GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED
Geneva Finance Limited is a New Zealand consumer finance company incorporated on 19 August 2002 under the Companies Act 1993. It is registered with the New Zealand Companies Office as company number 1230526 and carries NZBN 9429036382880. Its status on the register is Registered (active), and its registered office and address for service are in Auckland. The company traded as Geneva Finance Limited from 19 August 2002, was renamed GFNZ Group Limited on 7 April 2011, and reverted to Geneva Finance Limited on 27 June 2016.
The business is consumer lending to New Zealand borrowers. Its published product set covers personal loans, vehicle and motor finance, and debt consolidation lending, together with insurance products distributed alongside its credit contracts. Lending is originated directly and through motor vehicle dealers and brokers, and the group also operates receivables management and collections activity. Operations are conducted in New Zealand and the customers are predominantly retail consumers.
Consumer lending of this kind is regulated in New Zealand under the Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act 2003, and providers of financial services must be recorded on the Financial Service Providers Register maintained by the Companies Office. The register entry is the authoritative source for the specific financial services for which the company is registered, its dispute resolution scheme, and any licence issued by the Financial Markets Authority or the Reserve Bank of New Zealand; those details were not captured for this page and should be confirmed directly on that register.
On listing status, the company’s ordinary shares were quoted on the NZX Main Board under the code GFL. A proposal to leave the NZX Main Board and move to the Unlisted Securities Exchange (USX) was announced on 17 June 2024 and approved by shareholders at a special meeting on 5 July 2024, with 57 per cent of votes cast in favour. The final day of NZX trading was 15 July 2024 and the company was delisted from the NZX Main Board with effect from the close of business on 17 July 2024. The shares are now quoted on USX under the code GFL, so the company is no longer NZX-listed.
For the financial year ended 31 March 2025, the company reported group revenue of NZD 75.6 million, group net profit after tax of NZD 4.5 million, and total group assets of NZD 212.2 million. Audited financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2026 have since been filed on USX; those figures are not reproduced here as they were not verified from the filed statements.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
5
Shareholders of Geneva Finance Limited
The New Zealand Companies Register publishes the share register for Geneva Finance Limited. Total issued capital recorded on the register is 72,935,275 shares, and the register flags the company as one with extensive shareholdings, meaning only the largest parcels are shown publicly. The position below reflects the register as last updated on 30 July 2026.
| Shareholder | Shares | Percentage |
|---|---|---|
| Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited (NZ 3754121) | 51,358,488 | 70.42% |
| Custodial Services Limited | 1,501,641 | 2.06% |
| David Gerard O’Connell, Vivienne Ellen O’Connell and Liston Trustee Services Ltd | 1,146,141 | 1.57% |
| Lynn Barbara King and Ronald Robin King | 1,126,005 | 1.54% |
| Lynn Barbara King and Ronald Robin King (second parcel) | 925,201 | 1.27% |
| Geneva Finance Limited (shares held by the company itself) | 805,286 | 1.10% |
| David William Smale and DW & EM Smale Partnership | 800,000 | 1.10% |
| Austin Herbert Stewart Kyle | 519,115 | 0.71% |
| John G. Webber Limited | 500,000 | 0.69% |
| Clinton Garwin Hartley, Jillian Leah Hartley and SDM Trustee Company | 500,000 | 0.69% |
Only one substantial holder is disclosed: Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited, with 70.42 per cent. No other holder on the published register reaches 5 per cent, and the remaining disclosed parcels are individual and family holdings below 2.1 per cent.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited is itself wholly owned by Federal Pacific Group Limited (New Zealand, company number 593943), which holds all 1,000 of its shares. Control of the 70.42 per cent block therefore traces to Federal Pacific Group Limited. The register does not state whether Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited holds the Geneva Finance shares beneficially or in a nominee capacity for others, and its name does not on its own settle that question. No ultimate holding company is recorded against Geneva Finance Limited on the Companies Register, and no natural person is identified there as the ultimate beneficial owner.
Several of the disclosed parcels are held through trustee arrangements — for example Liston Trustee Services Ltd as a co-holder alongside two named individuals, and SDM Trustee Company alongside two named individuals. A trustee company named on a share register is the legal holder, not the beneficial owner. New Zealand does not publish the beneficiaries of private trusts, so the persons ultimately entitled to those parcels are not disclosed in any public source. Custodial Services Limited holds in a custodial capacity for underlying clients who are not named on the register.
Data availability
The structured record behind this page contained only individual positions in the range of roughly 0.44 per cent to 1.98 per cent — Brent David Fairweather, Lynn Barbara King, David William Smale, Austin Herbert Stewart Kyle and a trustee combination including Liston Trustee Services Ltd. That extract was the tail of the share register and was not representative of ownership: it omitted the controlling 70.42 per cent holding. The figures above supersede it. Percentages are as published by the Companies Register and include shares held by the company itself. New Zealand does not operate a separate public beneficial ownership register, so information on individuals behind nominee, custodial and trustee holdings is not available from official sources.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with New Zealand Companies Office, including entries the profile above does not cover.
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Gerard O`Connell &Vivienne Ellen O`Connell &Liston Trustee Services Ltd | 2% | New Zealand Companies Office | |
| Lynn Barbara KING | 1.8% | New Zealand Companies Office | |
| Austin Herbert Stewart KYLE | 1.4% | New Zealand Companies Office | |
| David William SMALE | 0.7% | New Zealand Companies Office | |
| Brent David FAIRWEATHER | 0.4% | New Zealand Companies Office |
Officers
17
Directors and officers of Geneva Finance Limited
The following directors are recorded as currently in office on the New Zealand Companies Register for company number 1230526.
| Name | Role | Appointed | Nationality |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ronald Robin King | Director | 13 June 2008 | Not disclosed |
| Alan Leighton Maiai Hutchison | Director | 20 November 2013 | Not disclosed |
| Malcolm Cliff Johnston | Director | 11 February 2020 | Not disclosed |
| Laurence Michael Goodman | Director | 13 October 2023 | Not disclosed |
| Harley Edward Aish | Director | 1 December 2023 | Not disclosed |
| Grant Ian Hally | Director | 12 February 2024 | Not disclosed |
Recent officer changes
- David William Smale ceased to be a director on 31 March 2024 (appointed 7 September 2023).
- Grant Ian Hally was appointed a director on 12 February 2024.
- Harley Edward Aish was appointed a director on 1 December 2023.
Data availability
The officer list held for this page was out of date and has been corrected against the register. David Gerard O’Connell was shown as an active director; he was appointed on 19 June 2007 and ceased on 11 August 2023. Alan Leighton Maiai Hutchison, Malcolm Cliff Johnston and Grant Ian Hally were absent from that record and are in office. John Wayne Mandeno was a director from 19 August 2002 to 27 August 2003, as previously recorded.
The New Zealand register publishes directors’ residential addresses; those are deliberately not reproduced here. The register does not publish directors’ dates of birth, nationality or citizenship, so nationality is shown as not disclosed rather than inferred. New Zealand company law requires at least one director resident in New Zealand or in an enforcement country; which individual satisfies that requirement is not separately published. Senior management below board level is not recorded on the Companies Register.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with New Zealand Companies Office, including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Group structure of Geneva Finance Limited
The relationships below are taken from the New Zealand Companies Register share registers of the entities concerned.
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Geneva Finance Limited | New Zealand | 1230526 (NZBN 9429036382880) | Subject company | — | 30 July 2026 |
| Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited | New Zealand | 3754121 | Immediate majority shareholder of record | 51,358,488 shares, 70.42% | 30 July 2026 |
| Federal Pacific Group Limited | New Zealand | 593943 | Sole shareholder of Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited; ultimate controlling entity of the chain | 1,000 shares, 100% of the nominee company | 28 November 2025 |
On the capacity of the intermediate company: Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited is the registered holder of the 70.42 per cent block, and it is in turn wholly owned by Federal Pacific Group Limited. Its name indicates a nominee vehicle, and the register does not state whether it holds the Geneva Finance shares beneficially or on behalf of one or more other parties. It should therefore be treated as the immediate shareholder of record rather than confirmed as the beneficial immediate parent. Federal Pacific Group Limited is the ultimate parent of that shareholding chain on the basis of its 100 per cent holding in the nominee company; Geneva Finance Limited itself has no ultimate holding company recorded on its own register entry.
Data availability
No subsidiaries of Geneva Finance Limited are identified here. New Zealand’s Companies Register records shareholdings of each company but does not publish a consolidated group tree, so subsidiaries can only be established from the group’s own audited financial statements, which were not verified for this page. The underlying record for this page also listed Valley 215 Limited (New Zealand, company number 4414199) as a possible sister entity and Stellar Collections Limited as a related entity; neither relationship was confirmed from the register and both are excluded from the table above rather than asserted. Geneva Finance Limited also holds 805,286 of its own shares (1.10 per cent), which is a treasury position and not a group relationship.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with New Zealand Companies Office, including entries the profile above does not cover.
FEDERAL PACIFIC GROUP LIMITED
New Zealand
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED do?
Geneva Finance Limited is a New Zealand consumer finance company incorporated on 19 August 2002 (company number 1230526, NZBN 9429036382880) and registered in Auckland. It provides personal loans, vehicle and motor finance, debt consolidation lending and related insurance products to New Zealand consumers.
Who owns GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED?
Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited (New Zealand, company number 3754121) is the only substantial holder, with 51,358,488 of 72,935,275 shares, or 70.42 per cent, as recorded on 30 July 2026. All other disclosed holdings are below 2.1 per cent and several sit behind trustee or custodial arrangements whose beneficiaries are not published.
Who is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited is itself wholly owned by Federal Pacific Group Limited (New Zealand, company number 593943), which holds all 1,000 of its shares. Control of the 70.42 per cent block therefore traces to Federal Pacific Group Limited. The register does not state whether Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited holds the Geneva Finance shares beneficially or in a nominee capacity for others, and its name does not on its own settle that question. No ultimate holding company is recorded against Geneva Finance Limited on the Companies Register, and no natural person is identified there as the ultimate beneficial owner.Several of the disclosed parcels are held through trustee arrangements — for example Liston Trustee Services Ltd as a co-holder alongside two named individuals, and SDM Trustee Company alongside two named individuals. A trustee company named on a share register is the legal holder, not the beneficial owner. New Zealand does not publish the beneficiaries of private trusts, so the persons ultimately entitled to those parcels are not disclosed in any public source. Custodial Services Limited holds in a custodial capacity for underlying clients who are not named on the register.
What is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's company registration number?
GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's registration number is 9429036382880, filed with New Zealand Companies Office in New Zealand. Its current status on the register is active.
Is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED still an active company?
GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's status on New Zealand Companies Office is listed as active.
When was GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED incorporated?
GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED was incorporated on 19 August 2002, according to New Zealand Companies Office.
What is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's registered address?
The registered address on file for GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED is Auckland, New Zealand.
What legal structure is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED registered as?
GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED is registered as a Private limited company (Ltd.) in New Zealand.
What is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's revenue?
For the financial year ended 31 March 2025 the group reported revenue of NZD 75.6 million, net profit after tax of NZD 4.5 million and total assets of NZD 212.2 million. Audited financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2026 have since been filed on USX but are not summarised here.
Is GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED listed on a stock exchange?
The company was delisted from the NZX Main Board with effect from the close of business on 17 July 2024, after shareholders approved the move at a special meeting on 5 July 2024 with 57 per cent of votes in favour and a final NZX trading day of 15 July 2024. Its ordinary shares are now quoted on the Unlisted Securities Exchange (USX) under the code GFL.
Who are the officers/directors of GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED?
Six directors are in office on the Companies Register: Ronald Robin King (13 June 2008), Alan Leighton Maiai Hutchison (20 November 2013), Malcolm Cliff Johnston (11 February 2020), Laurence Michael Goodman (13 October 2023), Harley Edward Aish (1 December 2023) and Grant Ian Hally (12 February 2024). David Gerard O'Connell ceased to be a director on 11 August 2023 and David William Smale on 31 March 2024.
Does GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED have a parent company or subsidiaries?
The 70.42 per cent block is registered to Federal Pacific Group Nominees Limited (NZ 3754121), which is wholly owned by Federal Pacific Group Limited (NZ 593943). The register does not state whether the nominee company holds beneficially or for others, and no ultimate holding company is recorded against Geneva Finance Limited itself.
Can Zavia monitor changes to GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from New Zealand Companies Office. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including New Zealand, so records like GENEVA FINANCE LIMITED's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from New Zealand Companies Office and was last synced on 13 August 2026.