SBAB Bank AB (publ)
SBAB Bank AB (publ) is a Swedish public limited liability company (aktiebolag) registered in Sweden under company registration number 556253-7513. The company was incorporated on 21 December 1984 and is registered with the Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) in Stockholm, where its status is recorded as active as of 17 September 2026.
SBAB Bank AB (publ) is a bank that specialises in residential mortgage lending. Its principal business activities are the origination of mortgage loans secured against private homes, tenant-owner apartments and multi-family residential properties, alongside savings accounts, fixed-term deposits and unsecured personal loans for private customers. The bank also provides financing to housing associations and residential property companies, and operates a housing-search and estate-agency comparison service. SBAB Bank AB (publ) operates as a digital bank without a branch network of physical offices, serving customers across Sweden.
The designation "(publ)" in the company’s legal name indicates that it is a public aktiebolag entitled under Swedish company law to offer securities to the public; it does not by itself indicate that the company’s shares are traded on a stock exchange. SBAB Bank AB (publ) has issued bonds that Nasdaq Stockholm has admitted to trading, including a bond loan listed with effect from 12 May 2022, and the group’s covered bonds, issued through a subsidiary, have also been listed on Nasdaq Stockholm.
SBAB Bank AB (publ) began banking operations in 1985, originally established to provide financing within the Swedish housing-loan market, and has since expanded into a broader range of retail and corporate housing-finance products for individuals, housing associations and property companies.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
Shareholders of SBAB Bank AB (publ)
SBAB Bank AB (publ) (organisationsnummer 556253-7513) has a single disclosed shareholder: the Swedish state. State ownership of SBAB Bank AB (publ) is administered by the Ministry of Finance (Finansdepartementet), which lists SBAB among the companies with state ownership (bolag med statligt agande) falling under its administration. No other shareholders are disclosed for this entity. Because the sole shareholder is a sovereign state rather than a private or corporate holder, standard beneficial-ownership filings that SBAB Bank AB (publ) is otherwise subject to as a company registered with Bolagsverket and the Register of Beneficial Owners do not identify any additional disclosed shareholders. This reflects the administering ministry’s public ownership listing as retrieved on 17 September 2026; SBAB Bank AB (publ) has not published a more granular shareholder register because it has a single owner.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
No natural-person ultimate beneficial owner is identified for SBAB Bank AB (publ). The company’s sole owner is the Swedish state, a sovereign entity rather than a natural person, so beneficial-ownership rules that require identification of an individual do not produce a named UBO for this company.
Data availability
Shareholder disclosure for SBAB Bank AB (publ) is classified as Full with respect to identifying the sole shareholder, the Swedish state, via the administering ministry’s public register. The register does not itemise an ownership percentage figure, since full state ownership is the standard basis for this category of entity.
Sources
- Government Offices of Sweden (Regeringen.se), "SBAB Bank AB (publ) (SBAB)", https://www.regeringen.se/myndigheter-med-flera/sbab-bank-ab-publ-sbab/, retrieved 2026-09-17
- Bolagsverket company registry data (company id 136219811), as reflected in Zavia’s baseline registry extract, retrieved 2026-09-17
Officers
62
Directors and officers of SBAB Bank AB (publ)
SBAB Bank AB (publ)’s board of directors, as re-elected and elected at the annual general meeting held on 29 April 2026 and as published on the company’s official website, comprises a non-executive chairman, eight further non-executive directors and two employee representatives. Jan Sinclair serves as Chairman of the Board (Ordforande), a position he has held since 2018. The other current non-executive directors are Lars Borjesson, Inga-Lill Carlberg, Jane Lundgren Ericsson, John Saetre, Synnove Trygg, Jenny Lahrin, Wenche Martinussen, Mattias Forsberg and Pauline Holst Blomqvist, the last of whom was newly elected in 2026. Margareta Naumburg and Carol Nakhle serve as employee representatives on the board. Mikael Inglander is Chief Executive Officer (Verkstallande direktor), a role he has held since 10 May 2022, after joining the SBAB group in 2014 initially as Chief Financial Officer. Nationality is not disclosed by any of the sources reviewed for the individuals named above. This board and CEO information, current as published on SBAB’s own corporate-governance webpage and its 2026 annual-general-meeting announcement, supersedes the director records present in Zavia’s underlying registry-sourced officer dataset for this company: those baseline records could not be corroborated against SBAB’s own published board list and are therefore not used in this overview.
Recent officer changes
- Pauline Holst Blomqvist was newly elected to the board at the annual general meeting on 29 April 2026 (source: SBAB AGM 2026 announcement).
- Mattias Forsberg joined the board in 2025, per SBAB’s official board page; the exact appointment date is not disclosed on the source page.
- John Saetre joined the board in 2024, per SBAB’s official board page; the exact appointment date is not disclosed on the source page.
Data availability
Officer information for Swedish companies such as SBAB Bank AB (publ) is published by Bolagsverket, but SBAB’s own website provides a more current board listing than the registry extract available in Zavia’s baseline data. The directors named in that baseline extract could not be matched to any current or recently disclosed SBAB board member and have therefore been excluded from this overview. Exact appointment dates and nationality are not disclosed on the sources reviewed.
Sources
- SBAB, "Styrelse", https://www.sbab.se/1/om_sbab/bolagsstyrning/bolagsstyrning/styrelse.html, retrieved 2026-09-17
- TT/Cision press release, "Mikael Inglander blir VD i SBAB Bank AB", https://via.tt.se/pressmeddelande/3322219/mikael-inglander-blir-vd-i-sbab-bank-ab?publisherId=3236046, published 2022-05-10, retrieved 2026-09-17
- SBAB Bank AB (publ), 2026 annual general meeting announcement (via TT/Cision distribution), https://via.tt.se/ir-files/3236046/4358546/5305/Ladda%20ned%20som%20PDF.pdf, retrieved 2026-09-17
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket), including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Group structure of SBAB Bank AB (publ)
SBAB Bank AB (publ) is the parent company of a small banking group and is not itself a subsidiary of another company: its sole owner is the Swedish state, a sovereign owner rather than a corporate parent, so no immediate or ultimate corporate parent applies to this entity. According to SBAB’s own published group-structure overview, the SBAB group consists of SBAB Bank AB (publ) and two direct subsidiaries: AB Sveriges Sakerstallda Obligationer (publ), known as the Swedish Covered Bond Corporation (SCBC), and Booli Search Technologies AB. SCBC issues covered bonds under the Swedish Covered Bonds Issuance Act and acquires loans primarily from SBAB Bank AB (publ) rather than lending directly; SCBC’s own bonds are listed on Nasdaq Stockholm. Booli Search Technologies AB operates a Swedish residential-property search and valuation service. Both subsidiaries are Swedish entities. This structure is confirmed by SBAB’s own official website as retrieved on 17 September 2026; exact ownership percentages and registration numbers for the two subsidiaries are not disclosed on the source page reviewed.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AB Sveriges Sakerstallda Obligationer (publ) (SCBC) | Sweden | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | 2026-09-17 |
| Booli Search Technologies AB | Sweden | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | 2026-09-17 |
Data availability
Group-structure disclosure for SBAB Bank AB (publ) is classified as Subsidiaries only: the two direct subsidiaries are confirmed by SBAB’s own website, but registration numbers, ownership percentages and any indirect subsidiaries are not disclosed on the source reviewed, and no parent company exists to report since the entity is wholly state-owned rather than corporately owned.
Sources
- SBAB, "Structural Overview", https://www.sbab.se/1/in_english/about_sbab/facts_about_sbab/group_structure.html, retrieved 2026-09-17
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket), including entries the profile above does not cover.
Regeringskansliet
Sweden
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does SBAB Bank AB (publ) do?
Residential mortgage lending, savings accounts and related housing-finance services in Sweden, provided as a digital bank without physical branches.
Who owns SBAB Bank AB (publ)?
Sole disclosed shareholder: the Swedish state, with ownership administered by the Ministry of Finance (Finansdepartementet).
Who is SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
Not applicable: the sole owner is the Swedish state, a sovereign entity rather than a natural person, so no individual UBO is identified.
What is SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s company registration number?
SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s registration number is 5562537513, filed with Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) in Sweden. Its current status on the register is active.
Is SBAB Bank AB (publ) still an active company?
SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s status on Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) is listed as active.
When was SBAB Bank AB (publ) incorporated?
SBAB Bank AB (publ) was incorporated on 21 December 1984, according to Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket).
What is SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s registered address?
The registered address on file for SBAB Bank AB (publ) is STOCKHOLM, Sweden.
What legal structure is SBAB Bank AB (publ) registered as?
SBAB Bank AB (publ) is registered as a Join Stock Company in Sweden.
What is SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s revenue?
Not reliably available from the primary sources reviewed for this profile; no company-level revenue figure with a reporting year could be verified.
Is SBAB Bank AB (publ) listed on a stock exchange?
SBAB Bank AB (publ) shares are not listed on a stock exchange (sole owner is the Swedish state). The company has issued bonds admitted to trading on Nasdaq Stockholm, including a bond loan listed with effect from 12 May 2022; the group's covered bonds, issued via subsidiary SCBC, are also listed on Nasdaq Stockholm.
Who are the officers/directors of SBAB Bank AB (publ)?
Chairman of the Board: Jan Sinclair (since 2018). Chief Executive Officer: Mikael Inglander (since 10 May 2022). Board re-elected/elected at the AGM on 29 April 2026.
Does SBAB Bank AB (publ) have a parent company or subsidiaries?
Direct subsidiaries per SBAB's own group-structure disclosure: AB Sveriges Sakerstallda Obligationer (publ) (SCBC) and Booli Search Technologies AB. No corporate parent; sole owner is the Swedish state.
Can Zavia monitor changes to SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket). Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Sweden, so records like SBAB Bank AB (publ)'s registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Swedish Companies Registration Office (Bolagsverket) and was last synced on 17 September 2026.