SAFESTAY PLC
SAFESTAY PLC is a public limited company registered in England and Wales under company number 08866498, incorporated on 29 January 2014. Its registered office is at 1a Kingsley Way, London, N2 0FW, and its Companies House status is Active. The company’s principal business activity, recorded under SIC code 55202, is the operation of youth hostels.
Safestay plc is admitted to trading on the AIM market of the London Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol SSTY. Through its operating subsidiaries, the group develops and runs a portfolio of branded hostels, and more recently one hotel, offering guests private and shared rooms together with ancillary food, beverage and merchandise sales. Venues trade in destination cities across the UK, including London, Edinburgh and York, and in further European locations including Spain, Portugal, Italy, Germany, Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Hungary.
For the financial year ended 31 December 2024, Safestay plc reported group revenue of £23.0 million (2023: £22.5 million), a 2% increase, with adjusted EBITDA of £6.5 million (2023: £6.8 million), as set out in its Final Results announcement dated 23 June 2025. Total bed nights sold rose 10% to 931,688 (2023: 848,633), with occupancy strengthening to 75.2% (2023: 71.4%).
In July 2026, Safestay plc entered a formal offer period after confirming talks with Infill Capital Partners, acting through Lume HoldCo S.à r.l., over a possible £40.9 million take-private acquisition. Infill Capital Partners announced on 14 July 2026 that it did not intend to make an offer, ending the offer period; Safestay plc’s share price fell sharply following that announcement.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
1
Shareholders of Safestay plc
Safestay plc is admitted to trading on the AIM market of the London Stock Exchange, and its shareholder disclosure reflects only the holdings that cross the 3% notification threshold under the AIM Rules, rather than a complete shareholder register. Disclosure for this company is therefore Major shareholders only.
Company filings identify Pyrrho Investments Limited as Safestay plc’s largest shareholder; available company sources confirm this status but do not state a current exact percentage, so no figure is given here. A further disclosed major shareholder is Peter Leslie Squire, who notified the company on 10 May 2024 that his holding had increased to 4.00% (2,600,000 voting rights), up from a previously notified 3.08%, with the relevant threshold crossed on 13 March 2024.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
No ultimate beneficial owner can be reliably identified. Safestay plc’s Companies House persons-with-significant-control register records no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity, per a statement filed on 7 August 2017.
Data availability
Shareholder and UBO information for Safestay plc is Major shareholders only: PSC filings show no individual with significant control, and public disclosure is limited to major-holder notifications filed under the AIM Rules rather than a complete shareholder register.
Sources
- Companies House, SAFESTAY PLC persons with significant control, https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08866498/persons-with-significant-control, notified 7 August 2017, retrieved 18 September 2026
- Safestay plc company announcements, https://www.safestay.com/announcements/, TR-1 notification 10 May 2024, retrieved 18 September 2026
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| LOUISE TALTY | 100% | Companies House |
Officers
5
Directors and officers of Safestay plc
Companies House records 7 active officers and 16 resigned officers for Safestay plc as at 18 September 2026. The current board comprises five directors — Larry Glenn Lipman (appointed 29 January 2014), Michael Barry Hirst OBE (appointed 4 May 2017), Paul David Cummins (appointed 13 September 2018), Peter Zielke (appointed 1 February 2023) and Sarah Katie Whiddett (appointed 20 March 2023) — together with Carlos Salas Dual, who holds both a directorship and the company secretary role, each appointed 30 June 2025. Nationality is officially disclosed as British for Lipman, Hirst, Cummins and Whiddett, and German for Zielke and Spanish for Salas Dual; all seven are recorded as resident in England. These are correspondence-address and register details as currently filed with Companies House.
Recent officer changes
- Carlos Salas Dual appointed Director and Company Secretary, effective 30 June 2025 (Companies House).
- Sarah Katie Whiddett appointed Director, effective 20 March 2023 (Companies House).
- Peter Zielke appointed Director, effective 1 February 2023 (Companies House).
Data availability
Officer information for Safestay plc is Full: Companies House publishes current and historical appointment records, including officially disclosed nationality and country of residence for natural-person officers. Occupation is not separately reported for all appointees in the register.
Sources
- Companies House, SAFESTAY PLC officers, https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08866498/officers, retrieved 18 September 2026
Group Structure
Group structure of Safestay plc
Safestay plc is the parent of a group of hostel-operating companies rather than an independent single-site business. Companies House confirms, through each subsidiary’s own persons-with-significant-control filing, that Safestay plc holds 75% or more of the shares of Safestay (York) Limited (09015227, England & Wales, notified 6 April 2016) and Safestay (Elephant & Castle) Limited (07550725, England & Wales, notified 22 March 2017). Safestay plc’s own investor disclosures describe a wider network of hostel-operating subsidiaries across Spain, Portugal, Italy, Germany, Austria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Hungary, in addition to further UK entities; these additional relationships have not been independently re-verified against each entity’s own national registry in this review and are not presented as verified below.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Safestay (York) Limited | GB | 09015227 | Direct subsidiary | 75%+ (share ownership) | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Safestay (Elephant & Castle) Limited | GB | 07550725 | Direct subsidiary | 75%+ (share ownership) | Active | 22 March 2017 |
Recent structural changes
- Safestay (Elephant & Castle) Limited: controlling interest transferred from Mrefii White Property Ltd (Jersey, company number 107674) to Safestay plc, effective 22 March 2017 (Companies House PSC filing).
Data availability
Corporate-linkage information for Safestay plc is Partial: independent PSC filings confirm two direct UK subsidiaries, while the company’s broader multi-country hostel portfolio, as described in its own investor materials, has not been individually cross-checked against each country’s registry in this review.
Sources
- Companies House, SAFESTAY (YORK) LIMITED persons with significant control, https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09015227/persons-with-significant-control, notified 6 April 2016, retrieved 18 September 2026
- Companies House, SAFESTAY (ELEPHANT & CASTLE) LIMITED persons with significant control, https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07550725/persons-with-significant-control, notified 22 March 2017, retrieved 18 September 2026
SAFESTAY PLC
United Kingdom
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does SAFESTAY PLC do?
Operates a portfolio of branded hostels, and one hotel, across the UK and continental Europe; SIC 55202 Youth hostels.
Who owns SAFESTAY PLC?
Major-holder disclosure only; Pyrrho Investments Limited is the largest shareholder (percentage not disclosed); Peter Leslie Squire held 4.00% as notified 10 May 2024.
Who is SAFESTAY PLC's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
No PSC registered; Companies House statement filed 7 Aug 2017 confirms no registrable person of significant control.
What is SAFESTAY PLC's company registration number?
SAFESTAY PLC's registration number is 08866498, filed with Companies House in United Kingdom. Its current status on the register is active.
Is SAFESTAY PLC still an active company?
SAFESTAY PLC's status on Companies House is listed as active.
When was SAFESTAY PLC incorporated?
SAFESTAY PLC was incorporated on 29 January 2014, according to Companies House.
What is SAFESTAY PLC's registered address?
The registered address on file for SAFESTAY PLC is London, United Kingdom.
What legal structure is SAFESTAY PLC registered as?
SAFESTAY PLC is registered as a Public Limited Company in United Kingdom.
What is SAFESTAY PLC's revenue?
FY2024 group revenue £23.0m (2023: £22.5m), adjusted EBITDA £6.5m, per Final Results dated 23 Jun 2025.
Is SAFESTAY PLC listed on a stock exchange?
AIM market, London Stock Exchange, ticker SSTY.
Who are the officers/directors of SAFESTAY PLC?
7 active officers (5 directors plus 1 director/secretary dual role) per Companies House as at 18 Sep 2026; 16 resigned officers on record.
Does SAFESTAY PLC have a parent company or subsidiaries?
Parent of a hostel-operating group; 2 UK subsidiaries independently verified via Companies House PSC filings (Safestay (York) Ltd, Safestay (Elephant & Castle) Ltd); wider European subsidiary network per company disclosure not independently re-verified.
Can Zavia monitor changes to SAFESTAY PLC's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies House. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to SAFESTAY PLC's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access SAFESTAY PLC's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United Kingdom, so records like SAFESTAY PLC's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Companies House and was last synced on 18 September 2026.