H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB (publ) is a Swedish public limited company registered with the Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) under registration number 556042-7220. It was originally incorporated on 7 August 1943 and has traded under its current name since 10 March 1995. Its registered address is Mäster Samuelsgatan 46A, Stockholm, and its registry status is recorded as active.
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is the listed parent and financial-reporting entity of the H&M Group, a multi-brand fashion retailer that designs and sells clothing, accessories, footwear and home goods for women, men, teenagers and children under the H&M brand together with a number of other retail concepts. The group sells through physical stores and e-commerce across a large number of markets worldwide.
The company’s shares are listed on Nasdaq Stockholm under the ticker HM B, ISIN SE0000106270. Its share capital is divided into two classes: 194,400,000 Class A shares, carrying ten votes each, and approximately 1,404,473,003 Class B shares, carrying one vote each, according to H&M Group’s investor relations disclosure dated 31 August 2026.
For the financial year ended November 2025, H&M Group reported consolidated net sales of SEK 228,285 million, down from SEK 234,478 million in the prior financial year, with a gross margin of 53.4 percent, according to the company’s full-year report published in January 2026. H&M Group has stated it employed approximately 130,000 people globally as of 2025.
During 2025 and into 2026, the group pursued a store-network rationalisation programme under President and Chief Executive Officer Daniel Ervér, closing around 200 stores in 2025 and planning approximately 170 further closures in 2026, including the withdrawal of all physical stores under its Monki brand. At the same time, the group opened its first store and online operations in Brazil in August 2025, with further Brazilian stores following in the fourth quarter of 2025, and announced plans to enter Paraguay and open a first franchised store in Malta during 2026. Its Arket brand opened its first store in Greece in the first quarter of 2026, with a first Lithuania store planned later in the year.
As a company with securities admitted to trading on Nasdaq Stockholm, H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is subject to ongoing disclosure obligations and publishes quarterly interim reports together with an annual and sustainability report each year.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
5
Shareholders of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is listed on Nasdaq Stockholm, and H&M Group’s investor relations disclosure publishes only its largest and reportable shareholders rather than the company’s complete shareholder register. According to that disclosure, dated 31 August 2026, the Persson founding family and its related companies – including the family’s private investment company, Ramsbury Invest AB – together held 1,091,560,567 shares, equal to 68.27% of total share capital and 84.91% of voting rights. This concentration of votes reflects the company’s dual-class share structure, in which each Class A share carries ten votes against one vote for each Class B share. The next-largest disclosed holder was the Lottie Tham family, with 5.56% of capital and 2.66% of votes, followed by institutional holders BlackRock (1.57%) and Vanguard (1.24%). Swedish-registered owners accounted for 90.03% of capital and 95.24% of votes, with foreign owners holding the remainder.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
H&M Group’s own shareholder disclosure and independent financial-media reporting identify the Persson family, together with Ramsbury Invest AB, as the company’s controlling owner by both capital and votes as at 31 August 2026. Ramsbury Invest AB is reported to be owned by members of the Persson family, with Stefan Persson identified in financial media as a principal owner; however, the sources reviewed for this profile do not itemise individual family members’ personal percentage holdings within Ramsbury Invest AB, so no single natural person’s effective ownership percentage can be reliably stated.
Data availability
Classification: Major shareholders only. H&M Group publishes its largest disclosed shareholders on its investor relations pages on a periodic basis but does not publish a complete shareholder register; the underlying beneficial ownership of Ramsbury Invest AB itself is not disclosed in the sources reviewed.
Sources
- H&M Group – “Shareholders,” investor relations disclosure dated 31 August 2026
- MarketScreener – “The Persson family’s Ramsbury Invest buys 6.5 million H&M shares”
- Yahoo Finance UK – “Billionaire H&M founding family speeds up share purchases”
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| VANGUARD TAX-MANAGED FUNDS-Vanguard Developed Markets Index Fund | 17.7% | Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) | |
| iShares Trust-iShares Core MSCI EAFE ETF | 13.5% | Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) | |
| iShares Trust-iShares MSCI EAFE ETF | 6.7% | Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) | |
| SPDR INDEX SHARES FUNDS-SPDR Portfolio Developed World ex-US ETF | 4.5% | Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) | |
| SCHWAB STRATEGIC TRUST-Schwab International Equity ETF | 4.1% | Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) |
Officers
5
Directors and officers of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB’s board of directors was most recently confirmed at the company’s annual general meeting on 5 May 2026, at which all standing board members were re-elected. The board is chaired by Karl-Johan Persson and comprises seven further shareholder-elected members – Klas Balkow, Anders Dahlvig, Danica Kragic Jensfelt, Lena Patriksson Keller, Helena Saxon, Christian Sievert and Christina Synnergren – together with three trade-union-appointed employee representatives, Keith Barker, Agneta Gustafsson and Tim Gahnström, and three deputy employee representatives. Daniel Ervér has served as President and Chief Executive Officer since 31 January 2024. The meeting also re-appointed Deloitte AB as auditor for the period through the 2027 annual general meeting. Nationality and country of residence for individual board members are not disclosed in the sources reviewed for this profile.
Data availability
Classification: Current only. This overview reflects the board composition confirmed at the 5 May 2026 annual general meeting; it does not include a history of prior board resignations or appointments, and Swedish company disclosures reviewed for this profile do not state directors’ nationality or country of residence.
Sources
- H&M Group – “Information from the 2026 AGM of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB,” 5 May 2026
- H&M Group – “CEO of H&M Group” corporate governance page
- H&M Group – “Daniel Ervér new President and CEO for the H&M group”
Group Structure
Group structure of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is the top Swedish holding and listed reporting entity of the global H&M Group; the sources reviewed for this profile do not identify it as a subsidiary of any other operating corporate group. Registry-sourced corporate-linkage data reviewed for this profile lists a large number of direct and indirect subsidiaries carrying out retail, sourcing, financing and support activities across more than 40 countries, organised in part through intermediate holding companies such as H & M Hennes & Mauritz International B.V. and H & M Hennes & Mauritz Gbc AB. Only one relationship in that data – the chain running through the company’s UK retail subsidiary – was independently cross-checked against a national companies registry for this profile; the remaining entities are reported in registry-sourced group data that has not been individually re-verified here and are presented below as possible rather than confirmed relationships. Information is current as of September 2026.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| H & M Hennes & Mauritz Gbc AB | Sweden | 556070-1715 | Possible direct subsidiary (reported in registry-sourced group data; not independently re-verified for this profile) | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | September 2026 |
| H&M Hennes & Mauritz UK Limited | United Kingdom | 01413450 | Possible indirect subsidiary, held via H & M Hennes & Mauritz Gbc AB | 100% of share capital per UK Companies House (confirms the UK entity’s ownership by Gbc AB; the Gbc AB link to H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB itself was not independently re-verified) | Active | Retrieved 15 September 2026 |
| H & M Hennes & Mauritz International B.V. | Netherlands | 33260915 | Possible direct subsidiary (reported in registry-sourced group data; not independently re-verified for this profile) | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | September 2026 |
Data availability
Classification: Partial. Registry-sourced data reviewed for this profile identifies a large number of subsidiaries across many jurisdictions, but ownership and voting percentages are disclosed for only a minority of entities, and only one downstream relationship was independently cross-checked against a national companies registry for this profile. The remaining relationships are reported in registry-sourced group data and are presented as possible rather than confirmed.
Sources
- UK Companies House – Company overview, H&M Hennes & Mauritz UK Limited, company number 01413450
- Registry-aggregated corporate-linkage data compiled for this company profile
Ramsbury Invest AB
Sweden
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB do?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB (publ), registered in Sweden under number 556042-7220, is the listed parent and reporting entity of the H&M Group, a multi-brand fashion retailer selling clothing, accessories, footwear and home goods through stores and e-commerce worldwide.
Who owns H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB?
As of 31 August 2026, the Persson family and related companies, including Ramsbury Invest AB, held 68.27% of capital and 84.91% of votes; H&M Group discloses its major shareholders only, not the complete shareholder register.
Who is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
The Persson family, via Ramsbury Invest AB and other family holdings, is identified as H&M's controlling owner; individual family members' personal ownership percentages within Ramsbury Invest AB are not itemised in the sources reviewed.
What is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's company registration number?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's registration number is 5560427220, filed with Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) in Sweden. Its current status on the register is active.
Is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB still an active company?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's status on Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) is listed as active.
When was H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB incorporated?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB was incorporated on 7 August 1943, according to Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket).
What is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's registered address?
The registered address on file for H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is Stockholm, Sweden.
What legal structure is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB registered as?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is registered as a Private limited company (Ltd.) in Sweden.
What is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's revenue?
H&M Group reported consolidated net sales of SEK 228,285 million for the financial year ended November 2025, down from SEK 234,478 million the prior year, according to its full-year report published in January 2026.
Is H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB listed on a stock exchange?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's shares trade on Nasdaq Stockholm under the ticker HM B (ISIN SE0000106270), with a dual-class Class A / Class B share structure.
Who are the officers/directors of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB?
The board, chaired by Karl-Johan Persson, was re-elected in full at the 5 May 2026 AGM; Daniel Ervér has served as President and CEO since 31 January 2024.
Does H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB have a parent company or subsidiaries?
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB is the top listed entity of the global H&M Group, with a large number of subsidiaries worldwide; only the ownership chain through its UK subsidiary was independently cross-verified for this profile.
Can Zavia monitor changes to H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket). Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Sweden, so records like H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) and was last synced on 15 September 2026.