FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION
First Busey Corporation is registered with the Kansas Secretary of State (registration number C6781-1993) with a current status of active. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission filings identify First Busey Corporation as a corporation organized under the laws of Nevada in 1980; its principal executive offices are located at 11440 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Leawood, Kansas 66211, following the relocation of its corporate headquarters there in 2025.
First Busey Corporation is a financial holding company. Its principal operating subsidiary, Busey Bank, is an Illinois state-chartered bank headquartered in Champaign, Illinois, providing commercial and retail banking, wealth management, asset management, brokerage and fiduciary services.
On March 1, 2025, First Busey Corporation completed its previously announced acquisition of CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. and its subsidiary, CrossFirst Bank. The two banks’ charters were subsequently combined, with CrossFirst Bank merging into Busey Bank effective June 20, 2025, after which former CrossFirst Bank locations began operating as Busey Bank branches. Following the combination, First Busey Corporation serves clients from more than 75 locations across ten U.S. states in the Midwest, Southwest and Florida. As of December 31, 2025, the company reported consolidated total assets of approximately 18.10 billion US dollars, according to its fourth-quarter 2025 earnings announcement.
First Busey Corporation’s common stock trades on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the ticker symbol BUSE. On May 20, 2025, the company closed a public offering of 8,600,000 depositary shares, each representing a 1/40th interest in its 8.25% Fixed Rate Series B Non-Cumulative Perpetual Preferred Stock, raising net proceeds of approximately 207.5 million US dollars; the depositary shares trade on Nasdaq under the symbol BUSEP.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
5
Shareholders of FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION
First Busey Corporation (Nasdaq: BUSE) is a publicly traded company, and U.S. securities law requires individual beneficial-ownership disclosure only for holders that cross the 5% threshold of a class of stock (Sections 13(d)/13(g) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934). Based on Schedule 13G filings with the SEC, Wellington Management Group LLP reported beneficial ownership of 7,135,906 shares, representing 8.0% of the outstanding class, as of September 30, 2025, and BlackRock, Inc. reported beneficial ownership of 6,487,916 shares, representing 7.2% of the outstanding class, as of March 31, 2025. Both are SEC-registered investment advisers reporting shares held on behalf of client accounts and pooled investment funds rather than direct personal holdings; neither filing indicates an intent to influence control of the company. No other holder has been independently verified above the 5% disclosure threshold as of the most recent available filings.
Data availability
Shareholder disclosure for First Busey Corporation is major shareholders only. U.S. securities law requires public itemized disclosure solely for beneficial owners exceeding 5% of a class of stock; the company’s complete shareholder base, including smaller institutional and retail holders, is not separately published at the individual level.
Sources
- BlackRock, Inc., Schedule 13G/A, SEC EDGAR (CIK 0000314489) β https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000314489/000205211325001597/primary_doc.xml β event date 31 March 2025, filed 24 April 2025, retrieved 11 September 2026.
- Wellington Management Group LLP, Schedule 13G, SEC EDGAR (CIK 0000314489) β https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000314489/000090221925000436/primary_doc.xml β event date 30 September 2025, retrieved 11 September 2026.
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| iShares Trust-iShares Russell 2000 ETF | 4.7% | Kansas Secretary of State | |
| VANGUARD INDEX FUNDS-Vanguard Extended Market Index Fund | 2% | Kansas Secretary of State | |
| Fidelity Salem Street Trust-Fidelity Small Cap Index Fund | 1.9% | Kansas Secretary of State | |
| iShares Trust-iShares Russell 2000 Value ETF | 1.6% | Kansas Secretary of State | |
| SPDR SERIES TRUST-State Street SPDR S&P Regional Banking ETF | 1.2% | Kansas Secretary of State |
Officers
5
Directors and officers of FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION
First Busey Corporation’s directors and executive officers are disclosed through its SEC filings and official investor-relations materials. As of its most recent disclosures, the board comprises twelve directors, including Van A. Dukeman, who has served as Chief Executive Officer since August 2007 and as Chairman of the Board since July 2020, and Rodney K. Brenneman, a director since 2012. Other directors include Stanley J. Bradshaw, Michael D. Cassens, Karen M. Jensen, Frederic L. Kenney, Stephen V. King, Jennifer M. Grigsby, Steven W. Caple and Kevin S. Rauckman, together with Scott A. Wehrli and Tifany B. White, who joined the board in 2025 in connection with the CrossFirst Bankshares merger. Named executive officers include Van A. Dukeman (Chief Executive Officer), Christopher H.M. Chan (Chief Financial Officer, effective September 30, 2025), Scott A. Phillips (Chief Accounting Officer), John J. Powers (Executive Vice President and General Counsel), Monica L. Bowe (Executive Vice President and Chief Risk Officer) and Amy J. Fauss (Executive Vice President and Chief Information and Technology Officer). Nationality and country of residence are not disclosed for any officer or director in the reviewed sources.
Recent officer changes
- Christopher H.M. Chan was appointed Chief Financial Officer of First Busey Corporation and Busey Bank, effective September 30, 2025, succeeding Scott A. Phillips, who continues as Chief Accounting Officer. Source: company announcement, busey.com, 24 September 2025.
- Following Michael J. Maddox’s separation from the company, T. Anthony Hammond was appointed President of Busey Bank, and Van A. Dukeman agreed to continue as President of First Busey Corporation and Chief Executive Officer of Busey Bank for at least two additional years. Source: SEC Form 8-K exhibit, 27 January 2026.
- Scott A. Wehrli and Tifany B. White joined the board of directors in 2025 in connection with the completion of the CrossFirst Bankshares merger. Source: First Busey Corporation merger-completion and proxy disclosures, 2025.
Data availability
Officer and director information for First Busey Corporation is partial. As a Nevada-incorporated, Nasdaq-listed company, its officer and director disclosures are made primarily through SEC filings (proxy statements and Form 8-K reports) rather than a single state corporate registry, and complete historical appointment dates are not available for every director. Nationality is not disclosed for any officer or director in the reviewed sources. Separately, registry-sourced officer records associated with this company profile name individuals β including a Founder role and two differently addressed Treasurer entries in Illinois and Florida β that could not be independently matched to First Busey Corporation’s current board or executive team through SEC filings or company disclosures, and have therefore been excluded from this overview pending independent verification.
Sources
- First Busey Corporation, Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025, SEC EDGAR β https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/314489/000031448926000013/buse-20251231.htm β retrieved 11 September 2026.
- First Busey Corporation, Form DEF 14A proxy statement, SEC EDGAR β https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/314489/000031448925000150/buse-20250417.htm β 17 April 2025.
- “First Busey Corporation Announces New Chief Financial Officer,” busey.com β https://www.busey.com/about-us/news-and-announcements/first-busey-corporation-announces-new-chief-financial-officer β 24 September 2025.
- First Busey Corporation, Form 8-K exhibit, SEC EDGAR β https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/314489/000031448926000006/buse_20260127x25q4xex991.htm β 27 January 2026.
Group Structure
Group structure of FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION
First Busey Corporation is a publicly traded financial holding company and the ultimate parent of its corporate group; no controlling parent company was identified in SEC filings or state registry records. Its principal operating subsidiary is Busey Bank, which SEC filings describe as First Busey Corporation’s wholly-owned, Illinois state-chartered bank subsidiary. On March 1, 2025, First Busey Corporation completed its acquisition of CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. and its subsidiary, CrossFirst Bank; the bank charters were then combined, with CrossFirst Bank merging into Busey Bank effective June 20, 2025, after which former CrossFirst Bank locations began operating as Busey Bank branches. SEC filings also disclose two earlier, completed bank acquisitions: Herget Financial Corporation and its subsidiary, Herget Bank, National Association (acquired 8 January 2015; Herget Bank merged into Busey Bank on 13 March 2015), and Pulaski Financial Corp. and its subsidiary, Pulaski Bank, National Association (acquired 30 April 2016; Pulaski Bank merged into Busey Bank on 4 November 2016). Both are historical relationships rather than current, separate operating subsidiaries. Group information is partial: registry data associated with this profile also lists numerous additional entities, including statutory trusts and real-estate holding companies, that plausibly relate to First Busey Corporation’s acquisition history but could not be individually verified against SEC filings or state registries within this review, and are therefore not presented as verified relationships below.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Busey Bank | United States (Illinois) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary (wholly-owned bank subsidiary) | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Active | 31 December 2025 |
| CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. | United States (Kansas) | Not disclosed | Historical β acquired by merger and combined into First Busey Corporation | Acquired via stock-for-stock merger; not a percentage-ownership relationship | Merger completed | 1 March 2025 |
| CrossFirst Bank | United States (Kansas) | Not disclosed | Historical β direct bank subsidiary, subsequently merged into Busey Bank | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Merged into Busey Bank | 20 June 2025 |
| Herget Financial Corporation / Herget Bank, N.A. | United States | Not disclosed | Historical β acquired 2015; bank subsidiary merged into Busey Bank | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Historical | 13 March 2015 |
| Pulaski Financial Corp. / Pulaski Bank, N.A. | United States | Not disclosed | Historical β acquired 2016; bank subsidiary merged into Busey Bank | Ownership percentage not disclosed | Historical | 4 November 2016 |
Recent structural changes
- Completion of the acquisition of CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. and CrossFirst Bank on 1 March 2025, with the bank charters combined into Busey Bank effective 20 June 2025.
Data availability
Corporate-linkage information for First Busey Corporation is partial. Its principal bank subsidiary and recent, completed acquisitions are independently confirmed through SEC filings and official company announcements; the broader set of entities appearing in registry data for this profile, including numerous statutory trusts and real-estate holding LLCs, could not be independently verified within this review and are not included in the relationships table above.
Sources
- First Busey Corporation, Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025, SEC EDGAR β https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/314489/000031448926000013/buse-20251231.htm β retrieved 11 September 2026.
- “First Busey Corporation Completes Acquisition of CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. and CrossFirst Bank,” GlobeNewswire β https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2025/03/03/3035572/10701/en/First-Busey-Corporation-Completes-Acquisition-of-CrossFirst-Bankshares-Inc-and-CrossFirst-Bank.html β 3 March 2025.
- “CrossFirst Bank Acquisition,” busey.com β https://www.busey.com/about-us/news-and-announcements/crossfirst-bankshares-inc-acquisition β bank charter merger effective 20 June 2025.
- First Busey Corporation, historical SEC Form 10-K filings (Herget Financial Corporation and Pulaski Financial Corp. business-combination disclosures).
FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION
United States
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION do?
First Busey Corporation is a Nevada-incorporated financial holding company whose principal subsidiary, Busey Bank, provides commercial and retail banking, wealth management, asset management, brokerage and fiduciary services from Champaign, Illinois, with combined operations across ten U.S. states following the March 2025 CrossFirst Bankshares merger.
Who owns FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION?
Only major shareholders are disclosed under SEC beneficial-ownership rules. Wellington Management Group LLP reported 8.0% ownership as of 30 September 2025, and BlackRock, Inc. reported 7.2% ownership as of 31 March 2025, both via SEC Schedule 13G filings.
Who is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
No natural-person ultimate beneficial owner is identified. The disclosed major shareholders are SEC-registered investment advisers reporting shares held on behalf of client accounts and funds, not direct personal holdings.
What is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's company registration number?
FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's registration number is C6781-1993, filed with Kansas Secretary of State in United States. Its current status on the register is active.
Is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION still an active company?
FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's status on Kansas Secretary of State is listed as active.
When was FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION incorporated?
FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION was incorporated on 14 June 1993, according to Kansas Secretary of State.
What is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's registered address?
The registered address on file for FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION is Leawood, United States.
What legal structure is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION registered as?
FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION is registered as a Public Limited Company in United States.
What is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's revenue?
As of December 31, 2025, First Busey Corporation reported consolidated total assets of approximately 18.10 billion US dollars, according to its fourth-quarter 2025 earnings announcement.
Is FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION listed on a stock exchange?
Yes. First Busey Corporation common stock trades on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the ticker symbol BUSE; its depositary shares trade under the symbol BUSEP.
Who are the officers/directors of FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION?
Van A. Dukeman has served as Chief Executive Officer since August 2007 and Chairman since July 2020. Christopher H.M. Chan became Chief Financial Officer effective 30 September 2025, and T. Anthony Hammond was appointed President of Busey Bank per a January 2026 company announcement.
Does FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION have a parent company or subsidiaries?
First Busey Corporation is the ultimate parent of its group; no parent company was identified. Busey Bank is its verified wholly-owned bank subsidiary. CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. and CrossFirst Bank were acquired 1 March 2025 and merged into Busey Bank effective 20 June 2025.
Can Zavia monitor changes to FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Kansas Secretary of State. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United States, so records like FIRST BUSEY CORPORATION's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Kansas Secretary of State and was last synced on 9 September 2026.