APA GROUP LIMITED
APA Group Limited is registered in New South Wales, Australia under Australian Business Number (ABN) 99 091 344 704, with the Australian Business Register and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) recording an active status and a registration date of 2 February 2000. The company was originally incorporated as Australian Pipeline Limited and adopted its current name on 6 May 2022. Its registered office is at Level 25, 580 George Street, Sydney NSW 2000.
APA Group Limited acts as the responsible entity for two registered managed investment schemes, APA Infrastructure Trust (ARSN 091 678 778, formerly Australian Pipeline Trust) and APA Investment Trust (ARSN 115 585 441, formerly APT Investment Trust). Units in the company and the two trusts are stapled together and traded as a single security on the Australian Securities Exchange under the code APA, forming the listed entity known as APA Group.
Trading as APA Group, the business owns, operates and maintains energy infrastructure across Australia, including approximately 15,000 kilometres of natural gas transmission pipelines that deliver around half of the country’s domestic gas usage, together with gas storage facilities, electricity transmission interconnectors linking Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, New South Wales and Queensland, and a portfolio of wind and solar power generation assets. In June 2026 the group agreed to acquire Savant Alaska, LLC, including the Badami oil and gas production facilities, the Nutaaq Pipeline and associated Alaskan oil and gas leases, for approximately US$70 million.
For the financial year ended 30 June 2025, APA Group reported consolidated statutory revenue, excluding pass-through revenue, of A$2,713 million, up 4.7% on the prior year, and underlying EBITDA of A$2,015 million, up 6.4%, according to its full-year results released to the ASX on 20 August 2025. These figures relate to the consolidated stapled group rather than to APA Group Limited on a standalone legal-entity basis.
In November 2018 the Australian Treasurer used powers under the Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Act to block a proposed A$13 billion takeover of APA Group by Hong Kong-based CK Infrastructure Holdings, citing the national interest in avoiding excessive foreign concentration of ownership in Australia’s gas transmission network. APA Group has remained listed on the ASX since that decision, including as at September 2026, and no subsequent takeover or privatisation of the group has been confirmed by an official filing or announcement reviewed for this profile.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
1
APA Group Limited forms part of the stapled ASX-listed security “APA Group” (ASX: APA), together with APA Infrastructure Trust and APA Investment Trust. As a listed issuer, its shareholder disclosure follows the ASX and Corporations Act substantial-holder regime, under which only holders of 5% or more of the stapled securities are required to lodge a notice; a complete register of all unitholders is not publicly available.
The on-file registry data, last synchronised 11 August 2026, records a single disclosed institutional holding: iShares Trust – iShares Core MSCI EAFE ETF, shown at approximately 11.29% (9,233,388 securities, AUD share value basis). No other current holders are carried in the registry data reviewed for this profile.
External research identified other institutional investors that have crossed the 5% substantial-holder threshold in APA Group at various dates, based on ASX announcement records: UniSuper Limited ceased to be a substantial holder on 18 October 2024, and The Vanguard Group, Inc. lodged a substantial-holder notice in June 2025. These are point-in-time disclosures and do not represent a complete or current shareholder register.
Data availability: shareholder information for APA Group Limited is best described as major shareholders only. The 11.29% figure recorded for iShares Trust – iShares Core MSCI EAFE ETF is markedly larger than the allocation a single passive index fund would typically hold in a company of APA Group’s scale (market capitalisation reported at approximately A$13-14 billion during 2026), and no corroborating ASX Form 604/605 substantial-holder notice for that specific fund was located during this research. This figure should be treated as a possible data-quality issue pending verification against a dated ASX filing, rather than as a confirmed current holding. No verified ultimate beneficial owner has been identified, consistent with APA Group’s status as a widely held, exchange-listed stapled security rather than a company with a controlling shareholder.
| Shareholder | Type | Holding | Source Document |
|---|---|---|---|
| iShares Trust-iShares Core MSCI EAFE ETF | 11.3% | Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) |
Officers
19
The on-file registry record lists five active officer entries for APA Group Limited: Ms Yoko Kosugi, General Manager of Capital Markets & Corporate Finance (appointed 1 July 2021, and recorded a second time in the same data set without a date); Ms Jane Thomas, Group Executive People, Safety & Culture; Ms Amanda Cheney, Group Executive of Legal & Governance and Company Secretary; and Mr Michael Cox, Head of Media Relations & Financial Communications. Other than Ms Kosugi’s dated entry, none carries an appointment date, and none records a nationality; only a correspondence country of Australia is shown, which reflects a filing address rather than evidence of nationality or residence.
This registry record does not include APA Group Limited’s board of directors. According to the company’s official governance disclosures, the board comprised eight members: Michael Fraser (Independent Chairman, director since 1 September 2015 and Chairman since 27 October 2017), Adam Watson (Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, appointed 19 December 2022), James Fazzino (Independent Director, appointed 21 February 2019), Rhoda Harrington (Independent Director, appointed 1 June 2020), Nino Ficca (Independent Director, appointed 1 September 2023), David Lamont (Independent Director, appointed 1 October 2024), Samantha Lewis (Independent Director, appointed 1 October 2024), and Varya Davidson (Independent Director, appointed 1 March 2025). The same source lists an executive leadership team that also includes Garrick Rollason (Chief Financial Officer, joined 2023), Petrea Bradford (Group Executive Operations, joined August 2023), Beth Griggs (Group Executive Legal, Governance and Regulatory), Rob Evans (Group Executive Infrastructure Delivery, joined 2025), Elizabeth McNamara (Group Executive Sustainability and Corporate Affairs) and Darren Rogers (Group Executive Energy Solutions).
Recent officer changes: Ms Amanda Cheney resigned as Company Secretary of APA Group Limited effective 31 August 2025, as announced to the ASX on 1 September 2025; Ms Bronwyn Weir continues in that role. The on-file registry record, last synchronised 11 August 2026, still lists Ms Cheney as an active officer holding the Company Secretary title — this appears to be outdated data for that specific role based on the company’s own resignation announcement. Ms Beth Griggs is now named by the company as leading the Group Executive Legal, Governance and Regulatory function Ms Cheney previously headed.
Data availability: officer information for APA Group Limited is best described as partial. The underlying registry data used for this profile captures only a small subset of office-holders and generally omits appointment and resignation dates, while the company’s own governance pages provide a fuller and more current picture of the board and executive leadership team. Nationality is not disclosed in either source.
Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), including entries the profile above does not cover.
Group Structure
APA Group Limited is not a subsidiary of another company. It is the ASX-listed responsible entity for two registered managed investment schemes, APA Infrastructure Trust (ARSN 091 678 778, formerly Australian Pipeline Trust) and APA Investment Trust (ARSN 115 585 441, formerly APT Investment Trust); units in the company and the two trusts are stapled together and traded on the Australian Securities Exchange as a single security, APA Group (ASX: APA). This responsible-entity role is a legal-form relationship rather than a shareholding, so it is described here separately from ownership.
According to a compliance-report structure filing lodged with the Australian Energy Regulator (AER), APA Group Limited, acting as responsible entity, holds 100% of APT Pipelines Limited, which changed its name to APA Infrastructure Limited (ASX: AP2) in May 2022 and operates as the group’s principal borrowing entity. The same filing records APT Pipelines Limited/APA Infrastructure Limited holding a 77% interest in East Australian Pipeline Pty Limited, and other group entities holding a 64% interest in NT Gas Pty Limited, among further intermediate subsidiaries; these percentages reflect the AER filing’s reporting date and may not represent the current position.
Verified corporate relationships (selected; not an exhaustive list):
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| APA Infrastructure Limited (formerly APT Pipelines Limited) | Australia | Not disclosed in source reviewed | Direct subsidiary (principal borrowing entity) | 100% per AER filing | Active | AER compliance filing |
| East Australian Pipeline Pty Limited | Australia | Not disclosed in source reviewed | Indirect subsidiary | 77% per AER filing | Active | AER compliance filing |
| NT Gas Pty Limited | Australia | Not disclosed in source reviewed | Indirect subsidiary | 64% per AER filing | Active | AER compliance filing |
The on-file corporate-linkage data reviewed for this profile separately lists twelve Australian entities carrying “APA” branding as related to APA Group Limited, including APA EE Holdings Pty Limited (ACN 109 054 855), APA East Pipelines Pty Limited (ACN 091 883 368), APA AIS Pty Limited (ACN 071 080 861), APA AIS 1 Pty Limited (ACN 099 145 981), APA AIS 2 Pty Ltd (ACN 076 712 331), APA Biobond Pty Limited (ACN 076 568 100), APA EE Pty Limited (ACN 069 799 533), APA EE Corporate Shared Services Pty Limited (ACN 069 799 588), APA EE Australia Pty Limited (ACN 069 799 613), APA (SWQP) Pty Limited (ACN 066 656 219), APA (WA) One Pty Limited (ACN 090 954 484) and APA (Pilbara Pipeline) Pty Ltd (ACN 081 971 173). A spot check of APA EE Holdings Pty Limited against the Australian Business Register confirmed it as an active, registered Australian entity at the matching ACN, but the specific ownership percentages linking each of these entities to APA Group Limited were not independently confirmed by an ownership filing during this research, so this branch of the structure is treated as a possible relationship pending verification of the underlying shareholding chain.
Notably, this on-file corporate-linkage data does not include APA Infrastructure Limited (formerly APT Pipelines Limited) at all, even though it is confirmed by the AER filing and by APA’s own ASX announcements to be a wholly-held and centrally important entity in the group. This appears to be a gap in the on-file data set rather than evidence that no such relationship exists, and is flagged here as a data-quality issue.
Data availability: the group structure of APA Group Limited is best described as partial. The relationship between APA Group Limited and its principal financing subsidiary is confirmed by an AER regulatory filing, but a complete, currently dated ownership chain covering every related Australian entity was not available from the sources reviewed.
APA GROUP LIMITED
Australia
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does APA Group Limited do?
APA Group Limited is the responsible entity for the ASX-listed stapled security "APA Group" (ASX: APA), which owns, operates and maintains energy infrastructure across Australia, including about 15,000 kilometres of gas transmission pipelines delivering roughly half the country's domestic gas usage, gas storage, electricity transmission interconnectors and a portfolio of wind and solar generation assets.
Where and when was APA Group Limited registered?
APA Group Limited is registered in New South Wales, Australia, under ABN 99 091 344 704, with an Australian Business Register status of active since 2 February 2000. It was originally incorporated as Australian Pipeline Limited and adopted its current name on 6 May 2022.
Is APA Group Limited publicly listed?
Yes. APA Group Limited, together with APA Infrastructure Trust and APA Investment Trust, forms the stapled security APA Group, which trades on the Australian Securities Exchange under the ticker APA. As at September 2026, APA Group remains listed and no privatisation of the group has been confirmed by an official filing or announcement.
What is APA Group's revenue?
For the financial year ended 30 June 2025, APA Group reported consolidated statutory revenue (excluding pass-through revenue) of A$2,713 million, up 4.7% on the prior year, and underlying EBITDA of A$2,015 million, up 6.4%, per its ASX results release of 20 August 2025. This is a consolidated group figure, not a standalone figure for APA Group Limited as a legal entity.
Who owns APA Group Limited?
APA Group is a widely held, exchange-listed stapled security; no single shareholder is disclosed as controlling it. The on-file registry data shows one disclosed institutional holding, iShares Trust – iShares Core MSCI EAFE ETF at approximately 11.29%, a figure this research could not corroborate against a dated ASX substantial-holder notice and which should be treated with caution. ASX filings also show UniSuper Limited and The Vanguard Group, Inc. as having crossed the 5% substantial-holder threshold at various dates in 2024 and 2025.
Who are the directors of APA Group Limited?
APA Group's board, per its official governance disclosures, comprises Michael Fraser (Independent Chairman since 27 October 2017), Adam Watson (CEO and Managing Director since 19 December 2022), James Fazzino, Rhoda Harrington, Nino Ficca, David Lamont, Samantha Lewis and Varya Davidson (Independent Directors). Amanda Cheney resigned as Company Secretary effective 31 August 2025 and was succeeded by Bronwyn Weir.
What is APA Group Limited's corporate structure?
APA Group Limited is the responsible entity for two registered managed investment schemes, APA Infrastructure Trust and APA Investment Trust, which are stapled together with it to form the listed APA Group. Per an Australian Energy Regulator compliance filing, APA Group Limited holds 100% of APA Infrastructure Limited (formerly APT Pipelines Limited), the group's principal borrowing entity, which in turn holds a 77% interest in East Australian Pipeline Pty Limited.
Was APA Group ever the target of a takeover bid?
Yes. In November 2018 the Australian Treasurer blocked a proposed A$13 billion takeover of APA Group by Hong Kong-based CK Infrastructure Holdings, using powers under the Foreign Acquisitions and Takeovers Act on national-interest grounds related to foreign concentration of ownership in Australia's gas transmission network. APA Group has remained ASX-listed since that decision.
What is APA GROUP LIMITED's company registration number?
APA GROUP LIMITED's registration number is 99091344704, filed with Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) in Australia. Its current status on the register is active.
Is APA GROUP LIMITED still an active company?
APA GROUP LIMITED's status on Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) is listed as active.
When was APA GROUP LIMITED incorporated?
APA GROUP LIMITED was incorporated on 2 February 2000, according to Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC).
What is APA GROUP LIMITED's registered address?
The registered address on file for APA GROUP LIMITED is Australia.
What legal structure is APA GROUP LIMITED registered as?
APA GROUP LIMITED is registered as a Public Limited Company in Australia.
Can Zavia monitor changes to APA GROUP LIMITED's ownership over time?
This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC). Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to APA GROUP LIMITED's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.
Can I access APA GROUP LIMITED's data through an API?
Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Australia, so records like APA GROUP LIMITED's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.
Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?
This record is sourced directly from Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) and was last synced on 11 August 2026.