Skip links
Companies
› Germany › BioNTech SE

BioNTech SE

Active

in

Registration No.
HRB 48720 Mainz
Incorporation Date
Not disclosed
Company Type
Not disclosed
Address
Mainz, Germany
Website
www.biontech.de/
Source: Handelsregister (Commercial Register)

BioNTech SE is a registered legal entity registered in Germany under HRB 48720 Mainz, and its current status with Handelsregister (Commercial Register) is active. Its registered address on file is Mainz, Germany. 3 shareholders are on record for BioNTech SE, including at least one natural person recorded as a direct holder; the filing carries no beneficial-ownership flag, so that holder is noted here as a recorded shareholder rather than a confirmed ultimate beneficial owner (UBO). This profile is sourced directly from Handelsregister (Commercial Register) and was last updated on 23 September 2026.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including Handelsregister (Commercial Register).

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

3

Shareholders of BioNTech SE

Three shareholders are currently on record for BioNTech SE, held on the Gesellschafterliste (shareholder list), filed under §40 of the GmbHG. The largest of these is Flossbach von Storch SE, holding 10.4% — the largest recorded stake — followed by iShares Trust-iShares Biotechnology ETF at 1.2%; the remaining 1 shareholder shown holds smaller stakes. 2 shareholders shown are companies, so the ownership chain continues above this level for those holdings; the other 1 is recorded as direct individual holder, though the record carries no UBO/PSC flag confirming beneficial-owner status.

Shareholder Type Holding Source Document
Flossbach von Storch SE 10.4% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)
iShares Trust-iShares Biotechnology ETF 1.2% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)
First Trust NYSE Arca Biotechnology Index Fund 0.9% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

5

Directors and officers of BioNTech SE

One of the 5 officer records shown for BioNTech SE is a current appointment, filed with Handelsregister (Commercial Register). James Timothy Patrick Ryan (appointed 2019-06-11) serves as Aufsichtsratsmitglied (board member). The remaining 4 records shown (Ulrich Luxemburger, Jan Kuerschner and 2 others) are former appointments that have since been resigned. Management authority at BioNTech SE sits with these individuals, not with shareholders, who are covered separately and hold ownership rather than control. The source filing doesn't specify representation authority — whether officers can act individually or must sign jointly to bind the company — so that detail isn't available here.

Data availability

The register reports 41 officers in total, including past appointments, though only the 5 most relevant records are shown here.

JT
James Timothy Patrick Ryan ACTIVE

Appointed
2019-06-11
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Aufsichtsratsmitglied (board member)

UL
Ulrich Luxemburger RESIGNED

Appointed
2008-10-30
Resigned
2008-12-11
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

JK
Jan Kuerschner RESIGNED

Appointed
2019-06-11
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

JH
Jens Hendrik Holstein RESIGNED

Appointed
2021-07-23
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

OH
Oliver Hennig Ph.d. RESIGNED

Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Sr. Vp Of Operations

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Group structure of BioNTech SE

BioNTech SE has no recorded parent company — it sits at the top of its own group structure, with 29 subsidiaries recorded beneath it across 12 jurisdictions. Each of these downward relationships is derived rather than filed: resolved by matching entities across the registry network, not stated directly in a single document.

  • INSTADEEP (Tunisia)
  • BioNTech Diagnostics GmbH (Germany)
  • BioNTech Innovation and Services Marburg GmbH (Germany)
  • BIONTECH PHARMACEUTICALS ASIA PACIFIC PTE. LTD. (Singapore)
  • BioNTech Switzerland GmbH (Switzerland)
  • BioNTech Real Estate Holding GmbH (Germany)
  • INSTADEEP NIGERIA LIMITED (Nigeria)
  • reSano GmbH (Germany)
  • NT Security and Services GmbH (Germany)
  • BioNTech BioNTainer Holding GmbH (Germany)

Data availability

Those 29 subsidiaries span Germany, Tunisia, Singapore, Switzerland, Nigeria, United Kingdom, and 6 more jurisdictions, though this list should not be read as complete — subsidiaries only become visible here where shareholder data has actually been filed with a register, so holdings in jurisdictions without that filing simply won't appear. Five of the 29 go a level deeper still, with their own further subsidiaries recorded beneath them — additional ownership layers this view doesn't expand.

Ultimate HQ
BioNTech SE
Germany
INSTADEEP
TunisiaTN 1347719P

BioNTech Diagnostics GmbH+ subsidiaries
GermanyDE 55116B41988

BioNTech Innovation and Services Marburg GmbH
GermanyDE 35037B7835

BIONTECH PHARMACEUTICALS ASIA PACIFIC PTE. LTD.
SingaporeSG 202033317E

BioNTech Switzerland GmbH
SwitzerlandCH CHE-189.526.416

BioNTech Real Estate Holding GmbH
GermanyDE 55116B52765

INSTADEEP NIGERIA LIMITED
NigeriaNG RC-1563821

reSano GmbH
GermanyDE 55116B48435

+21 more entities

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on BioNTech SE?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who owns BioNTech SE?

Three shareholders are currently on record for BioNTech SE, held on the Gesellschafterliste (shareholder list), filed under §40 of the GmbHG. The largest of these is Flossbach von Storch SE, holding 10.4% — the largest recorded stake — followed by iShares Trust-iShares Biotechnology ETF at 1.2%; the remaining 1 shareholder shown holds smaller stakes. 2 shareholders shown are companies, so the ownership chain continues above this level for those holdings; the other 1 is recorded as direct individual holder, though the record carries no UBO/PSC flag confirming beneficial-owner status.

Who is BioNTech SE's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?

At least one shareholder recorded for BioNTech SE is a natural person. The record carries no dedicated UBO/PSC flag, so that holder is stated here as a recorded shareholder rather than a confirmed Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO).

How many shareholders does BioNTech SE have on record?

3 shareholders are shown on record for BioNTech SE.

What is BioNTech SE's company registration number?

BioNTech SE's registration number is HRB 48720 Mainz, filed with Handelsregister (Commercial Register) in Germany. Its current status on the register is active.

Is BioNTech SE still an active company?

BioNTech SE's status on Handelsregister (Commercial Register) is listed as active.

What is BioNTech SE's registered address?

The registered address on file for BioNTech SE is Mainz, Germany.

Who are the officers/directors of BioNTech SE?

One of the 5 officer records shown for BioNTech SE is a current appointment, filed with Handelsregister (Commercial Register). James Timothy Patrick Ryan (appointed 2019-06-11) serves as Aufsichtsratsmitglied (board member). The remaining 4 records shown (Ulrich Luxemburger, Jan Kuerschner and 2 others) are former appointments that have since been resigned. Management authority at BioNTech SE sits with these individuals, not with shareholders, who are covered separately and hold ownership rather than control.

Does BioNTech SE have a parent company or subsidiaries?

BioNTech SE has no recorded parent company — it sits at the top of its own group structure, with 29 subsidiaries recorded beneath it across 12 jurisdictions. Those 29 subsidiaries span Germany, Tunisia, Singapore, Switzerland, Nigeria, United Kingdom, and 6 more jurisdictions, though this list should not be read as complete — subsidiaries only become visible here where shareholder data has actually been filed with a register, so holdings in jurisdictions without that filing simply won't appear. Five of the 29 go a level deeper still, with their own further subsidiaries recorded beneath them — additional ownership layers this view doesn't expand.

Can Zavia monitor changes to BioNTech SE's ownership over time?

This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Handelsregister (Commercial Register). Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to BioNTech SE's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.

Can I access BioNTech SE's data through an API?

Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Germany, so records like BioNTech SE's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.

Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?

This record is sourced directly from Handelsregister (Commercial Register) and was last synced on 23 September 2026.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.