SYSCO CORPORATION
Sysco Corporation is a Delaware corporation registered with the Texas Secretary of State under file number 0002980106, where its status is listed as active. Its principal executive offices, as stated in its filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, are located at 1390 Enclave Parkway, Houston, Texas 77077. Sysco Corporation describes itself as the largest global distributor of food and related products to the foodservice, or food-away-from-home, industry, supplying restaurants, healthcare facilities, educational institutions, lodging establishments and other operations that prepare meals for consumption away from home.
Founded in 1969 through the merger of a number of regional foodservice distribution businesses and taken public in 1970, Sysco Corporation now operates through U.S. Foodservice Operations and International segments, together with its SYGMA subsidiary, which provides customized distribution services to chain restaurant customers. Its common stock trades on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol SYY.
For its fiscal year ended 27 June 2026, Sysco Corporation reported consolidated annual sales of approximately 84.6 billion US dollars and approximately 75,000 employees, of whom around 52,000 were based in the United States and 23,000 outside the United States. On 27 November 2023, Sysco Corporation completed its previously announced acquisition of Edward Don & Company, LLC, a Chicago-based distributor of foodservice equipment and supplies, for consideration of approximately 970 million US dollars.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
5
Sysco Corporation is a publicly traded company listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol SYY. Under U.S. securities law, only investors who beneficially own 5% or more of its outstanding common stock are individually required to disclose their holdings, so the shareholder information available for Sysco Corporation reflects major shareholders only rather than a complete shareholder register. On this basis, two institutional investors are currently identified as major shareholders. The Vanguard Group, Inc. reported beneficial ownership of 61,089,055 shares, equal to 12.42% of Sysco Corporation’s outstanding common stock, in a Schedule 13G/A filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on 12 November 2024, reporting its position as of 30 September 2024. BlackRock, Inc. reported beneficial ownership of 37,984,016 shares, equal to 7.7% of the outstanding common stock, in a Schedule 13G/A filed on 5 February 2025, reporting its position as of 31 December 2024. Both filings were made on Schedule 13G rather than Schedule 13D, indicating passive institutional investment rather than an intent to influence or control the company.
Beyond these two disclosed holders, numerous additional institutional and index-fund investors are known to hold smaller stakes that fall below the 5% disclosure threshold and are therefore not individually reportable under SEC rules; their individual holdings are not restated here. No ultimate beneficial owner can be identified for Sysco Corporation from the available information, because every disclosed major shareholder is an investment management company acting on behalf of pooled funds and client accounts rather than a natural person.
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard Group Inc | 21.6% | Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect | |
| Diamond Hill Capital Management Inc | 2.1% | Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect | |
| Fidelity Concord Street Trust-Fidelity 500 Index Fund | 2% | Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect | |
| SPDR S&P 500 ETF TRUST | 1.9% | Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect | |
| Capital Income Builder | 1.4% | Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect |
Officers
5
Corporate officer information filed with the Texas Secretary of State for Sysco Corporation (file number 0002980106) lists five officers, without appointment or resignation dates, including individuals in the roles of president and executive vice president, plus an individual recorded in a role described as founder. Comparing this filed record against Sysco Corporation’s own public disclosures shows that at least part of it is out of date: the individual shown as executive vice president left his position as Sysco Corporation’s Chief Financial Officer in January 2023, and the individual recorded as founder is deceased. The Texas Secretary of State officer record is therefore best treated as a historical filing rather than a current directory of the company’s management, and should not be relied on alone to identify who currently holds these positions.
Based on Sysco Corporation’s own SEC filings and official announcements, its current senior leadership includes Kevin P. Hourican, who has served as President and Chief Executive Officer since February 2020 and was appointed Chair of the Board effective 30 April 2024, succeeding Edward D. Shirley in that role, and Kenny K. Cheung, who was named Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer effective 17 April 2023, succeeding Aaron E. Alt. Nationality and country of residence are not disclosed for these individuals in the sources reviewed for this profile; the correspondence address shown in the Texas filing is a business address for service of process and communications, not a personal or residential address.
Recent officer and director changes
Kenny K. Cheung was appointed Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer effective 17 April 2023, succeeding Aaron E. Alt (source: Sysco Corporation press release, March 2023). Kevin P. Hourican was appointed Chair of the Board effective 30 April 2024, in addition to his existing role as President and Chief Executive Officer, succeeding Edward D. Shirley (source: Sysco Corporation press release, 30 April 2024). Effective 1 September 2026, Sysco Corporation’s Board of Directors was expanded from eleven to thirteen members with the election of two additional independent directors (source: Sysco Corporation announcement, August 2026).
Officer and director information for Sysco Corporation is therefore of mixed currency: registry-filed officer data available through the Texas Secretary of State appears historical, while the company’s own SEC filings and press releases provide dated, current confirmation of its most senior executive and board appointments. Nationality is not a field disclosed in either source.
Group Structure
Sysco Corporation sits at the top of its own corporate group. It has no parent company, and its common stock trades publicly on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol SYY. Corporate registration data collected across the jurisdictions in which the group operates shows a very large number of subsidiary entities registered beneath Sysco Corporation, consistent with its operating model of numerous state- and country-specific distribution companies, several of which combine the Sysco name with a city or regional name, together with a number of specialty divisions and international holding companies used to hold operations outside the United States, including entities registered in Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Luxembourg and other jurisdictions. This picture should be treated as broad and partial rather than exhaustive: it reflects entities for which registration data has been filed and located, individual ownership percentages are largely not confirmed, and additional layers of ownership may exist that are not captured here.
One verified recent structural change is Sysco Corporation’s acquisition of Edward Don & Company, LLC, a Chicago-based distributor of foodservice equipment, supplies and disposables. Sysco Corporation announced the agreement on 11 October 2023 and completed the acquisition from Vestar Capital Partners, LLC and the Don family on 27 November 2023, for consideration of approximately 970 million US dollars. Ownership percentage following completion is not disclosed in the sources reviewed, though following completion Edward Don & Company has operated as a standalone specialty division within Sysco Corporation, retaining its existing leadership team.
Group-level disclosure for Sysco Corporation is best described as partial: Sysco Corporation’s position at the top of the group and its acquisition of Edward Don & Company are independently verifiable, but the ownership percentages, voting control and current status of most of the individual entities recorded beneath it have not been independently confirmed for this profile and are not restated here.
SYSCO CORPORATION
United States
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does SYSCO CORPORATION do?
Sysco Corporation is the largest global distributor of food and related products to the foodservice, or food-away-from-home, industry, serving restaurants, healthcare facilities, educational institutions and similar customers.
Who owns SYSCO CORPORATION?
The Vanguard Group, Inc. and BlackRock, Inc. are Sysco Corporation’s two publicly disclosed 5%+ shareholders, reporting 12.42% and 7.7% of outstanding common stock respectively in Schedule 13G filings made with the SEC in November 2024 and February 2025.
Who is SYSCO CORPORATION's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
No ultimate beneficial owner can be identified for Sysco Corporation because its disclosed major shareholders are institutional investment managers rather than natural persons.
What is SYSCO CORPORATION's company registration number?
SYSCO CORPORATION's registration number is 0002980106, filed with Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect in United States. Its current status on the register is active.
Is SYSCO CORPORATION still an active company?
SYSCO CORPORATION's status on Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect is listed as active.
When was SYSCO CORPORATION incorporated?
SYSCO CORPORATION was incorporated on 26 November 1969, according to Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect.
What is SYSCO CORPORATION's registered address?
The registered address on file for SYSCO CORPORATION is HOUSTON, United States.
What is SYSCO CORPORATION's revenue?
Sysco Corporation reported consolidated annual sales of approximately 84.6 billion US dollars for its fiscal year ended 27 June 2026.
Is SYSCO CORPORATION listed on a stock exchange?
Sysco Corporation’s common stock trades on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol SYY.
Who are the officers/directors of SYSCO CORPORATION?
Sysco Corporation’s Chief Executive Officer and Chair of the Board is Kevin P. Hourican, and its Chief Financial Officer is Kenny K. Cheung, who was appointed effective 17 April 2023.
Does SYSCO CORPORATION have a parent company or subsidiaries?
Sysco Corporation has no parent company and completed its acquisition of Edward Don & Company, LLC for approximately 970 million US dollars on 27 November 2023.
Can Zavia monitor changes to SYSCO CORPORATION's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to SYSCO CORPORATION's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access SYSCO CORPORATION's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United States, so records like SYSCO CORPORATION's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Texas Secretary of State — SOSDirect and was last synced on 9 September 2026.