PRIMARK LIMITED
Primark Limited is a private limited company registered in Ireland under Companies Registration Office (CRO) number 47371, incorporated on 6 May 1974. Its registered office is at Arthur Ryan House, 22-24 Parnell Street, Dublin 1, D01 P7W2, and CRO records show the company’s status as active.
The company’s principal activity is the retail sale of clothing. In the Republic of Ireland, Primark Limited trades under the brand name Penneys, the name used since its first store opened in Dublin in 1969. The wider retail chain associated with this brand — trading as Primark outside Ireland — operates several hundred stores across markets including the United Kingdom, continental Europe and the United States.
According to accounts filed with the CRO, Primark Limited reported company-level revenue of EUR745 million for the financial year ended September 2023, an increase of 7% on the prior year, with pre-tax profit of EUR417 million, up 5%. These figures relate to the Irish operating entity only and should not be read as consolidated figures for the wider international retail chain. The company has stated an intention to invest more than EUR250 million in its Irish store estate over the coming years, including approximately 1,000 additional jobs and around a 20% expansion of selling space, with recent openings and expansions at Tallaght, Dundrum, Clonmel and Galway.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
1
Shareholders of Primark Limited
Primark Limited’s Companies Registration Office (CRO) filings disclose a single shareholder: ABF Overseas Limited, which holds 100% of the issued share capital, comprising 42,026 ordinary shares of EUR1.27 each (nominal value approximately EUR53,373), as at the most recent share register information reviewed, dated 31 December 2024. The interest is recorded as a direct shareholding by a corporate shareholder rather than a natural person. No other current shareholders are disclosed.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
No individual UBO can be reliably identified from the sources reviewed. ABF Overseas Limited is an intermediate corporate shareholder; Global Legal Entity Identifier (GLEIF) records show Primark Limited as directly consolidated, for accounting purposes, by Associated British Foods plc, and ultimately consolidated by Wittington Investments Limited, a private UK investment holding company connected to the Weston family, which separately discloses joint control by family-connected individuals in a "75% or more" band rather than individual percentages. Because the ownership percentages linking ABF Overseas Limited, Associated British Foods plc and Wittington Investments Limited are not fully disclosed tier-by-tier for Primark Limited specifically, no calculated effective UBO percentage can be produced for this entity.
Data availability
Shareholder information for Primark Limited is Full for the single disclosed corporate shareholder of record, but does not extend to a verified individual UBO; Irish CRO filings disclose only the immediate corporate shareholder.
Sources
- Irish company registry shareholder filing (via Zavia.ai company data), share register position dated 31 December 2024
- GLEIF Global LEI Index, Primark Limited entity record (LEI 21380028ZBNXSR21LL96), https://opencorpdata.com/lei/21380028ZBNXSR21LL96, retrieved 16 September 2026
- GLEIF Global LEI Index, Wittington Investments Limited entity record (LEI 213800DE48PQJ6VNN980), retrieved 16 September 2026
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| ABF OVERSEAS LIMITED | 100% | Companies Registration Office (CRO) |
Officers
22
Directors and officers of Primark Limited
Registry data reviewed for Primark Limited lists 22 officer records in total, the great majority historical or resigned. One director, Stephen Regan, is recorded as active, appointed 17 September 2017; his role is recorded as Director, with a correspondence address in County Meath, Ireland (a service address, not necessarily his residence). Historical records include former directors Patrick Brendan Prior (1974-2011), Aidan Hugh Shields (2010-2016) and John Lyttle (2011-2018), and a former company secretary, Jessica Sophie Foster (2000-2001). Nationality is not officially disclosed for any officer in the records reviewed.
Independent public-record checks (SoloCheck.ie) confirm Primark Limited’s CRO status as active and indicate that more than one director currently sits on the board, but current directors’ names are not made freely available there; consequently the full current board composition beyond Stephen Regan could not be independently verified from the free-access sources checked.
Data availability
Officer information for Primark Limited is Partial: the registry extract reviewed confirms one currently active director alongside a long historical record of resigned officers, but the complete current board and secretary appointments could not be fully confirmed from the free-access sources checked. Nationality is not disclosed for any officer in the sources reviewed, consistent with the Irish CRO register not routinely publishing director nationality.
Sources
- Irish company registry officer data (via Zavia.ai company data / CRO filings)
- SoloCheck.ie, Primark Limited company record, https://www.solocheck.ie/Irish-Company/Primark-Limited-47371, retrieved 16 September 2026
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registration Office (CRO), including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
Group structure of Primark Limited
Primark Limited is not an independent company. Its verified immediate parent is ABF Overseas Limited, a corporate shareholder holding 100% of Primark Limited’s issued share capital according to CRO shareholder filings dated 31 December 2024. GLEIF Global LEI Index records identify Associated British Foods plc (LSE: ABF) as the entity that directly consolidates Primark Limited for accounting purposes, and Wittington Investments Limited, a private UK investment holding company connected to the Weston family, as the entity ultimately consolidating the group; Wittington Investments Limited separately discloses to Associated British Foods plc a shareholding of approximately 59% of ABF’s voting rights (as at January 2026).
A separately registered UK company, Primark Stores Limited (Companies House number 00453448, England and Wales), operates Primark’s UK store estate and is identified in Associated British Foods plc’s own group disclosures as one of its subsidiaries. Primark Stores Limited is a distinct legal entity from Primark Limited and the two should not be conflated. The precise intermediate shareholding link between them, beyond a common ultimate parent in Associated British Foods plc, has not been verified from the sources reviewed, so the relationship is described here as an affiliate under common ultimate ownership rather than a confirmed sister-company shareholding.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ABF Overseas Limited | Not confirmed from sources reviewed | Not confirmed | Immediate parent | 100% of issued share capital | Active (per shareholder filing) | 31 December 2024 |
| Associated British Foods plc | United Kingdom (England and Wales) | 00293262 | Direct accounting-consolidation parent (per GLEIF) | Ownership percentage not disclosed at this tier | Active; LSE-listed (ticker ABF) | GLEIF record updated October 2025 |
| Wittington Investments Limited | United Kingdom (England and Wales) | 00366054 | Ultimate consolidating parent of the group (per GLEIF) | Approx. 59% of Associated British Foods plc voting rights | Active | 2 January 2026 |
| Primark Stores Limited | United Kingdom | 00453448 | Affiliate (common ultimate parent, Associated British Foods plc); link to Primark Limited not independently verified | Not disclosed | Active | Not confirmed from sources reviewed |
Recent structural changes
Associated British Foods plc has announced plans to separate the wider Primark retail business, which includes the operations conducted by Primark Limited in Ireland, into an independently listed company, with the demerger targeted for completion in 2027. As of the date of this review the separation had not completed and Primark Limited remained part of the Associated British Foods group.
Data availability
Group-structure information for Primark Limited is Partial: the immediate corporate shareholder and the wider ABF/Wittington ownership chain are verified through CRO filings and GLEIF records, but subsidiary-level ownership percentages below Associated British Foods plc, and the precise relationship between Primark Limited and Primark Stores Limited, are not fully disclosed in the sources reviewed.
Sources
- Irish company registry shareholder filing data (via Zavia.ai company data), dated 31 December 2024
- GLEIF Global LEI Index, Primark Limited entity record (LEI 21380028ZBNXSR21LL96), https://opencorpdata.com/lei/21380028ZBNXSR21LL96, retrieved 16 September 2026
- GLEIF Global LEI Index, Wittington Investments Limited and Associated British Foods plc entity records, retrieved 16 September 2026
- UK Companies House filing history, Primark Stores Limited, company number 00453448, https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00453448/filing-history, retrieved 16 September 2026
- The Irish Times, "Can Primark thrive as a stand-alone business?", 23 April 2026, https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2026/04/23/can-primark-thrive-as-a-stand-alone-business/
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Companies Registration Office (CRO), including entries the profile above does not cover.
WITTINGTON INVESTMENTS LIMITED
United Kingdom
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does PRIMARK LIMITED do?
Primark Limited is an Irish private limited company (CRO no. 47371) engaged in the retail sale of clothing, trading in the Republic of Ireland under the brand name Penneys.
Who owns PRIMARK LIMITED?
CRO filings show a single disclosed shareholder, ABF Overseas Limited, holding 100% of issued share capital (42,026 ordinary shares of EUR1.27 each) as at 31 December 2024.
Who is PRIMARK LIMITED's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
No individual UBO is reliably identifiable from sources reviewed; GLEIF records trace consolidation through Associated British Foods plc to Wittington Investments Limited, but tier-by-tier ownership percentages are not fully disclosed for Primark Limited.
What is PRIMARK LIMITED's company registration number?
PRIMARK LIMITED's registration number is IE047371, filed with Companies Registration Office (CRO) in Ireland. Its current status on the register is active.
Is PRIMARK LIMITED still an active company?
PRIMARK LIMITED's status on Companies Registration Office (CRO) is listed as active.
When was PRIMARK LIMITED incorporated?
PRIMARK LIMITED was incorporated on 6 May 1974, according to Companies Registration Office (CRO).
What is PRIMARK LIMITED's registered address?
The registered address on file for PRIMARK LIMITED is Ireland.
What legal structure is PRIMARK LIMITED registered as?
PRIMARK LIMITED is registered as a Private limited company (Ltd.) in Ireland.
What is PRIMARK LIMITED's revenue?
For the financial year ended September 2023, Primark Limited reported company-level revenue of EUR745 million (up 7%) and pre-tax profit of EUR417 million (up 5%), per accounts filed with the CRO.
Is PRIMARK LIMITED listed on a stock exchange?
Primark Limited is not itself publicly listed. Its ultimate group parent, Associated British Foods plc, is listed on the London Stock Exchange (ticker ABF); ABF has announced plans to demerge the wider Primark business into a separately listed company by 2027.
Who are the officers/directors of PRIMARK LIMITED?
One director, Stephen Regan (appointed 17 September 2017), is recorded as active in registry data reviewed; the full current board could not be independently confirmed from free-access sources.
Does PRIMARK LIMITED have a parent company or subsidiaries?
Immediate parent is ABF Overseas Limited (100% shareholder); ultimate group parent per GLEIF is Associated British Foods plc / Wittington Investments Limited. Primark Stores Limited (UK, Companies House 00453448) is a separate related entity operating Primark's UK stores and should not be conflated with Primark Limited.
Can Zavia monitor changes to PRIMARK LIMITED's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Companies Registration Office (CRO). Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to PRIMARK LIMITED's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access PRIMARK LIMITED's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Ireland, so records like PRIMARK LIMITED's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Companies Registration Office (CRO) and was last synced on 15 September 2026.