Skip links
Companies
› United Kingdom › TESCO PLC
TESCO PLC logo

TESCO PLC

Public Limited Company Active

in

Registration No.
00445790
Incorporation Date
1947-11-27
Company Type
Public Limited Company
Address
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Website
tesco.com/
Source: Companies House

Tesco PLC is a public limited company registered in England and Wales under company number 00445790, incorporated on 27 November 1947. Its registered office is Tesco House, Shire Park, Kestrel Way, Welwyn Garden City, AL7 1GA, and its status with Companies House is active.

Tesco PLC operates as a grocery retailer, classified under UK Standard Industrial Classification code 47110 (retail sale in non-specialised stores with food, beverages or tobacco predominating). The group trades through supermarkets, convenience stores, and an online grocery and general merchandise business. For the 2024/25 financial year (ended February 2025), Tesco PLC reported group revenue of £69.92 billion, an increase of 3.0% at constant exchange rates including a 6.3% decline in fuel sales, with UK and Republic of Ireland profit reported at £2.74 billion.

Tesco PLC's grocery operations are concentrated in the United Kingdom, with further operations in the Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary. Its ordinary shares are listed on the London Stock Exchange under the ticker TSCO and are a constituent of the FTSE 100 index.

Two material recent developments: Tesco Personal Finance plc's retail banking business — including credit cards, unsecured personal loans and deposit balances — was sold to Barclays Bank UK PLC, completing on 1 November 2024; Tesco continues to license the Tesco Bank brand and Clubcard proposition to Barclays under a long-term partnership rather than operating retail banking as a subsidiary going forward. Separately, Tesco PLC has an active £750 million share buyback programme, commenced April 2026 and authorised at its 2026 AGM.

Company-wide headcount for 2025 was not confirmed against Tesco PLC's own annual report in this research (third-party workforce data sources gave conflicting figures) and is not stated here.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including Companies House.

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

1

Tesco PLC’s shareholder base is dispersed among institutional investors, who together held approximately 82% of the company’s issued share capital as of 30 June 2025. The largest disclosed holder is BlackRock, Inc., with approximately 9.0% of shares outstanding, followed by The Vanguard Group, Inc. at approximately 5.30%, FIL Investment Advisors (UK) Ltd. at approximately 3.51%, Norges Bank Investment Management at approximately 3.37%, and BlackRock Fund Advisors at approximately 2.93%. These figures come from third-party fund-holdings aggregation rather than individual FCA major-shareholding (DTR5) notifications verified directly for this profile. The top 24 disclosed shareholders together accounted for around 51% of ownership as of the same date.

Ultimate beneficial ownership

No individual has been identified as an ultimate beneficial owner of Tesco PLC in this research. As a widely held, listed public company with dispersed institutional ownership (no single holder above roughly 9%), Tesco PLC does not have a UBO in the sense used for privately held companies. Companies subject to UK DTR5 transparency rules on a regulated market are typically exempt from maintaining a PSC register; this exemption was not independently re-confirmed against Tesco PLC’s own PSC filing in this research.

Data availability

Shareholder information for Tesco PLC is classified as Major shareholders only — large institutional holders are disclosed via regulatory thresholds and third-party fund-tracking data, but the register’s complete shareholder base is not reproduced here.

Sources

  • Companies House — TESCO PLC overview, retrieved 2026
  • Simply Wall St — institutional ownership summary, data as of 30 June 2025

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies House, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Shareholder Type Holding Source Document
UNDISCLOSED 94.8% Companies House

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

68

Companies House records ten active directors and one active company secretary for Tesco PLC, alongside a substantial history of past appointments (74 officer records in total, including 63 resignations). The board is chaired by Gerard Martin Murphy (appointed as a director 1 September 2023) and includes Group Chief Executive Ken Murphy (appointed 1 October 2020) and Group Chief Financial Officer Imran Nawaz (appointed 1 May 2021), alongside non-executive directors Melissa Bethell, Bertrand Bodson, Carolyn Fairbairn, Stewart Gilliland, Christopher Kennedy, Caroline Silver and Karen Whitworth. Christopher Taylor was appointed Company Secretary on 14 April 2025. The Chairman, Group CEO and Group CFO titles are sourced from Tesco PLC’s own governance materials rather than the Companies House statutory role field, which records each of them simply as “Director.”

Recent officer changes

  • Christopher Kennedy — appointed Director, 20 February 2025.
  • Christopher Taylor — appointed Company Secretary, 14 April 2025, replacing Sara Thomson (resigned the same date).
  • Robert John Welch — resigned as Company Secretary, 17 December 2024.

Data availability

Officer information for Tesco PLC is classified as Full: Companies House publishes current and historical officer appointments with appointment/resignation dates, plus nationality and country of residence for natural-person officers. The correspondence address shown is the company’s registered office, not a residential address. Full dates of birth are not published by Companies House beyond month and year and are not reproduced here.

Sources

  • Companies House — TESCO PLC officers, retrieved 2026
  • Tesco PLC — Board of Directors

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies House, including entries the profile above does not cover.

SG
Stewart Gilliland ACTIVE

Appointed
2018-03-05
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

MB
Melissa Bethell ACTIVE

Appointed
2018-09-24
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

KM
Ken Murphy ACTIVE

Appointed
2020-10-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

IN
Imran Nawaz ACTIVE

Appointed
2021-05-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

BB
Bertrand Bodson ACTIVE

Appointed
2021-06-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

KW
Karen Whitworth ACTIVE

Appointed
2021-06-18
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

CS
Caroline Silver ACTIVE

Appointed
2022-10-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

GM
Gerard Murphy ACTIVE

Appointed
2023-09-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

CF
Carolyn Fairbairn ACTIVE

Appointed
2023-09-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

CK
Christopher Kennedy ACTIVE

Appointed
2025-02-20
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

CT
Christopher Taylor ACTIVE

Appointed
2025-04-14
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

FK
Francis Krejsa RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-06-07
Resigned
1993-03-31
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

DT
Dennis Tuffin RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-06-07
Resigned
1994-05-20
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

MD
Michael Darnell RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-06-07
Resigned
1994-05-20
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JG
John Gildersleeve RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-06-07
Resigned
2004-02-27
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

DO
Detta O'Cathain RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-07-16
Resigned
2000-06-15
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JG
John Gardiner RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-10-08
Resigned
2004-04-02
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JW
John Wemms RESIGNED

Appointed
1991-12-01
Resigned
2000-06-15
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

MJ
Miah Jones RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-01-14
Resigned
1998-06-11
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

IM
Ian MacLaurin RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-06-07
Resigned
1997-06-06
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

DR
David Reid RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-06-07
Resigned
2003-12-31
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

RA
Rowley Ager RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-10-05
Resigned
2004-02-27
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

TL
Terence Leahy RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-10-05
Resigned
2011-03-02
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JP
John Padovan RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-10-12
Resigned
1994-05-20
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

VB
Victor Benjamin RESIGNED

Appointed
1992-10-16
Resigned
1996-06-07
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

GP
Graham Pimlott RESIGNED

Appointed
1993-03-01
Resigned
2005-05-23
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

TM
Timothy Mason RESIGNED

Appointed
1995-02-06
Resigned
2012-12-06
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

LJ
Lesley James RESIGNED

Appointed
1995-02-06
Resigned
1999-04-30
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JM
John Melbourn RESIGNED

Appointed
1996-04-15
Resigned
2002-06-14
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

AH
Andrew Higginson RESIGNED

Appointed
1997-11-17
Resigned
2012-09-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

DP
David Potts RESIGNED

Appointed
1998-11-16
Resigned
2011-12-07
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

PC
Philip Clarke RESIGNED

Appointed
1998-11-16
Resigned
2014-09-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

CL
Charles Lamb Allen RESIGNED

Appointed
1999-02-19
Resigned
2010-07-02
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

HE
Harald Einsmann RESIGNED

Appointed
1999-04-01
Resigned
2010-07-02
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

VM
Veronique Morali RESIGNED

Appointed
2000-09-18
Resigned
2005-02-28
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

RC
Rodney Chase RESIGNED

Appointed
2002-07-01
Resigned
2010-07-02
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

ED
Evan Davies RESIGNED

Appointed
2003-07-07
Resigned
2008-10-31
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

KH
Kenneth Hydon RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-02-23
Resigned
2013-02-23
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

RB
Richard Brasher RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-03-15
Resigned
2012-03-15
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

KC
Karen Cook RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-10-01
Resigned
2013-02-23
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

CM
Carolyn McCall RESIGNED

Appointed
2005-03-01
Resigned
2008-04-10
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JT
Jacqueline Tammenoms Bakker RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-01-01
Resigned
2015-02-28
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

LM
Laurence McIlwee RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-01-27
Resigned
2014-04-04
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

PC
Patrick Cescau RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-02-01
Resigned
2015-04-07
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

KH
Kenneth Hanna RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-04-01
Resigned
2015-06-26
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

GB
Gareth Bullock RESIGNED

Appointed
2010-07-02
Resigned
2015-03-05
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

SC
Stuart Chambers RESIGNED

Appointed
2010-07-02
Resigned
2015-06-26
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

RB
Richard Broadbent RESIGNED

Appointed
2011-07-02
Resigned
2015-03-01
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

DO
Deanna Oppenheimer RESIGNED

Appointed
2012-03-01
Resigned
2021-06-25
Residence
🇺🇸 United States
Occupation
Director

OG
Olivia Garfield RESIGNED

Appointed
2013-04-01
Resigned
2015-02-28
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

MA
Mark Armour RESIGNED

Appointed
2013-09-02
Resigned
2021-06-25
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

DL
David Lewis RESIGNED

Appointed
2014-09-01
Resigned
2020-09-30
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

AS
Alan Stewart RESIGNED

Appointed
2014-09-23
Resigned
2021-04-30
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

AO
Anders Olsson RESIGNED

Appointed
2014-11-01
Resigned
2021-06-25
Residence
🇳🇱 Netherlands
Occupation
Director

RC
Richard Cousins RESIGNED

Appointed
2014-11-01
Resigned
2017-01-03
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

JA
John Allan RESIGNED

Appointed
2015-03-01
Resigned
2023-06-16
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

BG
Byron Grote RESIGNED

Appointed
2015-05-01
Resigned
2024-06-14
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

SP
Simon Patterson RESIGNED

Appointed
2016-04-01
Resigned
2022-06-17
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

LP
Lindsey Pownall RESIGNED

Appointed
2016-04-01
Resigned
2023-06-16
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

EP
Elizabeth Platt RESIGNED

Appointed
2016-04-01
Resigned
2025-06-12
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

SG
Stephen Golsby RESIGNED

Appointed
2016-10-01
Resigned
2022-06-17
Residence
🇹🇭 Thailand
Occupation
Director

CW
Charles Wilson RESIGNED

Appointed
2018-03-05
Resigned
2018-07-16
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

TG
Thierry Garnier RESIGNED

Appointed
2021-04-30
Resigned
2026-05-06
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Director

LN
Lucy Neville-rolfe RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-03-15
Resigned
2006-12-14
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

PM
Paul Moore RESIGNED

Appointed
2015-01-12
Resigned
2016-06-30
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

DL
Darren Lennark RESIGNED

Appointed
2016-07-01
Resigned
2016-08-10
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

RW
Robert Welch RESIGNED

Appointed
2016-08-10
Resigned
2024-12-17
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

ST
Sara Thomson RESIGNED

Appointed
2024-12-17
Resigned
2025-04-14
Residence
🇬🇧 United Kingdom
Occupation
Company Secretary

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Tesco PLC is the ultimate parent company of the Tesco group; it is not itself a subsidiary of another company. Its principal UK trading subsidiary is Tesco Stores Limited, which operates the group’s supermarket and convenience-store estate. The group also includes Tesco Ireland Limited (Republic of Ireland grocery operations), Booker Group Limited (wholesale and retail, wholly-owned by Tesco PLC since completion of its acquisition on 5 March 2018), Tesco Mobile (a 50/50 joint venture with Virgin Media O2, not a wholly-owned subsidiary), and dunnhumby (customer-data and loyalty analytics). A significant recent structural change affects Tesco Personal Finance plc (trading as Tesco Bank): its retail banking business — including credit cards, unsecured personal loans and deposit balances — was sold to Barclays Bank UK PLC, completing 1 November 2024; Tesco continues to license the Tesco Bank brand and Clubcard proposition to Barclays under a long-term partnership rather than operating retail banking as a subsidiary going forward. Exact current shareholding percentages for each subsidiary were not independently re-verified against Tesco PLC’s own Section 409 related-undertakings disclosure in this research and are not assumed to be 100%.

Verified corporate relationships

Entity Country Relationship Ownership Status Information date
Tesco Stores Limited United Kingdom Direct subsidiary Not disclosed Active 2026
Tesco Ireland Limited Ireland Subsidiary Not disclosed Active 2026
Booker Group Limited United Kingdom Wholly-owned subsidiary (since 5 March 2018) Not disclosed Active 2026
Tesco Mobile United Kingdom Joint venture (with Virgin Media O2) 50% (reported) Active 2026
Tesco Personal Finance plc (Tesco Bank) United Kingdom Subsidiary — retail banking business divested Not disclosed Retail banking sold; brand licensed to Barclays 1 November 2024

Recent structural changes

  • Sale of Tesco Personal Finance plc’s retail banking business to Barclays Bank UK PLC, completed 1 November 2024, with a long-term brand-licensing partnership continuing.

Data availability

Group-structure information for Tesco PLC is classified as Partial: the parent position and the identity of major subsidiaries and joint ventures are confirmed from official sources, but exact shareholding percentages and registration numbers for individual subsidiaries were not independently re-verified against Tesco PLC’s own Section 409 related-undertakings filing in this research.

Sources

  • Tesco PLC — Related undertakings of the Tesco Group
  • Barclays — Completion of the acquisition of Tesco’s retail banking business
  • Tesco PLC — Tesco completes sale of banking operations to Barclays

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies House, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Ultimate HQ
TESCO PLC
United Kingdom
SPEN HILL PROPERTIES (HOLDINGS) PLC+ subsidiaries
United KingdomGB 02412674

Tesco Fuchsia (2LP) Limited
Cayman IslandsKY 171670

T&S STORES LIMITED+ subsidiaries
United KingdomGB 01228935

TESCO PROPERTY PARTNER (NO.1) LIMITED
United KingdomGB 04945945

TESCO MAURITIUS HOLDINGS LIMITED
Mauritius#0961593900

DUNNHUMBY IT SERVICES INDIA PRIVATE LIMITED
IndiaIN AACCD6863H

ARENA (JERSEY) MANAGEMENT LIMITED
United KingdomGB 90355

TESCO MOBILE COMMUNICATIONS LIMITED+ subsidiaries
United KingdomGB 04780729

+33 more entities

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on TESCO PLC?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does TESCO PLC do?

Tesco PLC operates as a grocery retailer (UK SIC code 47110), trading through supermarkets, convenience stores, and an online grocery and general merchandise business across the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Hungary.

Who owns TESCO PLC?

Tesco PLC's shares are held by a dispersed base of institutional investors rather than a single owner. The largest disclosed holder is BlackRock, Inc. at approximately 9.0%, followed by The Vanguard Group at approximately 5.30%; institutional investors together held around 82% of shares as of 30 June 2025. No single shareholder holds a majority stake.

Who is TESCO PLC's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?

As a widely held, FTSE 100-listed public company with no shareholder above roughly 9%, Tesco PLC does not have an ultimate beneficial owner in the sense used for privately held companies. UK-listed companies are typically exempt from PSC disclosure since equivalent transparency is achieved through capital-markets shareholding-disclosure rules.

What is TESCO PLC's company registration number?

TESCO PLC's registration number is 00445790, filed with Companies House in United Kingdom. Its current status on the register is active.

Is TESCO PLC still an active company?

TESCO PLC's status on Companies House is listed as active.

When was TESCO PLC incorporated?

TESCO PLC was incorporated on 27 November 1947, according to Companies House.

What is TESCO PLC's registered address?

The registered address on file for TESCO PLC is Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom.

What legal structure is TESCO PLC registered as?

TESCO PLC is registered as a Public Limited Company in United Kingdom.

What is TESCO PLC's revenue?

For the 2024/25 financial year (ended February 2025), Tesco PLC reported group revenue of £69.92 billion, an increase of 3.0% at constant exchange rates.

Is TESCO PLC listed on a stock exchange?

Yes. Tesco PLC's ordinary shares are listed on the London Stock Exchange under the ticker TSCO and are a constituent of the FTSE 100 index.

Who are the officers/directors of TESCO PLC?

Tesco PLC's board is chaired by Gerard Martin Murphy, with Ken Murphy as Group Chief Executive and Imran Nawaz as Group Chief Financial Officer, alongside non-executive directors Melissa Bethell, Bertrand Bodson, Carolyn Fairbairn, Stewart Gilliland, Christopher Kennedy, Caroline Silver and Karen Whitworth.

Does TESCO PLC have a parent company or subsidiaries?

Tesco PLC is the ultimate parent of the Tesco group and is not itself a subsidiary of another company. Its principal subsidiaries include Tesco Stores Limited, Tesco Ireland Limited, and Booker Group Limited (wholly-owned since 5 March 2018); Tesco Mobile is a 50/50 joint venture with Virgin Media O2 rather than a wholly-owned subsidiary.

Can Zavia monitor changes to TESCO PLC's ownership over time?

This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies House. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to TESCO PLC's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.

Can I access TESCO PLC's data through an API?

Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United Kingdom, so records like TESCO PLC's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.

Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?

This record is sourced directly from Companies House and was last synced on 20 August 2026.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.