AMAZON.COM, INC.
AMAZON.COM, INC. is a Delaware corporation registered to transact business in Washington State under Unified Business Identifier (UBI) 601720490, recorded with an “Active” status by the Washington Secretary of State; its principal executive offices are at 410 Terry Avenue North, Seattle, Washington. The Washington foreign-qualification date of 18 June 1996 recorded in state records falls shortly after the company’s reincorporation from Washington State into Delaware, which Amazon’s SEC filings date to May 1996. Common stock of AMAZON.COM, INC. trades on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the ticker symbol AMZN (SEC Commission File No. 000-22513).
The company operates through three reportable segments: North America, International and Amazon Web Services (AWS). The North America and International segments comprise online and physical retail stores, offering first-party and third-party merchandise, subscription services such as Amazon Prime, advertising, and consumer electronics devices including Kindle, Fire tablets, Fire TV, Echo and Ring products. AWS provides cloud infrastructure services – compute, storage, database, analytics, and artificial intelligence and machine learning capabilities – to businesses, government agencies and individual developers worldwide.
For the fiscal year ended 31 December 2025, AMAZON.COM, INC. reported consolidated net sales of $716.9 billion, a 12% increase over the $638.0 billion reported for fiscal year 2024, and net income of $77.7 billion ($7.17 per diluted share), according to its Form 10-K filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. AWS net sales grew 20% year-over-year to $128.7 billion, while North America and International segment sales grew 10% and 13% respectively; the company also reported a 23% year-over-year increase in technology-and-infrastructure spending, reflecting continued investment in cloud and artificial-intelligence capacity. As of 31 December 2025, the company reported approximately 1,576,000 full-time and part-time employees on a consolidated basis. These operating and financial figures relate to Amazon.com, Inc. on a consolidated basis, as reported in its SEC filings, rather than to the Washington-registered entity considered in isolation.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
4
Shareholders of AMAZON.COM, INC.
AMAZON.COM, INC. is a publicly traded company listed on the Nasdaq Global Select Market (ticker: AMZN), and its shareholder base is dispersed across millions of retail and institutional investors; only holders whose positions cross the SEC’s 5% beneficial-ownership disclosure threshold, together with company insiders, are individually identifiable through public filings. Zavia’s registry data, verified 4 September 2026, records four institutional holders: Vanguard Group Inc (18.28% of the position tracked), JPMorgan Chase & Co (7.88%), Fidelity Concord Street Trust–Fidelity 500 Index Fund (2.66%) and iShares Trust–iShares Core S&P 500 ETF (2.62%); these reflect specific fund or custodial positions rather than a complete list of beneficial owners. Separately, SEC Schedule 13G/A filings show BlackRock, Inc. reporting beneficial ownership of approximately 6.1% of AMAZON.COM, INC. common stock (630,188,686 shares) as of February 2024, and Vanguard Capital Management – following a 2026 restructuring of Vanguard’s reporting entities – separately reporting a 6.77% stake (727,679,638 shares) as of 31 March 2026. Because these filings originate from different dates and reporting entities, the percentages should not be summed or treated as a single current snapshot.
Data availability
Classification: Major shareholders only. SEC rules require individual disclosure only for holders exceeding 5% of outstanding shares and for company insiders under Schedule 13D/13G and Section 16 filings; AMAZON.COM, INC.’s complete shareholder register, comprising millions of retail and institutional holders, is not publicly available.
Sources
- Zavia registry data – shareholder positions, verified 4 September 2026
- BlackRock, Inc. – SEC Schedule 13G/A, filed 12 February 2024, sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/
- Vanguard Capital Management – SEC Schedule 13G/A, filed 29 April 2026 (reporting period 31 March 2026), sec.gov
- The Vanguard Group, Inc. – SEC Schedule 13G/A, 2026, sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0001018724/000010290926000582/
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanguard Group Inc | 18.3% | Washington Secretary of State | |
| JPMORGAN CHASE & CO | 7.9% | Washington Secretary of State | |
| Fidelity Concord Street Trust-Fidelity 500 Index Fund | 2.7% | Washington Secretary of State | |
| iShares Trust-iShares Core S&P 500 ETF | 2.6% | Washington Secretary of State |
Officers
5
Directors and officers of AMAZON.COM, INC.
AMAZON.COM, INC.’s Washington Secretary of State filing records 15 governing-person appointments, all shown with an active work status and a US correspondence country; the filing does not disclose city, region, appointment date or nationality for these individuals. Cross-referenced against AMAZON.COM, INC.’s 2026 annual-meeting proxy statement (Form DEF 14A), the company’s Board of Directors currently comprises 11 members, including Jeffrey P. Bezos (Founder and Executive Chair), Andrew R. Jassy (President and Chief Executive Officer), Jamie S. Gorelick (Lead Independent Director) and eight further independent directors. Separately, AMAZON.COM, INC.’s Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025 names seven executive officers: Jeffrey P. Bezos, Andrew R. Jassy (President and CEO), Matthew S. Garman (CEO, Amazon Web Services, since June 2024), Douglas J. Herrington (CEO, Worldwide Amazon Stores, since July 2022), Brian T. Olsavsky (Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, since June 2015), Shelley L. Reynolds (Vice President, Worldwide Controller and Principal Accounting Officer, since April 2007) and David A. Zapolsky (Senior Vice President, Chief Global Affairs & Legal Officer, since February 2025). Nationality is not disclosed for these individuals in either the state registry filing or the proxy statement.
Recent officer changes
- David A. Zapolsky moved to the role of Senior Vice President, Chief Global Affairs & Legal Officer, effective February 2025 (Form 10-K).
- Matthew S. Garman was appointed CEO of Amazon Web Services, effective June 2024 (Form 10-K; DEF 14A).
- Keith B. Alexander informed the company on 7 April 2026 that he would not stand for re-election to the Board at the 2026 Annual Meeting (DEF 14A).
Data availability
Classification: Partial. The Washington Secretary of State registry publishes governing-person names and active status but not appointment dates, nationality or country of residence; AMAZON.COM, INC.’s SEC filings provide fuller role and tenure information for directors and executive officers but likewise do not disclose nationality or residence.
Sources
- Washington Secretary of State – Corporations and Charities Filing System, UBI 601720490
- AMAZON.COM, INC. – Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025, filed with the SEC, sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872426000004/amzn-20251231.htm
- AMAZON.COM, INC. – Form DEF 14A (2026 proxy statement), sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000110465926041026/tm261382-1_def14a.htm
Group Structure
Group structure of AMAZON.COM, INC.
AMAZON.COM, INC. is a publicly traded, top-level holding company; no filing reviewed identifies a parent company, and Zavia’s registry data records no parent, subsidiary or ownership linkage for the Washington-registered entity. AMAZON.COM, INC.’s own SEC filings, however, confirm that the company controls numerous operating subsidiaries. Exhibit 21.1 to its Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2025 lists nine subsidiaries the company classifies as significant, all 100%-owned and incorporated in Delaware, Nevada or Arizona, including Amazon Web Services, Inc., Amazon.com Services LLC and Amazon Technologies, Inc. AMAZON.COM, INC. does not identify any entity as its parent in these filings; it is the ultimate parent of its own consolidated group. This overview reflects only the subsidiaries the company classifies as significant for SEC reporting purposes and does not represent Amazon’s complete corporate family, which includes numerous additional operating entities that are not required to be individually listed.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Web Services, Inc. | United States (Delaware) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Amazon.com Services LLC | United States (Delaware) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Amazon.com Sales, Inc. | United States (Delaware) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Amazon Data Services, Inc. | United States (Delaware) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Amazon Technologies, Inc. | United States (Nevada) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Amazon.com NV Investment Holdings LLC | United States (Nevada) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Amazon US Services LLC | United States (Delaware) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| A100 ROW, Inc. | United States (Delaware) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
| Day One Insurance, Inc. | United States (Arizona) | Not disclosed | Direct subsidiary | 100% | Active | FY2025 Form 10-K |
Data availability
Classification: Subsidiaries only. SEC Exhibit 21.1 discloses only the subsidiaries AMAZON.COM, INC. classifies as significant, and neither the Washington Secretary of State registry nor the company’s SEC filings identify a parent company, since none exists above this entity.
Sources
- AMAZON.COM, INC. – Form 10-K, Exhibit 21.1 “List of Significant Subsidiaries”, fiscal year 2025, sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1018724/000101872426000004/amzn-20251231xex211.htm
- Washington Secretary of State – Corporations and Charities Filing System, UBI 601720490 (no parent/subsidiary linkage recorded)
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does AMAZON.COM, INC. do?
AMAZON.COM, INC. is a Delaware corporation, registered as a foreign corporation in Washington State (UBI 601720490), that operates through three segments – North America, International and Amazon Web Services (AWS) – providing online and physical retail, third-party marketplace services, subscriptions, advertising, consumer electronics and cloud-computing infrastructure.
Who owns AMAZON.COM, INC.?
AMAZON.COM, INC. is widely held; only holders above the SEC's 5% disclosure threshold are individually identified, including BlackRock, Inc. (about 6.1% as of February 2024) and Vanguard Capital Management (about 6.77% as of March 2026).
Who is AMAZON.COM, INC.'s UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?
Every shareholder recorded for AMAZON.COM, INC. is itself a company rather than a natural person, so no Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO) is identified at this level; establishing one would require tracing the ownership of each shareholding company in turn.
What is AMAZON.COM, INC.'s company registration number?
AMAZON.COM, INC.'s registration number is 601720490, filed with Washington Secretary of State in United States. Its current status on the register is active.
Is AMAZON.COM, INC. still an active company?
AMAZON.COM, INC.'s status on Washington Secretary of State is listed as active.
When was AMAZON.COM, INC. incorporated?
AMAZON.COM, INC. was incorporated on 18 June 1996, according to Washington Secretary of State.
What is AMAZON.COM, INC.'s registered address?
The registered address on file for AMAZON.COM, INC. is SEATTLE, United States.
What is AMAZON.COM, INC.'s revenue?
AMAZON.COM, INC. reported consolidated net sales of $716.9 billion and net income of $77.7 billion for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2025, according to its Form 10-K filed with the SEC.
Is AMAZON.COM, INC. listed on a stock exchange?
AMAZON.COM, INC. common stock trades on the Nasdaq Global Select Market under the ticker symbol AMZN.
Who are the officers/directors of AMAZON.COM, INC.?
AMAZON.COM, INC.'s executive officers under its FY2025 Form 10-K include Andrew R. Jassy (President and CEO), Matthew S. Garman (CEO, Amazon Web Services), Douglas J. Herrington (CEO, Worldwide Amazon Stores), Brian T. Olsavsky (CFO) and David A. Zapolsky (Chief Global Affairs & Legal Officer).
Does AMAZON.COM, INC. have a parent company or subsidiaries?
AMAZON.COM, INC. is the ultimate parent of its own consolidated corporate group and is not a subsidiary of another company; its FY2025 Form 10-K lists nine significant, 100%-owned subsidiaries incorporated in Delaware, Nevada and Arizona.
Can Zavia monitor changes to AMAZON.COM, INC.'s ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Washington Secretary of State. Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to AMAZON.COM, INC.'s registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access AMAZON.COM, INC.'s data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including United States, so records like AMAZON.COM, INC.'s registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Washington Secretary of State and was last synced on 15 September 2026.