AZEK Company, Inc. and its subsidiaries on 1 July 2025.
Did James Hardie Industries plc acquire The AZEK Company?
Yes. James Hardie Industries plc completed its acquisition of The AZEK Company, Inc. on 1 July 2025 in a cash-and-stock transaction with an implied enterprise value of approximately US$8.4 billion.
What is James Hardie Industries plc's official website?
James Hardie Industries plc's corporate website is www.jameshardie.com, as recorded in Zavia.ai's on-file data for this company.
Does Zavia.ai monitor James Hardie Industries plc for changes?
Zavia.ai maintains this company profile on file and periodically reviews public registry, regulatory and company-disclosed sources; users can track updates to this record through Zavia.ai's monitoring and API services.