Skip links
Companies
› United Kingdom › IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED

Private limited company (Ltd.) Inactive

Registration No.
06883308
Incorporation Date
2009-04-21
Company Type
Private limited company (Ltd.)
Address
LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom
Website
www.imperativeenergy.com/
Source: Companies House

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED is a private limited company that was registered in the United Kingdom under company number 06883308. It was incorporated on 21 April 2009 and, according to the Companies House register, was dissolved on 14 April 2019 following a creditors’ voluntary liquidation. Its registered office was recorded at Yorkshire House, 18 Chapel Street, Liverpool, L3 9AG.

The company’s name and its position within the Gaelectric/Imperative Energy corporate family point to an energy-sector business, though Companies House recorded its statutory activity under the general classification SIC 74909, "other professional, scientific and technical activities not elsewhere classified," rather than a specific energy or renewables code. Its most recent filed accounts covered the period to 31 March 2015.

An administrator was appointed over the company on 11 November 2016. The case moved into creditors’ voluntary liquidation on 6 April 2017, and a voluntary liquidator was appointed on 2 May 2017. The final liquidation meeting was reported on 14 January 2019, and the company was formally struck off and dissolved on 14 April 2019 following publication in the London Gazette. IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED is not an active or currently trading entity.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including Companies House.

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

1

Shareholders of IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED

The Companies House persons-with-significant-control (PSC) register for IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED discloses one person with significant control: Gaelectric Holdings Plc, a private company registered in Ireland (registration number 418730), recorded as holding 75% or more of the company’s shares. The interest was notified on 6 April 2016. Companies House statements of capital filed with the 2015 and 2016 annual returns show the company’s total issued share capital as GBP 1, comprising a single ordinary GBP 1 share, consistent with a simple, wholly-controlled shareholding structure. Because the company was dissolved in 2019, this reflects the last position recorded at Companies House rather than a current shareholding. Zavia’s internal registry data separately records Imperative Energy Holdings (UK) Limited as the 100% direct shareholder; this specific claim could not be independently confirmed against a Companies House share-register filing during this research, so the Companies House PSC filing for Gaelectric Holdings Plc is treated as the verified position.

Ultimate beneficial ownership

No natural person has been registered as an ultimate beneficial owner on the Companies House PSC register. The disclosed person with significant control is the corporate entity Gaelectric Holdings Plc; the individuals who ultimately control that entity were not disclosed in this filing and were not independently traced.

Data availability

Historical: Companies House PSC and share-capital data for this company were last updated before its dissolution in April 2019 and are not maintained afterward.

Sources

  • Companies House — Persons with significant control — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06883308/persons-with-significant-control — notified 6 April 2016 — retrieved 22 September 2026
  • Companies House — Filing history — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06883308/filing-history — retrieved 22 September 2026
Shareholder Type Holding Source Document
IMPERATIVE ENERGY HOLDINGS (UK) LTD 100% Companies House

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

10

Directors and officers of IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED

The Companies House officers register lists 11 appointments for this company: 3 carry no recorded resignation date and 8 are formally resigned. The unresigned appointments are Barry Gavin (Company Secretary and, separately, Director, both appointed 18 June 2014) and Éamonn McGrath (Director, appointed 11 August 2015). None of these three appointments carries a resignation or termination date in the register, even though the company itself was dissolved on 14 April 2019 following liquidation; dissolution does not automatically generate a resignation filing for serving officers. The eight resigned officers are Joe O’Carroll (Secretary and, separately, Director, both resigned 18 June 2014), Phil Beeson (Director, resigned 2 March 2011), Alan Paul Marshall (Director, resigned 24 November 2011), John O’Reilly (Director, resigned 18 June 2014), Martin Pickard (Director, resigned 24 November 2011), Kian Ryan (Director, resigned 11 September 2015) and Michael Robert Sergeant (Director, resigned 28 June 2012). Register data was retrieved 22 September 2026.

Recent officer changes

  • Éamonn McGrath appointed Director, 11 August 2015 (Companies House).
  • Kian Ryan resigned as Director, 11 September 2015 (Companies House).
  • Barry Gavin appointed Director and Company Secretary, 18 June 2014, following Joe O’Carroll’s resignation from both roles the same date (Companies House).

Data availability

Full: Companies House publishes current and historical officer appointments, with appointment and resignation dates, for this dissolved company. Nationality is disclosed for the two unresigned directors: Barry Gavin is recorded as Irish on his director appointment and British on his secretary appointment, a discrepancy present in the register itself rather than an inference made here; Éamonn McGrath is recorded as Irish. Occupation was not separately disclosed for these appointments. Correspondence addresses shown in the register are service addresses, not residential addresses, and are not used here to infer nationality or residence.

Sources

  • Companies House — Officers — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06883308/officers — retrieved 22 September 2026

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies House, including entries the profile above does not cover.

BG
Barry Gavin ACTIVE

Appointed
2014-06-18
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

EM
Eamonn McGrath ACTIVE

Appointed
2015-08-11
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

BG
Barry Gavin ACTIVE

Appointed
2014-06-18
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

PB
Phil Beeson RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-04-21
Resigned
2011-03-02
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

MP
Martin Pickard RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-04-21
Resigned
2011-11-24
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JO
John O'Reilly RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-04-21
Resigned
2014-06-18
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JO
Joe O'Carroll RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-04-21
Resigned
2014-06-18
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

AM
Alan Marshall RESIGNED

Appointed
2011-03-09
Resigned
2011-11-24
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

MS
Michael Sergeant RESIGNED

Appointed
2012-04-16
Resigned
2012-06-28
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

KR
Kian Ryan RESIGNED

Appointed
2014-06-18
Resigned
2015-09-11
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Group structure of IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED was not independently owned. The Companies House persons-with-significant-control register for the company names Gaelectric Holdings Plc (Ireland, registration number 418730) as holding significant control through 75% or more of the company’s shares, notified 6 April 2016; this is the one corporate relationship independently verified against the company’s own Companies House filing. Zavia’s internal registry linkage data also lists Imperative Energy Holdings (UK) Limited (company number 07890913, also dissolved, on 19 June 2018) as a related entity in the same corporate family; its existence and dissolution were confirmed directly at Companies House, but no primary filing was located during this research documenting a shareholding by that company in IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED, so this relationship is reported as possible rather than verified. No subsidiaries of IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED were identified. All information reflects the position last recorded before the companies involved were dissolved.

Verified corporate relationships

Entity Country Registration number Relationship Ownership Status Information date
Gaelectric Holdings Plc IE 418730 Person with significant control (shares) 75% or more Not independently verified against the Irish register Notified 6 April 2016

Recent structural changes

  • IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED entered administration on 11 November 2016, transitioned to creditors’ voluntary liquidation on 6 April 2017, and was dissolved on 14 April 2019.
  • Imperative Energy Holdings (UK) Limited, the entity recorded in internal linkage data as a related/parent entity, was separately dissolved on 19 June 2018.

Data availability

Historical: both the target company and the entities linked to it are dissolved. The only relationship confirmed via the company’s own Companies House filing is the persons-with-significant-control entry for Gaelectric Holdings Plc, which was not separately cross-checked against the Irish companies register.

Sources

  • Companies House — IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED — persons with significant control — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06883308/persons-with-significant-control — retrieved 22 September 2026
  • Companies House — IMPERATIVE ENERGY HOLDINGS (UK) LIMITED — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07890913 — retrieved 22 September 2026
  • Companies House — IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED — filing history — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06883308/filing-history — retrieved 22 September 2026

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies House, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Ultimate HQ
GAELECTRIC HOLDINGS PUBLIC LIMITED COMPA

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED do?

Energy-sector business (per name/group affiliation) formally classified by Companies House under SIC 74909; dissolved 14 April 2019 after creditors' voluntary liquidation.

Who owns IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED?

Companies House PSC register names Gaelectric Holdings Plc (Ireland, reg. 418730) as holding 75% or more of shares, notified 6 April 2016; total issued capital GBP 1 (one ordinary share).

Who is IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?

No natural-person UBO disclosed; sole registered person with significant control is the corporate entity Gaelectric Holdings Plc.

What is IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's company registration number?

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's registration number is 06883308, filed with Companies House in United Kingdom. Its current status on the register is inactive.

Is IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED still an active company?

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's status on Companies House is listed as inactive, not currently active.

When was IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED incorporated?

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED was incorporated on 21 April 2009, according to Companies House.

What is IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's registered address?

The registered address on file for IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED is LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom.

What legal structure is IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED registered as?

IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED is registered as a Private limited company (Ltd.) in United Kingdom.

Who are the officers/directors of IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED?

11 appointments on record: 3 with no resignation date (Barry Gavin – Director & Secretary; Eamonn McGrath – Director) and 8 resigned; company dissolved 14 April 2019.

Does IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED have a parent company or subsidiaries?

Verified PSC-level link to Gaelectric Holdings Plc (Ireland); internal linkage data also shows Imperative Energy Holdings (UK) Limited, dissolved, as a related entity not independently confirmed as shareholder.

Can Zavia monitor changes to IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's ownership over time?

This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies House. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.

Can I access IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's data through an API?

Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United Kingdom, so records like IMPERATIVE ENERGY (UK) LIMITED's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.

Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?

This record is sourced directly from Companies House and was last synced on 18 September 2026.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.