Guoco Group Limited
Guoco Group Limited is a Bermuda-incorporated exempted company (Bermuda Registrar of Companies entity number 15590; Legal Entity Identifier 3OIHUMDMI0Z4XVPQ8V78), established on 25 May 1990. Its registered office is Clarendon House, 2 Church Street, Hamilton HM 11, Bermuda, and its principal office is the 50th Floor, The Center, 99 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong. The company’s shares are listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited under stock code 53, and it remained an active, reporting issuer as at its most recent annual results announcement on 19 September 2025.
Guoco describes itself as an investment holding and management company operating through four core businesses. Principal Investment pursues equity and direct investments in global capital markets. Property Development and Investment is conducted mainly through Singapore-listed subsidiary GuocoLand Limited and its Malaysia-listed sub-subsidiary GuocoLand (Malaysia) Berhad. Hospitality and Leisure comprises The Clermont Hotel Group’s London hotel portfolio and London-listed casino and bingo operator The Rank Group Plc. Financial Services reflects Guoco’s associated-company interest in Hong Leong Financial Group Berhad, a Bursa Malaysia-listed banking, insurance and investment-banking group. Operations and investments are principally located in Hong Kong, Mainland China, Singapore, Malaysia, the United Kingdom, Continental Europe and Australasia.
For the financial year ended 30 June 2025, Guoco Group Limited reported consolidated group revenue of HK$24,443 million, up 9% year-on-year, and profit attributable to equity shareholders of HK$4,031 million, up 13%. Basic earnings per share were HK$12.39, and total assets stood at HK$146,560 million (US$18,670 million) at year-end. The board proposed a total dividend of HK$3.50 per share for the year, comprising an interim dividend of HK$0.60 paid in March 2025 and a proposed final dividend of HK$2.90. These are Guoco Group Limited’s own consolidated results as reported in its 2025 Annual Report, released 19 September 2025 and audited by KPMG, with its annual general meeting held on 14 November 2025.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
As at 30 June 2025, the register maintained by Guoco Group Limited under Section 336 of Hong Kong’s Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) recorded interests of 5% or more from seven substantial shareholders and other persons. The largest disclosed interest was that of Quek Leng Chan (“QLC”), reported through controlled corporations at 282,280,833 shares and underlying derivative shares, equal to approximately 85.79% of the shares in issue. GuoLine Capital Assets Limited (“GCAL”), described by the company as its ultimate holding company, held 240,351,792 shares (73.04%) through its wholly-owned subsidiary GuoLine Overseas Limited, which alone held 71.88% of the company. Hong Leong Investment Holdings Pte. Ltd., Davos Investment Holdings Private Limited and Kwek Leng Kee were each separately disclosed at 85.28% through the same underlying chain of controlled corporations — the SFO requires each link in a control chain to be separately notified, so these percentages are duplicated rather than additive. First Eagle Investment Management, LLC, an independent fund manager, held 7.97% as investment manager of client accounts. No holding by any other person of 5% or more was notified to the company as at that date.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
Quek Leng Chan is disclosed as holding an aggregate interest of approximately 85.79% in Guoco Group Limited as at 30 June 2025, held indirectly through GuoLine Overseas Limited, Asset Nominees Limited and Robusto Ltd, and through GuoLine (Singapore) Pte Ltd (wholly owned by GSL Holdings Limited). The filing states that Mr Quek held a direct 49.11% controlling interest in each of GuoLine Capital Assets Limited and GSL Holdings Limited as at that date; it does not disclose who holds the remaining shares in either company, so the ownership chain above the 49.11% level cannot be independently verified from this filing alone. The 85.79% figure is the percentage reported by the company under the SFO, not a percentage calculated by this profile from separate filings.
Data availability
Shareholder information for Guoco Group Limited is classified as Major shareholders only: Hong Kong’s SFO disclosure regime requires notification only of interests of 5% or more, so the register reproduced here does not represent the company’s complete shareholder base, and holders below the 5% threshold are not identified.
Sources
- Guoco Group Limited — Annual Report 2025, “Report of the Directors — Interests and Short Positions of Substantial Shareholders and Other Persons”, for the year ended 30 June 2025, published 19 September 2025
- GLEIF / Bloomberg LEI record 3OIHUMDMI0Z4XVPQ8V78 — Bermuda Registrar of Companies entity data
Officers
6
Guoco Group Limited’s 2025 Annual Report discloses six directors in office during the year and up to the date of the report (19 September 2025): Executive Chairman Kwek Leng Hai (a director since 1990, Executive Chairman since 1 September 2016), Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer Christian K. Nothhaft (appointed CEO in 2024), Non-executive Director Kwek Leng San (a director since 1990), and Independent Non-executive Directors Lester G. Huang (since 2019), Paul J. Brough (since 2021) and Melissa Wu Mao Chin (appointed after the 2024 annual general meeting). James Liu Hong Yuen holds the separate senior-management role of Group Chief Financial Officer, and Lo Sze Man Stella serves as Company Secretary; neither is a member of the board. The information is current as at 19 September 2025, the date of the Annual Report’s Corporate Information page.
Recent officer changes
- Christian K. Nothhaft — appointed Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer during 2024; the Annual Report gives the year only, without a specific day and month.
- Melissa Wu Mao Chin — appointed Independent Non-executive Director after the conclusion of the 2024 annual general meeting held 13 November 2024.
- David M. Norman — retired as Independent Non-executive Director by rotation at the conclusion of the 2024 annual general meeting on 13 November 2024 and did not offer himself for re-election.
Data availability
Officer information for Guoco Group Limited is classified as Full for current board composition: the Annual Report discloses each director’s role, committee memberships, tenure and, for the one director who left office in the reporting period, the effective retirement date. Directors’ ages are disclosed, but dates of birth, nationality and country of residence are not stated in the Annual Report or in the sources reviewed for this profile, so these fields are recorded as not disclosed rather than inferred from name or residence.
Sources
- Guoco Group Limited — Annual Report 2025, “Corporate Information”, “Biographical Details of Directors and Senior Management” and “Report of the Directors”, for the year ended 30 June 2025, published 19 September 2025
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registry, including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Guoco Group Limited is not an independent, freestanding company: its 2025 Annual Report identifies GuoLine Capital Assets Limited (“GCAL”) as its ultimate holding company, held via GuoLine Overseas Limited, which directly owned approximately 71.88% of Guoco’s issued shares as at 30 June 2025. Guoco itself is the listed holding company for a group operating mainly in Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, Mainland China and the United Kingdom, organised into four segments. Its principal direct subsidiaries, as set out in the Annual Report’s Group Organisation Chart (as at 19 September 2025), include Singapore-listed GuocoLand Limited (66.8%), wholly-owned GuocoEquity Assets Limited, London-listed The Rank Group Plc (56.2%) and wholly-owned Clermont Group (Cayman) Limited. Hong Leong Financial Group Berhad, a Bursa Malaysia-listed banking and insurance group, is explicitly described by Guoco as an associated company (25.4% interest) rather than a subsidiary.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GuoLine Capital Assets Limited | Not disclosed in this filing | Ultimate parent (per company’s own disclosure) | Indirectly owns 71.88% of Guoco via GuoLine Overseas Limited | Active | 30 June 2025 |
| GuoLine Overseas Limited | Not disclosed in this filing | Immediate parent | 71.88% | Active | 30 June 2025 |
| GuocoLand Limited | Singapore | Direct subsidiary (SGX-listed) | 66.8% | Active | 19 September 2025 |
| GuocoLand (Malaysia) Berhad | Malaysia | Indirect subsidiary, via GuocoLand Limited (Bursa Malaysia-listed) | 65.0% of GuocoLand Limited | Active | 19 September 2025 |
| GuocoEquity Assets Limited | Not disclosed in this filing | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | 19 September 2025 |
| The Rank Group Plc | United Kingdom | Direct subsidiary (LSE-listed) | 56.2% | Active | 19 September 2025 |
| Clermont Group (Cayman) Limited | Cayman Islands | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | 19 September 2025 |
| Hong Leong Financial Group Berhad | Malaysia | Associate (not a subsidiary) | 25.4% | Active | 19 September 2025 |
Data availability
Group-structure information for Guoco Group Limited is classified as Partial: the company’s own Annual Report names its ultimate holding company and principal direct and indirect subsidiaries with ownership percentages, but does not disclose registration numbers or countries of incorporation for GuoLine Capital Assets Limited or GuoLine Overseas Limited, nor the ownership of GCAL above the 49.11% controlling interest separately attributed to Quek Leng Chan. Entities described elsewhere as belonging to the wider “Hong Leong Group” — for example Lam Soon (Hong Kong) Limited, which shares a chairman with Guoco — are not included above because the Annual Report does not establish a corporate ownership link between them and Guoco Group Limited itself.
Sources
- Guoco Group Limited — Annual Report 2025, “Group Organisation Chart”, “Group Profile”, “Biographical Details of Directors and Senior Management” and “Report of the Directors”, for the year ended 30 June 2025, published 19 September 2025
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registry, including entries the profile above does not cover.
HONG LEONG COMPANY (MALAYSIA) BHD
Malaysia
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does Guoco Group Limited do?
Guoco Group Limited is a Bermuda-incorporated, Hong Kong-listed investment holding and management company operating through four segments — Principal Investment, Property Development and Investment, Hospitality and Leisure, and Financial Services — with operations concentrated in Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, Mainland China and the United Kingdom.
Where is Guoco Group Limited incorporated?
Guoco Group Limited is incorporated in Bermuda as an exempted company (Bermuda Registrar of Companies entity number 15590, established 25 May 1990), with its registered office at Clarendon House, 2 Church Street, Hamilton HM 11, Bermuda, and its principal office in Hong Kong.
Is Guoco Group Limited publicly listed?
Yes. Guoco Group Limited's shares are listed on the Main Board of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited under stock code 53.
Who is the largest shareholder of Guoco Group Limited?
As at 30 June 2025, Quek Leng Chan was disclosed as holding an aggregate interest of approximately 85.79% of Guoco Group Limited's shares through controlled corporations, principally GuoLine Capital Assets Limited (the company's ultimate holding company) and GSL Holdings Limited.
Who is the Executive Chairman of Guoco Group Limited?
Kwek Leng Hai has served as Executive Chairman of Guoco Group Limited since 1 September 2016, having been a director of the company since 1990 and its President and Chief Executive Officer from 1995 to 2016.
What was Guoco Group Limited's revenue for its most recent financial year?
For the financial year ended 30 June 2025, Guoco Group Limited reported consolidated revenue of HK$24,443 million, up 9% from HK$22,526 million the prior year, with profit attributable to equity shareholders of HK$4,031 million.
Is GuocoLand Limited a subsidiary of Guoco Group Limited?
Yes. GuocoLand Limited, listed on the Singapore Exchange, is a direct subsidiary of Guoco Group Limited, which held approximately 66.8% of its shares as at 19 September 2025.
Is Hong Leong Financial Group Berhad a subsidiary of Guoco Group Limited?
No. Hong Leong Financial Group Berhad, listed on Bursa Malaysia, is described in Guoco Group Limited's own Annual Report as an associated company in which Guoco held a 25.4% interest as at 19 September 2025, not a subsidiary.
What is Guoco Group Limited's company registration number?
Guoco Group Limited's registration number is 14654922, filed with Companies Registry in Hong Kong. Its current status on the register is active.
Is Guoco Group Limited still an active company?
Guoco Group Limited's status on Companies Registry is listed as active.
What is Guoco Group Limited's registered address?
The registered address on file for Guoco Group Limited is Central, Hong Kong.
Can Zavia monitor changes to Guoco Group Limited's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies Registry. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to Guoco Group Limited's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access Guoco Group Limited's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Hong Kong, so records like Guoco Group Limited's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Companies Registry and was last synced on 11 August 2026.