MOODY’S CORPORATION
Moody’s Corporation is a Delaware-incorporated public company registered with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission under CIK 0001059556, headquartered at 7 World Trade Center, 250 Greenwich Street, New York, NY 10007. Moody’s Corporation is listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol MCO and is a constituent of the S&P 500 index.
Moody’s Corporation operates through two reportable business segments. Moody’s Investors Service (MIS) assigns credit ratings and produces credit research and analysis covering debt instruments and issuers of debt across corporate, financial institution, sovereign, sub-sovereign, project finance and structured finance markets. Moody’s Analytics (MA) provides financial intelligence software, data, economic research and analytical tools used for credit and risk assessment, regulatory compliance and quantitative analysis. Moody’s Corporation’s customers span banks, insurance companies, asset managers, corporates and government entities operating in debt capital markets worldwide.
As of the most recent reporting period, Moody’s Corporation employed approximately 16,000 people across more than 40 countries. For the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, Moody’s Corporation reported consolidated revenue of $7.718 billion, a 9% increase from the prior year, with both the MIS and MA segments each recording approximately 9% growth in external revenue. Diluted earnings per share for fiscal year 2025 were $13.67, up 21% year-over-year, and operating margin expanded to 43.4% (51.1% on an adjusted basis).
On January 13, 2025, Moody’s Corporation announced an agreement to acquire CAPE Analytics, a geospatial artificial-intelligence platform that produces property-risk insights, extending the Moody’s Analytics segment into AI-driven property and climate-risk data used by the insurance and lending industries.
Moody’s Corporation traces its origins to bond-rating manuals first published by John Moody in 1909 and became an independent publicly traded company in 2000 following its spin-off from Dun & Bradstreet Corporation. Alongside S&P Global, it is one of the two dominant global providers of credit ratings on debt securities.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
1
Shareholders of Moody’s Corporation
Moody’s Corporation is a publicly traded NYSE-listed company (ticker MCO), so its shareholder base is disclosed only through U.S. securities-law reporting thresholds rather than a complete shareholder register. Institutional beneficial-ownership filings (Schedule 13D/13G) and Form 13F holdings reports referenced in Moody’s Corporation’s 2026 proxy statement indicate that Berkshire Hathaway Inc. is the largest identified shareholder, holding approximately 24.7 million shares, or roughly 13-14% of outstanding common stock, as of holdings reported for the period ended December 31, 2025. This is a long-standing position that Berkshire Hathaway has held since approximately 2000-2001. The Vanguard Group, Inc., an index-fund manager, is another major disclosed holder, reporting approximately 15.1 million shares, or roughly 8.5% of the class, for the same period. Other large asset managers, including BlackRock, Inc., are understood to hold significant passive index-tracking positions in Moody’s Corporation, though a specific verified percentage for BlackRock was not confirmed from primary sources in this review. All figures relate to reportable institutional holdings rather than the full shareholder base.
Data availability
As a U.S. SEC-registered issuer, Moody’s Corporation only publicly discloses shareholders whose holdings cross reporting thresholds (generally 5% of the class) via Schedule 13D/13G, together with quarterly institutional holdings on Form 13F; it does not publish a complete shareholder register. This disclosure should be treated as major shareholders only.
Sources
- SEC EDGAR, Moody’s Corporation filings (CIK 0001059556), retrieved 2026-09-16 – https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001059556
- Moody’s Corporation 2026 Proxy Statement (DEF 14A), filed March 4, 2026 – https://s203.q4cdn.com/694693571/files/doc_financials/2025/Annual/MOODYS-CORP_PROXY_BOOKMARK_2026_V1_PWO-60975.pdf
- Fintel.io, Berkshire Hathaway Inc institutional ownership in MCO (13F-based), retrieved 2026-09-16 – https://fintel.io/so/us/mco/berkshire-hathaway
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard Group Inc | 13.6% | New York Department of State — Division of Corporations |
Officers
12
Directors and officers of Moody’s Corporation
Based on Moody’s Corporation’s SEC disclosures, including Form 8-K appointment announcements and its FY2025 Annual Report to Shareholders filed in 2026, this review independently verified five senior executive officers as of the 2026 filing date: Robert S. (Rob) Fauber, President, Chief Executive Officer and Director, who has served as CEO since January 1, 2021 and was elected to the Board effective October 22, 2020; Noemie Heuland, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Richard Steele, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, who has held the role since September 2023 after earlier serving as General Counsel of the Moody’s Analytics business from 2008; Jason Phillips, Chief Accounting Officer and Controller, who joined the company in 2003; and Scott Minter, Chief Technology Officer. These verified roles are drawn from Moody’s own SEC disclosures rather than a complete officer register; the company may disclose additional executive officers not independently confirmed in this review. Nationality and country of residence are not disclosed for any of these officers in the reviewed sources.
Recent officer changes
- Richard Steele was appointed Senior Vice President and General Counsel effective September 2023, as announced in a Moody’s Corporation Form 8-K filing. (Source: SEC Form 8-K, September 2023)
- Jason Phillips was named Chief Accounting Officer and Controller after previously serving as Managing Director, Assistant Controller from August 2022 to March 2025. (Source: Moody’s FY2025 Annual Report to Shareholders, filed 2026)
Data availability
Officer information for Moody’s Corporation, as a U.S. SEC-registered issuer, is disclosed through executive-officer biographies in the company’s annual proxy statement and Form 10-K, and through Form 8-K appointment announcements, rather than a jurisdiction-wide public officer register. This review verified five senior officer positions from primary SEC and company sources; nationality is not disclosed in these filings for any officer.
Sources
- Moody’s Corporation Form 8-K, "Moody’s Appoints Richard Steele as General Counsel," September 2023 – https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1059556/000119312523197693/d462497d8k.htm
- Moody’s Corporation Form ARS (Annual Report to Shareholders) FY2025, filed 2026 – https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1059556/000114036126007798/ef20066997_ars.pdf
- Moody’s Investor Relations, Corporate Governance – Executive Management – https://ir.moodys.com/corporate-governance/executive-management/default.aspx
- Moody’s official leadership profile, Robert Fauber – https://www.moodys.com/web/en/us/about-us/leadership/robert-fauber.html
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with New York Department of State — Division of Corporations, including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Group structure of Moody’s Corporation
Moody’s Corporation is a publicly traded, Delaware-incorporated parent company with no corporate parent of its own; it is the ultimate parent of the global Moody’s group. The company operates through two reportable segments, Moody’s Investors Service (credit ratings) and Moody’s Analytics (data, software and analytics), each comprising numerous operating subsidiaries in the United States and internationally. This review independently confirmed, through reputable transaction reporting, two material completed acquisitions that added operating subsidiaries to the group: Bureau van Dijk Electronic Publishing, a company-data and business-intelligence provider acquired in 2017, and Risk Management Solutions, Inc. ("RMS"), a catastrophe-risk modeling company acquired in 2021. Moody’s Investors Service, Inc. and Moody’s Analytics, Inc. are the group’s principal named U.S. operating subsidiaries corresponding to its two segments. Moody’s Corporation’s operating subsidiaries and branches span more than 40 countries, consistent with the roughly 16,000 employees reported group-wide. Ownership percentages for individual subsidiaries and their registration numbers were not independently re-verified against government registries in this review.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moody’s Investors Service, Inc. | US | Not independently verified | Subsidiary (credit-ratings segment) | Not disclosed | Active | 2026 |
| Moody’s Analytics, Inc. | US | Not independently verified | Subsidiary (analytics segment) | Not disclosed | Active | 2026 |
| Bureau van Dijk Electronic Publishing | Multi-jurisdiction | Not independently verified | Subsidiary (acquired 2017) | Not disclosed | Active | 2026 |
| Risk Management Solutions, Inc. (RMS) | US (California) | Not independently verified | Subsidiary (acquired 2021) | Not disclosed | Active | 2026 |
Recent structural changes
- Moody’s Corporation announced an agreement to acquire CAPE Analytics, a geospatial property-risk AI platform, on January 13, 2025, extending the Moody’s Analytics segment’s risk-data capabilities. (Source: company/legal-alert reporting, January 2025)
Data availability
Corporate-linkage information for Moody’s Corporation is partial: the parent-level status (independent, no controlling parent) and several major subsidiary relationships are confirmed through SEC disclosures and reputable reporting of completed acquisitions, but registration-number-level verification of every subsidiary across the group’s many jurisdictions was not performed, and individual subsidiary ownership percentages are not separately disclosed in the sources reviewed.
Sources
- SEC EDGAR, Moody’s Corporation filings (CIK 0001059556), retrieved 2026-09-16 – https://www.sec.gov/cgi-bin/browse-edgar?action=getcompany&CIK=0001059556
- Gunder & Company legal alert, "CAPE Analytics Enters Agreement to be Acquired by Moody’s Corporation," January 2025 – https://www.gunder.com/print/v2/content/16396/cape-analytics-enters-agreement-to-be-acquired-by-moodys-corporation.pdf
- Moody’s Corporation press releases – https://www.moodys.com/web/en/us/media-relations/press-releases.html
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with New York Department of State — Division of Corporations, including entries the profile above does not cover.
MOODY’S CORPORATION
United States
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does MOODY’S CORPORATION do?
Moody's Corporation operates through two reportable segments, Moody's Investors Service (credit ratings on debt instruments and issuers) and Moody's Analytics (financial intelligence software, data and analytical tools), serving banks, insurers, asset managers, corporates and governments in global debt capital markets. It employs approximately 16,000 people across more than 40 countries.
Who owns MOODY’S CORPORATION?
Berkshire Hathaway Inc. is the largest disclosed shareholder of Moody's Corporation, holding approximately 24.7 million shares (roughly 13-14% of outstanding stock) as of holdings reported for the period ended December 31, 2025; The Vanguard Group, Inc. holds approximately 15.1 million shares (about 8.5%). Disclosure is limited to major institutional holders crossing SEC reporting thresholds.
Who is MOODY’S CORPORATION's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
Every shareholder recorded for MOODY’S CORPORATION is itself a company rather than a natural person, so no Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO) is identified at this level; establishing one would require tracing the ownership of each shareholding company in turn.
What is MOODY’S CORPORATION's company registration number?
MOODY’S CORPORATION's registration number is 2296415, filed with New York Department of State — Division of Corporations in United States. Its current status on the register is active.
Is MOODY’S CORPORATION still an active company?
MOODY’S CORPORATION's status on New York Department of State — Division of Corporations is listed as active.
When was MOODY’S CORPORATION incorporated?
MOODY’S CORPORATION was incorporated on 10 September 1998, according to New York Department of State — Division of Corporations.
What is MOODY’S CORPORATION's registered address?
The registered address on file for MOODY’S CORPORATION is New York, United States.
What legal structure is MOODY’S CORPORATION registered as?
MOODY’S CORPORATION is registered as a Private limited company (Ltd.) in United States.
What is MOODY’S CORPORATION's revenue?
Moody's Corporation reported consolidated revenue of $7.718 billion for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, a 9% year-over-year increase, with diluted EPS of $13.67 (up 21%) and operating margin of 43.4% (51.1% adjusted).
Is MOODY’S CORPORATION listed on a stock exchange?
Moody's Corporation (Delaware-incorporated, SEC CIK 0001059556) is listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker symbol MCO and is a constituent of the S&P 500 index.
Who are the officers/directors of MOODY’S CORPORATION?
Verified senior officers include Robert S. Fauber (President & CEO, since January 2021), Noemie Heuland (SVP & CFO), Richard Steele (SVP & General Counsel, since September 2023), Jason Phillips (Chief Accounting Officer & Controller) and Scott Minter (Chief Technology Officer).
Does MOODY’S CORPORATION have a parent company or subsidiaries?
Moody's Corporation is the publicly traded ultimate parent of the Moody's group, with segments Moody's Investors Service and Moody's Analytics operated through subsidiaries including Moody's Investors Service, Inc. and Moody's Analytics, Inc., plus acquired subsidiaries Bureau van Dijk Electronic Publishing (2017) and Risk Management Solutions, Inc. (2021).
Can Zavia monitor changes to MOODY’S CORPORATION's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from New York Department of State — Division of Corporations. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to MOODY’S CORPORATION's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access MOODY’S CORPORATION's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United States, so records like MOODY’S CORPORATION's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from New York Department of State — Division of Corporations and was last synced on 15 September 2026.