GREGGS PLC
GREGGS PLC is a public limited company registered in England and Wales under company number 00502851, according to Companies House. The company was originally incorporated as Greggs Bakeries Limited on 29 December 1951 and adopted its current name on 30 December 1983. GREGGS PLC is currently recorded with an “Active” status, with its registered office at Greggs House, Quorum Business Park, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE12 8BU.
Companies House classifies GREGGS PLC’s principal activities under UK Standard Industrial Classification codes 10710, manufacture of bread and fresh pastry goods and cakes, and 47240, retail sale of bread, cakes, flour confectionery and sugar confectionery in specialised stores. According to the company’s own reporting, the business operates the UK’s largest bakery food-to-go chain, selling savoury products such as sausage rolls and other baked goods, sandwiches, and sweet items including doughnuts, through a vertically integrated model spanning in-house manufacturing, logistics and retail. At the end of its 2025 financial year the shop estate comprised 2,739 shops, following 121 net new openings during the year, with an expanding presence beyond traditional high-street sites in travel, retail-park, supermarket, hospital and university locations, alongside app-based digital ordering.
GREGGS PLC’s ordinary shares trade on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange under the ticker GRG, and the company is a constituent of the FTSE 250 Index. For the 52 weeks ended 27 December 2025, the company reported total sales of £2,151 million, up 6.8% on the prior year, underlying profit before tax of £171.9 million, down 9.4%, and statutory profit before tax of £167.4 million, down 17.9%, according to preliminary results announced on 3 March 2026.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
Shareholders of GREGGS PLC
As a public limited company with ordinary shares admitted to trading on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange, GREGGS PLC does not publish a complete public shareholder register; only substantial shareholding notifications made under the UK Disclosure Guidance and Transparency Rules are disclosed. The most recent notification identified is from JPMorgan Chase & Co., which reported a total position of 5.152283% of voting rights (5,268,899 voting rights) following a threshold crossing on 13 January 2026, according to a notification published 15 January 2026. The holding comprised 0.609876% held directly through shares (623,633 voting rights) and 4.542407% held indirectly through cash-settled equity swaps (4,645,266 voting rights) with expiry dates extending into 2033. Companies House additionally holds a persons-with-significant-control statement dated 14 April 2023 recording that the company knows of no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to it, consistent with a dispersed, institutionally-held share register below the UK’s 25% PSC threshold. No other current substantial shareholding notification was identified in this review.
Data availability
Classification: Major shareholders only. Only holdings that cross the 3% (and subsequent whole percentage point) disclosure thresholds under DTR 5 are publicly notified for a London-listed company such as GREGGS PLC; smaller and retail holdings, including the great majority of the company’s institutional and index-tracking ownership, are not individually disclosed, and the complete shareholder base cannot be determined from public sources.
Sources
- Companies House – Persons with Significant Control statement, company number 00502851 (retrieved 10 September 2026)
- Greggs plc / RNS via Investegate – “Holding(s) in Company” (JPMorgan Chase & Co.), published 15 January 2026 (retrieved 10 September 2026)
Officers
38
Directors and officers of GREGGS PLC
Companies House records 41 officer appointments in GREGGS PLC’s history, of which 10 are currently shown as active and 31 as resigned. The active officers comprise eight directors and two company secretaries. Matthew Samuel Davies (appointed 2 August 2022) chairs the board, Roisin Currie (appointed 1 February 2022) serves as Chief Executive, and Richard John Hutton (appointed 13 March 2006) serves as Chief Financial Officer, according to the company’s own leadership disclosure; Companies House records all three simply as Director, without distinguishing executive role. The remaining current directors – Nigel Gordon Mills (7 March 2023), Lynne Marie Weedall (17 May 2022), Tamara Jane Rogers (1 June 2024), Richard Smothers (1 February 2026) and Ikdeep Singh (1 July 2026, the most recent appointment) – are designated Non-Executive Directors on the company’s website. Sarah Dickson (19 December 2024) and Nina Jayne Richards (15 February 2022) are both recorded as Company Secretary. This overview reflects Companies House officer data retrieved 10 September 2026.
Recent officer changes
- Ikdeep Singh appointed Director, effective 1 July 2026 (Companies House filing).
- Mohamed Elsarky resigned as Director, effective 13 May 2026 (Companies House filing).
- Richard Smothers appointed Director, effective 1 February 2026 (Companies House filing).
Data availability
Classification: Full. Companies House publishes current and historical director and secretary appointment dates together with nationality and country of residence for GREGGS PLC’s officers, treating the two as separate fields; for example, Ikdeep Singh is recorded with American and Canadian nationality and an England country of residence, illustrating that a UK correspondence address does not indicate UK nationality or residence. Occupation, as distinct from legal role, is not separately reported for these appointments, and correspondence addresses on file (Greggs House, Quorum Business Park, Newcastle Upon Tyne) are service addresses only, not residential addresses. No corporate officers are currently recorded for the company.
Sources
- Companies House – Officers list, company number 00502851 (retrieved 10 September 2026)
- Greggs plc – Main board, corporate.greggs.co.uk/investors/the-board (retrieved 10 September 2026)
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies House, including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Group structure of GREGGS PLC
GREGGS PLC is the ultimate parent of a small group of UK subsidiaries; Companies House holds a persons-with-significant-control statement recording that no registrable person or entity controls GREGGS PLC itself. Persons-with-significant-control filings confirm GREGGS PLC as the direct holder of 75% or more of the shares and voting rights, notified 6 April 2016, in seven subsidiaries: Greggs Properties Limited, Greggs (Leasing) Limited, Charles Bragg (Bakers) Limited and Thurston Parfitt Limited, all registered in England and Wales, and Olivers (U.K.) Limited and Olivers (U.K.) Development Limited, both registered in Scotland, together with Birketts Holdings Limited. Birketts Holdings Limited is itself recorded as the direct 75%-or-more holder of J.R.Birkett & Sons, Limited, making it an indirect subsidiary of GREGGS PLC. Several of these entities are recorded at Companies House under non-trading or dormant SIC classifications, indicating internal property, leasing or historical trading functions rather than active third-party trading. This overview reflects Companies House filings and Zavia’s corporate-linkage data reviewed 10 September 2026.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greggs Properties Limited | England and Wales | 00205042 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Greggs (Leasing) Limited | England and Wales | 00382128 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Charles Bragg (Bakers) Limited | England and Wales | 00372923 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Thurston Parfitt Limited | England and Wales | 00897334 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Olivers (U.K.) Limited | Scotland | SC060973 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Olivers (U.K.) Development Limited | Scotland | SC062558 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| Birketts Holdings Limited | England and Wales | 03246455 | Direct subsidiary | 75% or more of shares and voting rights | Active | 6 April 2016 |
| J.R.Birkett & Sons, Limited | England and Wales | 00340016 | Indirect subsidiary (via Birketts Holdings Limited) | 75% or more of shares (held by Birketts Holdings Limited) | Active | 6 April 2016 |
Data availability
Classification: Full. Companies House persons-with-significant-control filings confirm GREGGS PLC’s direct and indirect ownership of all entities listed above at the 75%-or-more band; exact percentages above that threshold are not disclosed, in line with the PSC register’s banded reporting. No parent company or other person with significant control is recorded above GREGGS PLC itself.
Sources
- Companies House – Persons with Significant Control statement, company number 00502851 (retrieved 10 September 2026)
- Companies House – Persons with Significant Control filings, company numbers 00205042, 00382128, 00372923, 00897334, SC060973, SC062558, 03246455 and 00340016 (retrieved 10 September 2026)
- Zavia.ai internal corporate-linkage data (synced 8 September 2026)
GREGGS PLC
United Kingdom
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does GREGGS PLC do?
GREGGS PLC (company number 00502851) is a public limited company registered in England and Wales, originally incorporated as Greggs Bakeries Limited on 29 December 1951 and renamed GREGGS PLC on 30 December 1983, that operates the UK's largest bakery food-to-go chain with 2,739 shops at the end of its 2025 financial year.
Who owns GREGGS PLC?
JPMorgan Chase & Co. disclosed a holding of 5.152283% of voting rights in GREGGS PLC as at 13 January 2026, the most recent substantial shareholding notification identified; Companies House records no registrable person of significant control for the company.
Who is GREGGS PLC's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
No Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO) data is recorded for GREGGS PLC; access to beneficial-ownership data in this jurisdiction is governed by its own register rules.
What is GREGGS PLC's company registration number?
GREGGS PLC's registration number is 00502851, filed with Companies House in United Kingdom. Its current status on the register is active.
Is GREGGS PLC still an active company?
GREGGS PLC's status on Companies House is listed as active.
When was GREGGS PLC incorporated?
GREGGS PLC was incorporated on 29 December 1951, according to Companies House.
What is GREGGS PLC's registered address?
The registered address on file for GREGGS PLC is NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, United Kingdom.
What legal structure is GREGGS PLC registered as?
GREGGS PLC is registered as a Public Limited Company in United Kingdom.
What is GREGGS PLC's revenue?
For the 52 weeks ended 27 December 2025, GREGGS PLC reported total sales of £2,151 million, up 6.8% on 2024, underlying profit before tax of £171.9 million, down 9.4%, and statutory profit before tax of £167.4 million, down 17.9%, according to preliminary results announced on 3 March 2026.
Is GREGGS PLC listed on a stock exchange?
GREGGS PLC's ordinary shares trade on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange under the ticker GRG, and the company is a constituent of the FTSE 250 Index.
Who are the officers/directors of GREGGS PLC?
Companies House records 10 active officers of GREGGS PLC as at 10 September 2026: eight directors, including Chair Matthew Davies, Chief Executive Roisin Currie and Chief Financial Officer Richard Hutton, and two company secretaries.
Does GREGGS PLC have a parent company or subsidiaries?
GREGGS PLC is the confirmed ultimate parent, via Companies House Persons with Significant Control filings, of seven direct UK subsidiaries and one indirect subsidiary held through Birketts Holdings Limited; no parent company is recorded above GREGGS PLC itself.
Can Zavia monitor changes to GREGGS PLC's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies House. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to GREGGS PLC's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access GREGGS PLC's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United Kingdom, so records like GREGGS PLC's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Companies House and was last synced on 8 September 2026.