M&T BANK CORPORATION
M&T Bank Corporation is a New York business corporation and financial holding company headquartered at One M&T Plaza, Buffalo, New York. The company was incorporated in New York in November 1969, originally as First Empire State Corporation, as the holding company for Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company, the New York-chartered bank now operating as M&T Bank, which traces its own origins to 1856. M&T Bank Corporation’s common stock trades on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker MTB, and the company files with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission under CIK 0000036270.
Through its principal banking subsidiary, M&T Bank, and its trust and wealth-management subsidiary, Wilmington Trust, National Association, M&T Bank Corporation provides retail and commercial banking, business and corporate lending, residential mortgage banking, insurance, wealth management, trust and estate administration, and capital-markets services. Its branch and commercial banking network is concentrated in the northeastern and Mid-Atlantic United States, with an expanded presence across New England following completion, on 1 April 2022, of its acquisition of People’s United Financial, Inc. At the time that acquisition completed, the combined organization had a network of more than 1,000 branches and roughly 2,200 ATMs across 12 states, from Maine to Virginia, and the District of Columbia, and employed more than 22,000 people.
M&T is registered as a financial holding company under the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956 and as a bank holding company under Article III-A of the New York Banking Law, and its bank subsidiaries are supervised by federal banking regulators together with the New York State Department of Financial Services. The company’s registration with the New York Department of State is currently listed as active.
On a consolidated basis, M&T Bank Corporation reported total assets of approximately $213.5 billion at 31 December 2025, full-year 2025 net income of $2.85 billion, and diluted earnings per common share of $17.00, according to its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results announcement. In March 2026, the company’s board of directors authorized a new $5.0 billion common stock repurchase program, replacing a $4.0 billion program authorized in January 2025. These figures are reported on a consolidated group basis and should not be read as the results of any individual banking subsidiary.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
1
Shareholders of M&T Bank Corporation
M&T Bank Corporation is a publicly traded company listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: MTB) and, unlike a private company, does not maintain or publish a complete register of its shareholders. Beneficial ownership instead becomes visible through periodic filings that institutional investors make with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission once their holding in the company’s common stock reaches 5%, typically on Schedule 13G or 13G/A. Based on the most recent such filings identified, the largest disclosed holders are FMR LLC (Fidelity), reporting beneficial ownership of approximately 13.3 million shares, or about 8.7% of the class, in a Schedule 13G/A filed in 2026; BlackRock, Inc., reporting approximately 13.1 million shares, or about 7.9%, in its most recently identified Schedule 13G/A; and entities affiliated with the Vanguard group of funds, which, following an internal reorganisation effective 12 January 2026, now report holdings separately as Vanguard Capital Management (approximately 7.6% as of 31 March 2026) and Vanguard Portfolio Management (approximately 4.85% as of 31 July 2026). Each of these positions is reported as a passive investment rather than an activist or controlling stake.
Data availability
Shareholder disclosure for this company is major shareholders only: U.S. securities law requires public disclosure only for holders crossing the 5% threshold, so the great majority of M&T Bank Corporation’s shareholder base, including all holdings below that level, is not individually identified in public filings. The single institutional holding already shown in the shareholder table on this page (a Fidelity index fund) is one position within FMR LLC’s wider Fidelity fund complex and does not represent the company’s complete institutional shareholder base. No natural-person ultimate beneficial owner is disclosed in any of these filings; every reported holder is an investment manager or fund complex, and the percentages above were reported as of different filing dates rather than a single as-of date for the company as a whole.
Sources
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR filings index for M&T Bank Corp. (CIK 0000036270) — https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0000036270&type=SC+13G — retrieved 11 September 2026.
- FMR LLC, Schedule 13G/A, M&T Bank Corp. — https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000036270/000031506626000489/primary_doc.xml — 2026.
- Vanguard Capital Management, Schedule 13G, M&T Bank Corp. — https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000036270/000210012126000469/primary_doc.xml — dated 31 March 2026.
- Vanguard Portfolio Management, Schedule 13G/A, M&T Bank Corp. — https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000036270/000210011926000769/primary_doc.xml — dated 31 July 2026.
- BlackRock, Inc., Schedule 13G/A, M&T Bank Corp., SEC EDGAR (most recently identified filing).
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fidelity Concord Street Trust-Fidelity 500 Index Fund | 1.6% | New York Department of State — Division of Corporations |
Officers
5
Directors and officers of M&T Bank Corporation
M&T Bank Corporation, as a U.S. public company, discloses its leadership as executive officers and directors in SEC filings rather than through a company-secretary-style officer register. René F. Jones serves as Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of M&T Bank Corporation and its M&T Bank subsidiary. Other current senior executive officers identified from the company’s most recent proxy statement and public announcements include Daryl N. Bible (Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, since the second quarter of 2023), Kevin J. Pearson (Vice Chairman of M&T Bank Corporation and Vice Chairman and a director of M&T Bank), Peter G. D’Arcy (Senior Executive Vice President, Head of Commercial Banking), Laura P. O’Hara (Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer), Neeraj Singh (Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Risk Officer), Michael A. Wisler (Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Information Officer), and Tracy S. Woodrow (Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, and Regional President for Western New York since July 2025). This reflects currently serving officers only; nationality is not disclosed for any of these individuals in the sources reviewed, and any correspondence address shown elsewhere on this profile is a service address, not a home address.
Recent officer changes
- Daryl N. Bible joined as Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer effective the second quarter of 2023, succeeding Darren J. King in that role (announced 14 December 2022).
- Richard S. Gold, previously President and Chief Operating Officer, retired from that role effective after the first quarter of 2023 (announced 16 June 2022).
- Tracy S. Woodrow was named Regional President for Western New York in July 2025, in addition to the Chief Administrative Officer role she has held since June 2023.
Data availability
Officer information for M&T Bank Corporation is disclosed through SEC filings, including proxy statements and Forms 8-K and 10-K, rather than through a continuously updated public company-officer register of the kind maintained by some non-U.S. corporate registries. The officer list shown elsewhere on this profile could not be fully corroborated against current sources at the time of this review; for example, it lists an individual as an active officer who had already left that role according to the company’s own public announcements, so the overview above relies on independently verified, current sources instead. Nationality and country of residence are not systematically disclosed for U.S. executive officers and are not stated here.
Sources
- M&T Bank Corporation, Definitive Proxy Statement (DEF 14A), filed 2026 — https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/36270/000119312526099298/d74790ddef14a.htm
- M&T Bank Corporation, M&T Bank Corporation Announces Key Leadership Changes, 14 December 2022 — https://newsroom.mtb.com/2022-12-14-M-T-Bank-Corporation-Announces-Key-Leadership-Changes
- M&T Bank Corporation, M&T Bank Corporation President and Chief Operating Officer Rich Gold Announces Retirement, 16 June 2022 — https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/mt-bank-corporation-president-and-chief-operating-officer-rich-gold-announces-retirement-301569315.html
- M&T Bank Corporation investor relations and newsroom leadership pages (ir.mtb.com / newsroom.mtb.com), retrieved September 2026.
Group Structure
Group structure of M&T Bank Corporation
M&T Bank Corporation is an independent, publicly traded bank holding company and financial holding company. No parent company is identified in its SEC filings, and M&T Bank Corporation is the ultimate parent of its corporate group. Its verified subsidiaries include M&T Bank (legally Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company), a New York-chartered commercial bank, and Wilmington Trust, National Association, a nationally chartered trust and banking institution that joined the group when M&T completed its acquisition of Wilmington Trust Corporation in 2011; both are described in company and regulatory disclosures as wholly owned bank subsidiaries. On 1 April 2022, M&T Bank Corporation completed its acquisition of People’s United Financial, Inc.; People’s United Bank was subsequently merged into M&T Bank, so People’s United no longer exists as a separate subsidiary. This overview reflects verified relationships identified from company and regulatory sources as of September 2026 and is not an exhaustive list of every subsidiary, such as smaller non-bank entities that may not be separately confirmed here.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M&T Bank (Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company) | United States (New York) | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct subsidiary (bank subsidiary) | 100% — described as wholly owned in company disclosures | Active | 2026 |
| Wilmington Trust, National Association | United States | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Direct subsidiary (bank subsidiary, acquired 2011) | 100% — described as wholly owned in company disclosures | Active | 2026 |
| People’s United Financial, Inc. / People’s United Bank | United States (Connecticut) | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Historical relationship — acquired 1 April 2022, later merged into M&T Bank | Not applicable (merged; entity dissolved) | Historical | 2022 |
Recent structural changes
- Completed acquisition of People’s United Financial, Inc. on 1 April 2022 (approximately $8.3 billion transaction value); People’s United Bank was subsequently merged into M&T Bank.
- Completed acquisition of Wilmington Trust Corporation in 2011, adding Wilmington Trust, National Association as a wholly owned bank subsidiary.
Data availability
Group-structure disclosure for this company is partial: the parent-subsidiary relationships for its regulated bank subsidiaries are confirmed through Federal Reserve and company disclosures, but a complete, itemized list of every direct and indirect subsidiary, including smaller non-bank entities such as insurance-agency or investment-adviser subsidiaries, was not independently confirmed for this profile. The registry-sourced group summary shown elsewhere on this page reports no linkage data at all for this company; that understates the position, since M&T Bank Corporation does have verified bank subsidiaries, as set out above.
Sources
- Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Approval of proposal by M&T Bank Corporation and Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company, 26 April 2011 — https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/pressreleases/orders20110426a.htm
- M&T Bank Corporation, Form 10-K (FY2012), SEC EDGAR — https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0000036270/000119312513071824/d440871d10k.htm
- M&T Bank Corporation, M&T Bank Corporation Completes Acquisition of People’s United Financial, Inc., 2 April 2022 — https://newsroom.mtb.com/2022-04-02-M-T-Bank-Corporation-Completes-Acquisition-of-Peoples-United-Financial,-Inc
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does M&T BANK CORPORATION do?
M&T Bank Corporation is a New York-based bank holding and financial holding company. Through its bank subsidiary M&T Bank and its trust subsidiary Wilmington Trust, National Association, it provides retail and commercial banking, business and corporate lending, mortgage banking, insurance, wealth management, trust and estate administration, and capital-markets services, mainly across the northeastern and Mid-Atlantic United States and, since 2022, New England.
Who owns M&T BANK CORPORATION?
M&T Bank Corporation is a publicly traded company on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker MTB, and does not have a private shareholder register. Institutional investors that cross the 5 percent ownership threshold must disclose their stakes to the SEC; the largest identified are FMR LLC, Vanguard-affiliated fund managers, and BlackRock, Inc., each holding roughly 5 to 9 percent as passive investors, based on their most recent Schedule 13G filings.
Who is M&T BANK CORPORATION's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
No natural-person Ultimate Beneficial Owner is identified for M&T Bank Corporation. As a widely held, publicly traded company, its disclosed shareholders are investment managers and fund complexes rather than individuals, so no single persons effective ownership can be established from public filings.
What is M&T BANK CORPORATION's company registration number?
M&T BANK CORPORATION's registration number is 10253770, filed with New York Department of State — Division of Corporations in United States. Its current status on the register is active.
Is M&T BANK CORPORATION still an active company?
M&T BANK CORPORATION's status on New York Department of State — Division of Corporations is listed as active.
When was M&T BANK CORPORATION incorporated?
M&T BANK CORPORATION was incorporated on 1 January 1956, according to New York Department of State — Division of Corporations.
What is M&T BANK CORPORATION's registered address?
The registered address on file for M&T BANK CORPORATION is Buffalo, United States.
What legal structure is M&T BANK CORPORATION registered as?
M&T BANK CORPORATION is registered as a Public Limited Company in United States.
Who are the officers/directors of M&T BANK CORPORATION?
René F. Jones is Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of M&T Bank Corporation. Other current senior executive officers, per the company's most recent proxy statement and public announcements, include Daryl N. Bible as Chief Financial Officer, Kevin J. Pearson as Vice Chairman, and several Senior Executive Vice Presidents responsible for functions such as legal, risk, technology, and commercial banking.
Does M&T BANK CORPORATION have a parent company or subsidiaries?
M&T Bank Corporation has no identified parent company and is the ultimate parent of its group. Its verified bank subsidiaries are M&T Bank (Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company) and Wilmington Trust, National Association, both described in company disclosures as wholly owned.
Can Zavia monitor changes to M&T BANK CORPORATION's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from New York Department of State — Division of Corporations. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to M&T BANK CORPORATION's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access M&T BANK CORPORATION's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United States, so records like M&T BANK CORPORATION's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from New York Department of State — Division of Corporations and was last synced on 9 September 2026.