HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad
HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad is a private limited company registered in Brunei Darussalam under registration number RC00000228 with the Registry of Companies and Business Names, the country’s official company registry under the Ministry of Finance and Economy. Its registered address is Unit 04A, 04B and F4A, Gadong Properties Building, Gadong, Brunei-Muara District, postal code BE4119. Brunei company law records the entity under the local “Berhad” legal-form designation used for limited companies. This registration information is corroborated by the Global Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record maintained for the company, LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69, issued under the Global LEI System; the entity’s Level 1 reference data lists its status as active, though the LEI registration itself lapsed after its 30 April 2019 renewal date and was last updated on 24 May 2021.
As its name indicates, HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad was registered as a finance-company entity associated with HSBC’s operations in Brunei, the type of licensed entity typically providing consumer and hire-purchase financing. In April 2016, HSBC announced that it was winding down its retail and commercial banking presence in Brunei after around 70 years in the country, and on 26 September 2017 confirmed the transfer of its Brunei retail and commercial banking portfolios, including car hire-purchase arrangements, to Baiduri Bank; HSBC’s remaining branches in Brunei closed in November 2017. No official source reviewed for this profile confirms whether HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad’s own finance-company registration was wound down, transferred or retained separately from that 2017 exit, so its current operating activity beyond continuing legal registration in Brunei is not confirmed.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
Shareholders of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad
Brunei Darussalam’s Registry of Companies and Business Names does not operate a free, publicly searchable register of shareholder or beneficial-ownership records for private limited companies, so no shareholder register showing individual holders and percentages for HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad was located in the sources reviewed for this profile. Separately, the Global Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record maintained for the company, LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69, reports, as self-supplied relationship data corroborated with supporting documents, that HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad is directly consolidated by HSBC Asia Pacific Holdings (UK) Limited and ultimately consolidated by HSBC Holdings plc, effective from 2 April 2014; this is an accounting-consolidation relationship rather than a disclosed shareholding percentage, and no source reviewed states the exact proportion of shares held. Because HSBC Holdings plc, the ultimate entity in that chain, is a public company listed on the London, Hong Kong and New York stock exchanges with a widely dispersed shareholder base, no natural-person ultimate beneficial owner can be identified or calculated for HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad from the sources available.
Data availability
Country availability: Not public. Brunei Darussalam does not provide public access to shareholder or beneficial-ownership filings for private limited companies of this type; the parent-company relationships described above come from HSBC’s own Global LEI System reporting rather than a Brunei ownership filing.
Sources
GLEIF Global LEI Foundation record for LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69, including its direct-parent and ultimate-parent relationship records (gleif.org); GLEIF Registration Authorities List entry RA000064 for Brunei Darussalam’s Registry of Companies and Business Names (roc.gov.bn); retrieved 22 September 2026.
Officers
Directors and officers of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad
No official register listing the directors, company secretary or other officers of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad was located in the sources reviewed for this profile. Brunei Darussalam’s Registry of Companies and Business Names does not offer free public search of director or officer records for private limited companies, and the company’s Global Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record does not include officer information, since LEI reference data covers legal-entity identity and corporate-relationship data rather than named individuals. No HSBC Group announcement, regulatory publication or reputable news report reviewed for this profile names current or former officers specifically appointed to HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad, as distinct from HSBC’s wider Brunei banking business, which ceased branch operations in November 2017.
Data availability
Country availability: Not found. No reliable source disclosing the individual directors or officers of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad was identified; this reflects a gap in publicly accessible information rather than confirmation that the company currently has no directors or legal representatives.
Sources
GLEIF Global LEI Foundation record for LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69 (gleif.org); Brunei Darussalam Central Bank published notice on HSBC winding down operations in Brunei, 6 April 2016 (bdcb.gov.bn); The Scoop, “HSBC shutters all branches in lead up to Brunei exit,” 11 November 2017 (thescoop.co); retrieved 22 September 2026.
Group Structure
Group structure of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad
HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad is part of the HSBC Group. According to the company’s Global Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) relationship data (LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69), reported by the entity under the Global LEI System and corroborated with supporting documents, its immediate parent is HSBC Asia Pacific Holdings (UK) Limited (LEI 213800C2BAGI3VAGDP53), a company registered in England and Wales under number 01113112, and its ultimate parent is HSBC Holdings plc (LEI MLU0ZO3ML4LN2LL2TL39), registered in England and Wales under number 00617987 and listed on the London Stock Exchange, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong and the New York Stock Exchange. Both relationships are recorded as accounting-consolidation relationships effective from 2 April 2014, without a disclosed shareholding or voting percentage. No direct or indirect subsidiaries of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad itself were identified in the sources reviewed. The company’s registered address is in Gadong, Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam, while its immediate and ultimate parents are both registered at 8 Canada Square, London, United Kingdom, reflecting HSBC Group’s centralised corporate reporting address rather than a Brunei operating office.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSBC Asia Pacific Holdings (UK) Limited | United Kingdom | 01113112 | Immediate parent (accounting consolidation) | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | Effective 2 April 2014; LEI record last updated 24 May 2021 |
| HSBC Holdings plc | United Kingdom | 00617987 | Ultimate parent (accounting consolidation) | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | Effective 2 April 2014; LEI record last updated 24 May 2021 |
Recent structural changes
HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad’s own corporate registration has not been reported as changed. At the wider HSBC Group level, HSBC announced in April 2016 that it was winding down its retail and commercial banking presence in Brunei, and on 26 September 2017 confirmed the transfer of its Brunei retail and commercial banking portfolios, including hire-purchase financing arrangements, to Baiduri Bank; HSBC’s remaining Brunei branches closed in November 2017. No source reviewed confirms whether this business transfer included, or was separate from, HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad’s own finance-company registration.
Data availability
Country availability: Partial. HSBC’s own Global LEI System reporting confirms the immediate and ultimate parent entities of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad, but ownership and voting percentages are not disclosed, and no subsidiaries of the Brunei entity itself were identified; Brunei Darussalam’s company registry does not separately publish corporate-linkage data of this kind.
Sources
GLEIF Global LEI Foundation records for LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69, LEI 213800C2BAGI3VAGDP53 and LEI MLU0ZO3ML4LN2LL2TL39, including direct-parent and ultimate-parent relationship records (gleif.org); Brunei Darussalam Central Bank published notice on HSBC winding down operations in Brunei, 6 April 2016 (bdcb.gov.bn); The Scoop, “HSBC shutters all branches in lead up to Brunei exit,” 11 November 2017 (thescoop.co); retrieved 22 September 2026.
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the registration number of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad?
HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad is registered with Brunei Darussalam's Registry of Companies and Business Names under registration number RC00000228, as confirmed by the company's Global Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record.
Is HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad part of the HSBC Group?
Yes. Its Global LEI relationship data reports that it is directly consolidated by HSBC Asia Pacific Holdings (UK) Limited and ultimately consolidated by HSBC Holdings plc, confirming it as part of the HSBC Group.
Who is the immediate parent company of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad?
According to LEI relationship data, the immediate parent is HSBC Asia Pacific Holdings (UK) Limited, a company registered in England and Wales under number 01113112.
Who is the ultimate parent company of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad?
The ultimate parent reported in the company's LEI relationship data is HSBC Holdings plc, registered in England and Wales under number 00617987 and listed on the London, Hong Kong and New York stock exchanges.
What does "Berhad" mean in the company name?
"Berhad" is the local legal-form designation used in Brunei and Malaysia for a limited company; under the ISO 20275 entity legal form code maintained by GLEIF, the form registered for HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad is classified as a private limited company.
Is HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad still operating?
This is not confirmed by any source reviewed. The company's registration with Brunei's Registry of Companies and Business Names does not appear to have been reported as dissolved, but no source confirms active finance-company operations, and HSBC wound down its Brunei retail and commercial banking presence between 2016 and 2017.
What happened to HSBC's banking business in Brunei?
HSBC announced in April 2016 that it was winding down its retail and commercial banking presence in Brunei after around 70 years, and on 26 September 2017 confirmed the transfer of its Brunei retail and commercial banking portfolios, including car hire-purchase arrangements, to Baiduri Bank; its remaining branches closed in November 2017.
Does HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad have a Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)?
Yes. LEI 213800LE6S5GZ6L1QA69 was initially registered on 2 April 2014, though the LEI registration itself lapsed after its 30 April 2019 renewal date and was last updated on 24 May 2021.
Why did the company's LEI registration lapse?
The LEI record shows the registration status as lapsed because it was not renewed after April 2019; no source reviewed explains the reason, though this is consistent with reduced use of the LEI following HSBC's 2016-2017 wind-down of its Brunei banking operations.
Where is HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad registered?
Its registered address is Unit 04A, 04B and F4A, Gadong Properties Building, Gadong, Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam, postal code BE4119.
Who are the shareholders of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad?
No shareholder register is publicly available, since Brunei does not publish shareholder filings for private limited companies of this type; the company's parent-company relationships are instead reported through HSBC's own Global LEI System filings.
Who are the directors of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad?
No official source reviewed identifies the current directors or officers of HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad, since Brunei's company registry does not offer free public search of officer records.
Is HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad listed on a stock exchange?
No. HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad itself is not listed; its ultimate parent, HSBC Holdings plc, is listed on the London Stock Exchange, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong and the New York Stock Exchange.
What business did HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad carry out?
Its name indicates it was registered as a finance company associated with HSBC's Brunei operations, the type of entity typically providing consumer and hire-purchase financing, though no official source reviewed confirms its precise licensed activities or current status.
Does Zavia.ai keep this HSBC Finance (Brunei) Berhad profile updated?
Zavia.ai periodically reviews and refreshes company profiles, including this one, against official registry, regulatory and Global LEI System sources as new information becomes available; this profile reflects research conducted on 22 September 2026.