Skip links
Companies
› Spain › NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA

Active

in

Registration No.
A08015497
Incorporation Date
Not disclosed
Company Type
Not disclosed
Address
Madrid, Spain
Website
N/A
Source: Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is a Spanish public limited company (sociedad anónima) registered in Spain under CIF A08015497 and recorded as active by the Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central. The company traces its corporate lineage to the Sociedad Catalana para el Alumbrado por Gas, formed in Barcelona in January 1843 to supply piped gas street lighting to the city; through successive mergers and renamings — including long periods as Gas Natural SDG and, from 2009, Gas Natural Fenosa, before adopting the Naturgy name in 2018 — the same corporate line has continued in business for over 180 years. The registry incorporation date on file, 1 January 1843, reflects a verified founding year but an unverifiable exact day: the company’s own Fundación Naturgy historical archive and its official corporate history both confirm constitution in “January 1843” without stating a specific day, so the “01-01” on file appears to be a default day/month placeholder rather than a recorded historical date, while the year 1843 itself is genuinely accurate.

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is a multi-utility engaged in the regulated distribution and open-market supply of natural gas and electricity in Spain, together with electricity and renewable power generation, liquefied natural gas (LNG) supply, and international energy operations in Latin America, including Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Panama, Chile and the Dominican Republic. Its Spanish gas-distribution activity is carried out mainly through its subsidiary Nedgia, while international power generation is grouped mainly under Global Power Generation. NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is listed on the Spanish stock exchanges operated by Bolsas y Mercados Españoles (BME) under the ticker NTGY and is a constituent of the IBEX 35 index.

Naturgy’s disclosed shareholder base changed materially during 2026. CriteriaCaixa, the investment arm associated with Fundación La Caixa, acquired a further 2.5% of the company’s capital for a reported €611 million in early 2026, reported to take its stake to around 28.5% and reinforce its position as the largest shareholder. Separately, on 27 May 2026 the CVC-linked Rioja Acquisition / Corporación Alba vehicle completed a full exit, placing its remaining 13.8% stake — an 11.08% accelerated bookbuild plus liquidation of derivative positions equivalent to 2.72% — for a reported €3.82 billion, ending an investment held since 2018. These transactions, and the company’s fuller shareholder structure, are covered with sourcing in the shareholders block of this profile.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central.

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

Shareholders of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA

Zavia’s Spanish registry source (Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central) does not display a shareholder filing for NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA; this is expected for a listed company, since Naturgy discloses its share ownership through significant-shareholding notifications to Spain’s securities regulator, the CNMV, rather than through the standard company-registry shareholder filing used for non-listed entities. According to Naturgy’s own investor-relations disclosures, the company had around 65,000 shareholders as of May 2026. Reputable Spanish financial-press reporting, referencing CNMV significant-shareholding notifications, identifies CriteriaCaixa (the investment arm associated with Fundación La Caixa) as the largest disclosed shareholder, reported at approximately 28.5% of capital following an additional 2.5% purchase for around €611 million completed in early 2026. The same reporting describes a full exit, completed on 27 May 2026, by the CVC-linked Rioja Acquisition / Corporación Alba vehicle, which placed its remaining 13.8% stake (an 11.08% accelerated bookbuild plus derivative positions equivalent to 2.72%) for a reported €3.82 billion, ending an investment held since 2018. Some financial-data sources also report a stake of around 12.62% associated with BlackRock, which press coverage links to Global Infrastructure Partners’ (GIP) historical position in the former Rioja consortium following BlackRock’s acquisition of GIP in October 2024; this attribution was not independently confirmed against a primary CNMV filing in this research session and is presented as reported, not verified.

Data availability

Shareholder disclosure for this company is Major shareholders only: as a listed company, only stakes crossing regulatory notification thresholds are publicly disclosed, and the figures above come from reputable financial-press reporting on CNMV notifications rather than a primary CNMV filing accessed directly in this research session (the CNMV’s online significant-shareholdings query tool returned no data through the automated retrieval method used here). No ultimate-beneficial-ownership section is included because no source reviewed supplied a complete, dated ownership chain from a disclosed corporate shareholder to a named natural person that could be verified or calculated.

Sources

Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central, registry data via Zavia.ai, retrieved 16 September 2026, https://www.registradores.org. — Naturgy, “Shareholder structure,” https://www.naturgy.com/en/shareholders-and-investors/the-company/shareholder-structure/, data as of May 2026, retrieved 16 September 2026. — El Español/Invertia, “CVC y Corporación Alba salen de Naturgy y ponen a la venta el 13,08% en un proceso de colocación acelerada,” 26 May 2026, https://www.elespanol.com/invertia/empresas/energia/20260526/cvc-corporacion-alba-salen-naturgy-ponen-venta-proceso-colocacion-acelerada/1003744260830_0.html, retrieved 16 September 2026. — Infobae, “El fondo CVC vende su participación del 13,8% en Naturgy, valorada en unos 4.000 millones,” 26 May 2026, https://www.infobae.com/america/agencias/2026/05/26/el-fondo-cvc-vende-su-participacion-del-138-en-naturgy-valorada-en-unos-4000-millones/, retrieved 16 September 2026.

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

25

Directors and officers of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA

Zavia’s Spanish registry source records five active officer entries for NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA out of a reported 25 total registry officer records: Francisco Massanet (Consejero Delegado), Helena Herrero Starkie (Consejero Independiente), Ramon Adell Ramon (Consejero Dominical), Steven Fernandez Fernandez (Head Of Financial Markets Department) and Maria Isabel Gonzalez Alfaro (Head Of Compliance Unit), all listed with ACTIVE status, Spain as address country, and no appointment or resignation dates recorded. Naturgy’s own corporate-governance disclosures, reviewed separately, show the Board of Directors was set at sixteen members at the Annual General Meeting held on 25 March 2025, with Francisco Reynés Massanet holding the combined role of Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (Presidente y Consejero Delegado) since February 2018. The “Francisco Massanet / Consejero Delegado” entry in the registry source is consistent with this same person, though the registry record omits his paternal surname “Reynés” and his Chairman title — a naming discrepancy noted here rather than corrected, since the underlying registry record itself was not amended.

Data availability

Officer information is Partial: the registry source lists only 5 of a reported 25 officer records, without appointment dates, occupation or nationality fields, and does not reconstruct the full board; official company sources confirm current board size and the identity of the Chairman & CEO but were not used in this session to compile the complete sixteen-member board roster. Nationality and country of residence are Not disclosed in every source reviewed and have not been inferred from any officer’s name, address or reported role.

Recent officer changes

No verified, dated appointment or resignation changes could be confirmed from the sources reviewed in this session beyond the general 25 March 2025 Annual General Meeting confirmation of board size; this section is otherwise limited for lack of further reliable, dated change records.

Sources

Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central, registry data via Zavia.ai, retrieved 16 September 2026, https://www.registradores.org. — Naturgy, “Francisco Reynés Massanet, Chairman & CEO,” https://www.naturgy.com/en/shareholders-and-investors/corporate-governance/francisco-reynes-massanet/, retrieved 16 September 2026. — Naturgy, “Composition of the Board of Directors of Naturgy Energy Group, S.A.,” https://www.naturgy.com/en/shareholders-and-investors/corporate-governance/governance-bodies-and-rules/composition-of-the-board-of-directors-of-naturgy-energy-group-s-a/, retrieved 16 September 2026.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central, including entries the profile above does not cover.

FM
Francisco Miguel Reynes Massanet ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Ceo & Executive Chairman

FM
Francisco Massanet ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Delegado

HH
Helena Herrero Starkie ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Independiente

RA
Ramon Adell Ramon ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

SF
Steven Fernandez Fernandez ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Financial Markets Department

MI
Maria Isabel Gonzalez Alfaro ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Compliance Unit

EA
Enrique Alcantara-garcia Irazoqui ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

JG
Jon Ganuza Fernandez De Arroyabe ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Procurement & Wholesale Markets Department

IE
Isabel Estape Tous ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

RB
Rafael Blesa Martinez ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Technology & Systems Department

JT
Jordi Tabernero ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Public Affairs & Sustainability Department

PL
Pedro Larrea Paguaga ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Energy & Network Management Department

CS
CLAUDIO SANTIAGO PONSA ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Independiente

RD
Riva De Sainz Baranda ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Independiente

SR
Sarl Rioja ACTIVE ENTITY

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

LC
Lucy Chadwick ACTIVE

Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

AA
Abel Arbat ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Investor Relations

GD
Gabriel Deseff Rodriguez ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Consolidation & Administration Department

CF
Carlos Francisco Vecino Montalvo ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Supply Department

JS
Jaime Siles Fernandez-palacios ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

EL
Enrique Lopez ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of People & Resources Department

RR
Rajaram Rao ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

AT
Antonio Torre Silva Lopez Letona ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Consejero Dominical

SD
Steven Douglas Fernandez Fernandez ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Financial Markets & Corporate Development Department

JB
JORGE BARREDO LOPEZ ACTIVE

Residence
🇪🇸 Spain
Occupation
Head Of Renewables & New Businesses Department

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Group structure of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is recorded as the top-level entity in Zavia’s registry-derived Spanish corporate-linkage data, which lists no parent company and a large number of direct and indirect subsidiaries in Spain and abroad. Major direct subsidiaries recorded in that data include Nedgia SA (regulated gas distribution, itself the immediate parent of eleven regional Nedgia distribution companies across Spain), Global Power Generation SA (international power generation, with subsidiaries in Australia, Brazil, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Mexico and Panama), Naturgy Distribución Latinoamérica SA (holding company for gas and electricity operations in Argentina, Brazil and Mexico), Naturgy Inversiones Internacionales SA (further Latin American holdings, including Chile and Panama), Naturgy Renovables SLU (renewable generation) and Naturgy Aprovisionamientos SA (LNG procurement, with subsidiaries in Ireland). The data also records legacy Unión Fenosa-branded entities retained after the 2009 Gas Natural–Unión Fenosa merger. This structure spans Spain and multiple other jurisdictions, including Ireland, Luxembourg, the United Kingdom, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Panama, Chile, the Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Australia, Norway, Italy, the United States and Moldova, consistent with Naturgy’s multinational gas and electricity operations. This overview is based on registry-derived corporate-linkage data last synced 11 August 2026 and does not represent independent verification of every listed entity against its own individual official filing.

Verified corporate relationships

Entity Country Registration number Relationship Ownership Status Information date
Nedgia SA Spain A66560152 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Not disclosed 11 August 2026
Global Power Generation SA Spain A61713301 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Not disclosed 11 August 2026
Naturgy Distribución Latinoamérica SA Spain A81109662 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Not disclosed 11 August 2026
Naturgy Aprovisionamientos SA Spain A82531062 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Not disclosed 11 August 2026
Naturgy Inversiones Internacionales SA Spain A28394088 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Not disclosed 11 August 2026
Naturgy Renovables SLU Spain B84160423 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Not disclosed 11 August 2026

Recent structural changes

No verified acquisitions, disposals or reorganisations affecting Naturgy’s own subsidiary structure were identified in the sources reviewed for this profile. The material ownership changes at NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA shareholder level during 2026 — CriteriaCaixa’s additional 2.5% purchase and the CVC-linked Rioja Acquisition / Corporación Alba exit — are shareholding changes in Naturgy itself rather than changes to Naturgy’s own subsidiary structure, and are covered in the shareholders block of this profile.

Data availability

Corporate-linkage information for this company is Partial: registry-derived data identifies a large number of subsidiaries by name, country and registration number but does not disclose ownership percentages or status for any of them, and this profile has not independently verified each entity against its own official filing given the size of the structure.

Sources

Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central, registry-derived corporate-linkage data via Zavia.ai, last synced 11 August 2026, retrieved 16 September 2026, https://www.registradores.org.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Ultimate HQ
NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA
Spain
NATURGY COMERCIALIZADORA EMPRESAS SA.
SpainES A44760742

UNION FENOSA PREFERENTES SA.
SpainES A83901652

7v Solar Ranch, LLC
United StatesUS NY 7531084

NATURGY CICLOS COMBINADOS SLU
SpainES B42884122

NATURGY APROVISIONAMIENTOS SA.+ subsidiaries
SpainES A82531062

NATURAL RE S.A.
LuxembourgLU B109503

NATURGY INGENIERIA NUCLEAR SL.+ subsidiaries
SpainES B88411186

NATURGY GENERACION SLU
SpainES B86010766

+27 more entities

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA's registration number?

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is registered in Spain under CIF A08015497, recorded as active by the Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central.

Is NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA's recorded incorporation date of 1 January 1843 accurate?

The year is genuinely accurate but the exact day is not. Naturgy's own historical archive (Fundación Naturgy) and corporate history confirm the predecessor company, Sociedad Catalana para el Alumbrado por Gas, was constituted in Barcelona in January 1843, but no source reviewed states a specific day. The registry date on file, 1843-01-01, therefore appears to combine a verified founding year with a default 1 January placeholder for the day and month, a pattern seen elsewhere in this database when only a year is known.

What does NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA do?

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is a Spanish multi-utility engaged in the regulated distribution and supply of natural gas and electricity, electricity and renewable power generation, LNG supply, and international energy operations, principally in Latin America.

Where is NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA registered?

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is registered in Spain, with a recorded address in Madrid, and is recorded as active by the Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central.

Is NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA a listed company?

Yes. NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is listed on the Spanish stock exchanges operated by Bolsas y Mercados Españoles (BME) under the ticker NTGY and is a constituent of the IBEX 35 index.

What was NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA's previous name?

The company traded for many years as Gas Natural SDG and, following its 2009 merger with Unión Fenosa, as Gas Natural Fenosa, before adopting the Naturgy name in 2018.

Who are the largest disclosed shareholders of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

Reputable financial-press reporting on CNMV significant-shareholding notifications identifies CriteriaCaixa, the investment arm associated with Fundación La Caixa, as the largest shareholder, reported at around 28.5% of capital after an additional 2.5% purchase completed in early 2026. Naturgy states it has around 65,000 shareholders in total as of May 2026.

Did CVC exit its stake in NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

Yes, according to Spanish financial press. On 27 May 2026 the CVC-linked Rioja Acquisition / Corporación Alba vehicle completed a full exit, placing its remaining 13.8% stake for a reported €3.82 billion, ending an investment held since 2018.

Is there a verified ultimate beneficial owner of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

No. No source reviewed in this research provided a complete, dated ownership chain from a disclosed corporate shareholder to a named natural person that could be verified or calculated, so no UBO is reported for this profile.

Who is the Chairman and CEO of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

Francisco Reynés Massanet has held the combined role of Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (Presidente y Consejero Delegado) since February 2018, per Naturgy's official corporate-governance disclosures.

How many subsidiaries does NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA have?

Zavia's registry-derived corporate-linkage data records a large number of direct and indirect subsidiaries across Spain and abroad; major direct subsidiaries include Nedgia SA, Global Power Generation SA, Naturgy Distribución Latinoamérica SA and Naturgy Renovables SLU, among many others not individually verified in this profile.

What is Nedgia's relationship to NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

Nedgia SA (CIF A66560152) is recorded as a direct subsidiary of NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA in registry-derived corporate-linkage data and is the company's main regulated gas-distribution subsidiary in Spain, itself parent to eleven regional Nedgia distribution companies.

Does NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA operate outside Spain?

Yes. Registry-derived corporate-linkage data and the company's own disclosures show operations extending to Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Panama, Chile, the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica) and other jurisdictions including Ireland, Australia and the United Kingdom.

What is NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA's current registry status?

NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA is recorded as Active by the Colegio de Registradores / Registro Mercantil Central. This status reflects registry standing only and is not evidence of financial condition, ongoing trading activity or regulatory compliance.

How complete is the officer and director information for NATURGY ENERGY GROUP SA?

Partial. Zavia's registry source lists 5 of a reported 25 officer records, without appointment dates or nationality, while official company sources separately confirm a sixteen-member board as of the 25 March 2025 Annual General Meeting.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.