Skip links
Companies
› United States › SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.
SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. logo

SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.

Active

in

Registration No.
3211725
Incorporation Date
2009-06-23
Company Type
Not disclosed
Address
SANTA CLARA, United States
Website
www.shockwavemedical.com/
Source: California Secretary of State — bizfile Online

Shockwave Medical, Inc. is a Delaware corporation founded in 2009 and headquartered at 5403 Betsy Ross Drive, Santa Clara, California, 95054. The company is also registered with the California Secretary of State (entity number 3211725) in connection with its California operations. Shockwave Medical developed and commercialized intravascular lithotripsy (IVL) systems, a catheter-based technology that uses sonic pressure waves to fracture calcified plaque in coronary and peripheral arteries prior to angioplasty and stenting, treating patients with severe arterial calcification.

Until May 2024, Shockwave Medical was an independent, publicly traded medical device company listed on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the ticker symbol SWAV. On April 5, 2024, Johnson & Johnson announced a definitive agreement to acquire Shockwave Medical for $335.00 per share in an all-cash transaction valuing the company at an enterprise value of approximately $13.1 billion. The acquisition was completed on May 31, 2024, through a reverse triangular merger in which Sweep Merger Sub, Inc., a Delaware corporation and wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson, merged with and into Shockwave Medical, Inc., with Shockwave Medical continuing as the surviving corporation.

Following completion of the merger, Shockwave Medical’s common stock ceased trading on Nasdaq, and the company filed a Form 15-12G with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission on June 10, 2024, terminating the registration of its common stock under Section 12(g) of the Securities Exchange Act. Shockwave Medical, Inc. is now a wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson and operates as a business unit within Johnson & Johnson MedTech. In its last full quarter as a public company, Shockwave Medical reported revenue of $218.8 million for the three months ended March 31, 2024, up 36% from $161.1 million in the same period of 2023.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including California Secretary of State — bizfile Online.

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

5

Shareholders of Shockwave Medical, Inc.

Shockwave Medical, Inc. was a Nasdaq-listed company (SWAV) until May 31, 2024, when Johnson & Johnson completed its acquisition of all outstanding shares for $335.00 per share in cash. As a result, the historical institutional shareholder base recorded prior to that date (including index and asset-management funds that held reportable positions while the stock traded publicly) no longer reflects current ownership and is not reproduced here, since it predates the change of control. Following completion of the merger, Shockwave Medical, Inc. became a wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson, and its common stock is no longer publicly traded. The company filed a Form 15-12G with the SEC on June 10, 2024, terminating its Exchange Act registration, after which it ceased to have public reporting obligations, including routine beneficial-ownership disclosures. The most recent ownership-related filing identified is a Schedule 13G/A dated July 10, 2024, filed in connection with the wind-down of public reporting.

Data availability

Current shareholder information for Shockwave Medical, Inc. is Not public: since the company was taken private in the Johnson & Johnson merger and deregistered its securities, it is no longer subject to the periodic beneficial-ownership disclosure requirements that applied when its shares traded on Nasdaq, and no post-acquisition shareholder register is publicly available.

Sources

  • Johnson & Johnson, "Johnson & Johnson Completes Acquisition of Shockwave Medical" (press release, May 31, 2024) – https://www.jnj.com/media-center/press-releases/johnson-johnson-completes-acquisition-of-shockwave-medical – retrieved 2026-09-17
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR filing history for Shockwave Medical, Inc. (CIK 0001642545), Form 15-12G filed June 10, 2024 – https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001642545 – retrieved 2026-09-17

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with California Secretary of State — bizfile Online, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Shareholder Type Holding Source Document
Blackrock Inc. 15.8% California Secretary of State — bizfile Online
iShares Core S&P Midcap ETF 5% California Secretary of State — bizfile Online
Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund 5% California Secretary of State — bizfile Online
Vanguard Small-Cap Index Fund 4.1% California Secretary of State — bizfile Online
Invesco Ltd. 3.4% California Secretary of State — bizfile Online

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

15

Directors and officers of Shockwave Medical, Inc.

The officer and director records available for Shockwave Medical, Inc. reflect its executive leadership while it was still an independent, Nasdaq-listed company, prior to the completion of the Johnson & Johnson acquisition on May 31, 2024. Among the individuals most recently disclosed in that period, Isaac Zacharias was identified as Chief Executive Officer, having previously served as President and Chief Commercial Officer. Other individuals associated with the company in prior disclosures include a Vice President of Investor Relations and a Founder and Senior Advisor. None of these records carry a disclosed nationality; only a country of residence or correspondence address (United States) appears in the available data, and residence should not be read as evidence of nationality.

As a result of the merger, Sweep Merger Sub, Inc. (a Delaware corporation formed by Johnson & Johnson) merged with and into Shockwave Medical, Inc., which continued as the surviving corporation and a wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson. Transactions of this kind typically involve the replacement of the target company’s board of directors with designees of the acquirer at closing; however, no primary source confirming the specific post-closing directors or officers of Shockwave Medical, Inc. was identified, since the company deregistered its securities on June 10, 2024, and is no longer subject to public officer-disclosure requirements.

Data availability

Officer information for Shockwave Medical, Inc. is Historical: the available records describe the executive team as it existed before the May 31, 2024 change of control, and no verified source confirms the company’s current directors or officers following the Johnson & Johnson acquisition. Nationality is not disclosed in any available source for any individual associated with the company.

Sources

  • Johnson & Johnson, "Johnson & Johnson Completes Acquisition of Shockwave Medical" (press release, May 31, 2024) – https://www.jnj.com/media-center/press-releases/johnson-johnson-completes-acquisition-of-shockwave-medical – retrieved 2026-09-17
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR filing history for Shockwave Medical, Inc. (CIK 0001642545) – https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001642545 – retrieved 2026-09-17

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with California Secretary of State — bizfile Online, including entries the profile above does not cover.

DE
Douglas E. Godshall M.b.a. ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
President, Ceo & Director

IZ
Isaac Zacharias ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Chief Executive Officer

IZ
Isaac Zacharias ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
President & Chief Commercial Officer

DK
Debbie Kaster ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Vice President Of Investor Relations

DH
Daniel Hawkins ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Founder And Senior Advisor

LM
Luis Morales ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Senior Vice President Of Global Operations

1C
1505 Corporation C T Corporation System ACTIVE ENTITY

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Agent

CT
C T Corporation System ACTIVE ENTITY

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Agent

JM
John M. Adams ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Co-founder And Technical Advisor

RM
Renee M. Gaeta ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Chief Financial Officer

RF
Robert Fletcher ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Senior Vice President Of Marketing & Market Access

TP
Trinh Phung Bognanno ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Chief Financial Officer

TP
Trinh Phung ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Chief Accounting Officer, Principal Accounting Officer & Vp Of Finance

HT
Hajime Tada J.d. ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
General Counsel & Secretary

JB
Jason Bedell ACTIVE

Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Secretary

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Group structure of Shockwave Medical, Inc.

Shockwave Medical, Inc. is not an independent company. Since May 31, 2024, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson (NYSE: JNJ), a publicly traded New Jersey-based healthcare company. The relationship was established when Sweep Merger Sub, Inc., a Delaware corporation formed by Johnson & Johnson solely to carry out the transaction, merged with and into Shockwave Medical, Inc., with Shockwave Medical continuing as the surviving corporation. Johnson & Johnson acquired all outstanding shares of Shockwave Medical for $335.00 per share in cash, an enterprise value of approximately $13.1 billion. No source reviewed identifies an intermediate holding company between Johnson & Johnson and Shockwave Medical, Inc., so the immediate and ultimate parent are treated here as the same entity, Johnson & Johnson, pending confirmation of any intermediate holding structure. No verified direct or indirect subsidiaries of Shockwave Medical, Inc. itself were identified. The information below reflects the merger’s effective date of May 31, 2024.

Verified corporate relationships

Entity Country Registration number Relationship Ownership Status Information date
Johnson & Johnson United States (New Jersey) Not disclosed in sources reviewed Ultimate/immediate parent 100% (all outstanding shares acquired for cash) Active 2024-05-31

Recent structural changes

  • Acquisition: Johnson & Johnson completed its acquisition of Shockwave Medical, Inc. on May 31, 2024, for $335.00 per share in cash (source: J&J press release, May 31, 2024).
  • Deregistration: Shockwave Medical, Inc. filed a Form 15-12G with the SEC on June 10, 2024, terminating registration of its common stock following the change of control (source: SEC EDGAR).
  • Reorganization: Shockwave Medical now operates as a business unit within Johnson & Johnson MedTech rather than as a standalone public company (source: J&J press release, May 31, 2024).

Data availability

Group-structure information for Shockwave Medical, Inc. is Parent only: the immediate and ultimate parent, Johnson & Johnson, is verified through primary sources, but no subsidiaries, sister companies or intermediate holding entities of Shockwave Medical, Inc. were identified in the sources reviewed.

Sources

  • Johnson & Johnson, "Johnson & Johnson Completes Acquisition of Shockwave Medical" (press release, May 31, 2024) – https://www.jnj.com/media-center/press-releases/johnson-johnson-completes-acquisition-of-shockwave-medical – retrieved 2026-09-17
  • U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR filing history for Shockwave Medical, Inc. (CIK 0001642545), Form 15-12G filed June 10, 2024 – https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001642545 – retrieved 2026-09-17
Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. do?

Shockwave Medical, Inc. is a Delaware-incorporated medical device company, founded in 2009 and based in Santa Clara, California, that developed intravascular lithotripsy (IVL) systems used to treat calcified plaque in coronary and peripheral arteries. Since May 31, 2024 it has operated as a wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson within Johnson & Johnson MedTech, rather than as an independent company.

Who owns SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.?

Shockwave Medical, Inc. has no current publicly disclosed shareholders. Its pre-acquisition institutional shareholder base is no longer applicable following the May 31, 2024 change of control. Since that date it has been wholly owned by Johnson & Johnson, and the company's deregistration from SEC reporting means no post-acquisition shareholder register is publicly available.

Who is SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?

No individual ultimate beneficial owner has been identified for Shockwave Medical, Inc. Its ultimate parent, Johnson & Johnson (NYSE: JNJ), is itself a publicly traded company with a dispersed shareholder base, so no natural-person UBO can be verified or calculated from the available ownership chain.

What is SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s company registration number?

SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s registration number is 3211725, filed with California Secretary of State — bizfile Online in United States. Its current status on the register is active.

Is SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. still an active company?

SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s status on California Secretary of State — bizfile Online is listed as active.

When was SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. incorporated?

SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. was incorporated on 23 June 2009, according to California Secretary of State — bizfile Online.

What is SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s registered address?

The registered address on file for SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. is SANTA CLARA, United States.

What is SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s revenue?

In its last full quarter as an independent public company, Shockwave Medical reported revenue of $218.8 million for the three months ended March 31, 2024, up 36% from $161.1 million in the same period of 2023 (source: SEC filing exhibit, Q1 2024 earnings release). No consolidated post-acquisition revenue figures specific to Shockwave Medical, Inc. as a Johnson & Johnson business unit were identified.

Is SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. listed on a stock exchange?

Shockwave Medical, Inc. was formerly listed on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the ticker symbol SWAV. Following completion of the Johnson & Johnson acquisition, its common stock ceased trading on Nasdaq on May 31, 2024, and the company filed a Form 15-12G with the SEC on June 10, 2024, terminating its Exchange Act registration. Shockwave Medical, Inc. is not currently listed on any stock exchange.

Who are the officers/directors of SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.?

Available officer records for Shockwave Medical, Inc. are historical and predate the May 31, 2024 change of control, most recently naming Isaac Zacharias as Chief Executive Officer. No verified primary source confirms the company's current directors or officers following the Johnson & Johnson acquisition and subsequent SEC deregistration.

Does SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC. have a parent company or subsidiaries?

Shockwave Medical, Inc. has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Johnson & Johnson (NYSE: JNJ) since May 31, 2024, when Sweep Merger Sub, Inc., a Delaware corporation formed by Johnson & Johnson, merged with and into Shockwave Medical, Inc. for $335.00 per share in cash (approximately $13.1 billion enterprise value). It now operates as a business unit within Johnson & Johnson MedTech.

Can Zavia monitor changes to SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s ownership over time?

This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from California Secretary of State — bizfile Online. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.

Can I access SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s data through an API?

Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United States, so records like SHOCKWAVE MEDICAL, INC.'s registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.

Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?

This record is sourced directly from California Secretary of State — bizfile Online and was last synced on 17 September 2026.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.