Skip links
Companies
› Italy › GAROFALO HEALTH CARE S.P.A.
GAROFALO HEALTH CARE S.P.A. logo

GAROFALO HEALTH CARE S.P.A.

Public Limited Company Active

in

Registration No.
RM947074
Incorporation Date
2000-05-31
Company Type
Public Limited Company
Address
Rome, Italy
Website
www.garofalohealthcare.com/

Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is a joint-stock company (società per azioni) registered with the Registro delle Imprese di Roma under REA number RM-947074 and VAT/tax number 06103021009, incorporated on 31 May 2000. Its registered office is in Rome (Piazzale delle Belle Arti 6, 00196), and its status on the Roman Chamber of Commerce register is currently active.

Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is the parent holding company of an Italian private-hospital and diagnostics group that traces its origins to a clinic founded in Rome in the 1950s by Prof. Raffaele Garofalo and his brothers. At the parent-company level, the company’s own registered business activity is that of a holding company (ATECO 64.20, activities of holding companies); it does not itself operate hospital beds. Through its subsidiaries, the group it heads runs a network of privately owned, largely NHS (SSN)-accredited hospitals, clinics, diagnostic centres and rehabilitation facilities across several Italian regions, including Lazio, Veneto, Emilia-Romagna, Tuscany, Piedmont, Liguria, Lombardy and Friuli-Venezia Giulia.

The company has traded on the Italian stock market since its initial public offering on 9 November 2018, when its shares were admitted to Borsa Italiana’s MTA market; on 25 March 2021 the shares moved to the higher-disclosure Euronext STAR Milan segment, where they continue to trade under the ticker GHC (ISIN IT0005345233).

On a consolidated group basis, Garofalo Health Care reported revenue of approximately €470.7 million for the 2024 financial year, with a workforce of roughly 5,500 employees group-wide across 37 facilities, according to the group’s own financial communications. These are consolidated-group figures and should not be read as the turnover or headcount of the legal entity Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. itself, which functions as the listed holding company; public commercial-register data separately records a much smaller employee count at the parent-company level. Recent group developments disclosed by the company include the acquisition of Casa di Cura Città di Roma, announced in July 2025, and the January 2024 exit of private-equity investor Peninsula Capital from the group’s shareholder base.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries.

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

Shareholders of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.

As an Italian company listed on Euronext STAR Milan, Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is required under CONSOB rules to publicly disclose only shareholders whose stake exceeds 5% of share capital; it does not publish a complete shareholder register. Based on the most recent publicly available snapshot reviewed for this profile (dated 8 January 2026), the disclosed holders above the threshold were: Larama ’98 S.p.A., holding approximately 50.46% of ordinary share capital; Maria Laura Garofalo, holding a further approximately 12.64% directly in her own name; and Fondazione Enasarco, holding approximately 5.28%. An earlier CONSOB-linked snapshot also recorded a stake held by Ente Nazionale di Previdenza ed Assistenza dei Medici (ENPAM) close to 5%, but its current size was not independently confirmed for this profile. The remainder of capital is free float traded on Euronext STAR Milan and is not attributed to named holders in public disclosures. The registry snapshot on file for this company returned no shareholder listing; that reflects the Italian disclosure regime described above rather than an absence of shareholders.

Ultimate beneficial ownership

Larama ’98 S.p.A., the direct controlling shareholder, is itself administered by a member of the Garofalo family: publicly available company information identifies Prof. Mariano Garofalo as its sole administrator. Maria Laura Garofalo, the company’s Chief Executive Officer, is reported to hold a combined majority interest in the company’s capital directly and through Larama ’98 S.p.A. However, a fully sourced, single-dated ownership chain sufficient to calculate one verified effective UBO percentage for the underlying family was not located in the sources reviewed, so no calculated effective percentage is presented here.

Data availability

Shareholder disclosure for Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is categorised as Major shareholders only: CONSOB and Euronext STAR Milan disclosure rules require publication of stakes above 5% of capital, not a full shareholder register, so minority holders below that threshold cannot be identified from public sources.

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

4

Directors and officers of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.

Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is administered by an 11-member Board of Directors, appointed by the shareholders’ meeting on 29 April 2024 for a term running to the approval of the financial statements for the year ending 31 December 2026, per the company’s own governance disclosures. The Board comprises four executive directors, Chairman Alessandro Maria Rinaldi, Chief Executive Officer Maria Laura Garofalo, and Executive Directors Claudia Garofalo and Guido Dalla Rosa Prati; two non-executive directors, Giuseppe Giannasio and Alessandra Rinaldi Garofalo; and five independent directors, Luca Matrigiani, Federico Ferro-Luzzi, Giancarla Branda, Franca Brusco and Alberto Oliveti. A separate Board of Statutory Auditors was appointed the same day for the same term: Sonia Peron (Chairman), Alessandro Musaio and Francesca Di Donato (standing auditors), and Andrea Bonelli and Marco Salvatore (alternate auditors). The company’s own investor-relations materials additionally identify Luigi Celentano as Group Chief Financial Officer. Nationality is not disclosed for any of these individuals in the sources reviewed and is reported here as Not disclosed.

Recent officer changes

The current Board of Directors and Board of Statutory Auditors were both installed at the shareholders’ meeting of 29 April 2024, replacing the boards previously in office, which, per a CONSOB governance snapshot dated 31 December 2023, had also included directors Nicoletta Mincato and Javier De La Rica Aranguren, neither of whom appears on the board elected in 2024.

Data availability

Officer information for Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is categorised as Partial: the company’s own investor-relations site publishes current Board and Statutory Auditor rosters with appointment dates but not nationality or a complete historical appointment record for every past officer. The registry snapshot on file for this company lists only four officer records, understating the size of the actual 11-member Board; one of those four records appears to be a duplicate or corrupted entry (first name recorded as “Attorney” attached to Maria Laura Garofalo’s surname and birth data) rather than a distinct officer, and should not be read as a separate individual.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with the source register, including entries the profile above does not cover.

ML
MARIA LAURA GAROFALO ACTIVE

Residence
🇮🇹 Italy
Occupation
Ceo & Director

AM
Attorney Maria Laura Garofalo ACTIVE

Residence
🇮🇹 Italy
Occupation
Ceo & Director

CG
Claudia Garofalo ACTIVE

Appointed
2018-01-01
Residence
🇮🇹 Italy
Occupation
Executive Director

GD
Guido Dalla Rosa Prati ACTIVE

Residence
🇮🇹 Italy
Occupation
Executive Director

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Group structure of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.

Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. sits at the top of its own corporate group as the listed parent holding company; no external parent or controlling corporate entity was identified in the sources reviewed (its largest shareholder, Larama ’98 S.p.A., is a shareholder, not a parent company shown in registry data). The group comprises more than twenty-five Italian operating subsidiaries engaged in hospital, clinic, diagnostic and rehabilitation services, most held directly and some through intermediate holding subsidiaries. The company’s own “The Group” webpage and the underlying registry linkage data are broadly consistent as to which entities are included, though neither source published individual ownership percentages as of the retrieval date.

Verified corporate relationships

Operating subsidiaries identified from the company’s own group disclosures and cross-checked registry data include, among others: Sanatorio Triestino S.p.A. (with its own subsidiary, Terme del Friuli Venezia Giulia S.r.l.), Rugani Hospital S.r.l., FI.D.ES. Medica S.r.l. (Gruppo Fides, with subsidiaries Centro di Riabilitazione S.r.l. and Ro.E Mar. S.r.l.), Gruppo Veneto Diagnostica e Riabilitazione S.r.l., Istituto Raffaele Garofalo S.r.l., Casa di Cura Prof. Nobili S.r.l., Casa di Cura Villa Berica S.r.l., Casa di Cura Villa Garda S.r.l., Domus Nova S.r.l., Poliambulatorio Dalla Rosa Prati S.r.l., Villa von Siebenthal S.r.l., Aurelia Hospital S.r.l. (parent of European Hospital S.p.A., Casa di Cura Città di Roma S.r.l. and AXA Residence S.p.A., with European Hospital in turn holding Finaur S.r.l. and Casa di Cura S. Antonio da Padova S.r.l.), C.M.S.R. Veneto Medica S.r.l., Hesperia Hospital Modena S.r.l. (with subsidiary Aesculapio S.r.l.), Xray One S.r.l., Sanimedica S.r.l., Centro Medico San Biagio S.r.l., Ospedali Privati Riuniti S.r.l., Clinica San Francesco S.r.l., Bimar S.r.l. and Garofalo Health Care Real Estate S.p.A. All are Italian-registered entities; ownership percentages within the chain were not disclosed in the sources reviewed and are not presented here as verified figures.

Recent structural changes

The company’s own announcements record the acquisition of Casa di Cura Città di Roma (announced July 2025) and, on the shareholder rather than subsidiary side, the January 2024 exit of private-equity investor Peninsula Capital from Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.’s own shareholder base.

Data availability

Corporate-linkage information for this group is categorised as Full as to the identity of operating subsidiaries, consistently confirmed across the company’s own website and the underlying registry linkage data, but Partial as to ownership percentages, which were not published for individual subsidiaries in the sources reviewed.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with the source register, including entries the profile above does not cover.

Ultimate HQ
GAROFALO HEALTH CARE S.P.A.
Italy
GAROFALO HEALTH CARE REAL ESTATE SPA
ItalyIT IT16772041006

SANATORIO TRIESTINO SPA+ subsidiaries
ItalyIT IT00130810328

RUGANI HOSPITAL SRL
ItalyIT IT01243020524

FI.D.ES. MEDICA SRL+ subsidiaries
ItalyIT IT01166430106

GRUPPO VENETO DIAGNOSTICA E RIABILITAZIONE SRL
ItalyIT IT02548900287

ISTITUTO RAFFAELE GAROFALO SRL
ItalyIT IT01823600034

GHC PROJECT 11 SRL
ItalyIT IT17219521006

CASA DI CURA PROF. NOBILI SRL
ItalyIT IT00519601207

+14 more entities

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on GAROFALO HEALTH CARE S.P.A.?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.'s registration number?

Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is registered with the Registro delle Imprese di Roma under REA number RM-947074 and VAT/tax number 06103021009.

When was Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. incorporated?

The company was incorporated on 31 May 2000.

Is Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. a public company?

Yes. Its shares have traded on the Italian stock market since its 9 November 2018 IPO on Borsa Italiana's MTA market, and since 25 March 2021 they have traded on the higher-disclosure Euronext STAR Milan segment under the ticker GHC (ISIN IT0005345233).

What does Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. do?

Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. is the parent holding company of an Italian private-hospital and diagnostics group. At the parent-company level its own registered activity is that of a holding company, while its operating subsidiaries run privately owned, largely NHS-accredited hospitals, clinics and diagnostic centres across several Italian regions.

Who is the controlling shareholder of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.?

Based on the most recent publicly disclosed shareholder data reviewed (dated 8 January 2026), Larama '98 S.p.A. is the controlling shareholder with approximately 50.46% of ordinary share capital; Larama '98 S.p.A. is administered by Prof. Mariano Garofalo.

Does Maria Laura Garofalo hold shares in Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. directly?

Yes. Public disclosures indicate Maria Laura Garofalo, the company's CEO, held approximately 12.64% of ordinary share capital directly, in addition to her family's controlling interest via Larama '98 S.p.A.

Who is the Chief Executive Officer of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.?

Maria Laura Garofalo serves as Chief Executive Officer and sits on the Board of Directors.

Who chairs the Board of Directors of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.?

Alessandro Maria Rinaldi serves as Chairman (President) of the Board of Directors, an executive role per the company's own governance disclosures.

How many directors sit on the Board of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.?

The Board of Directors has 11 members, appointed on 29 April 2024 for a term running to the approval of the FY2026 financial statements, including five independent directors.

Who are the Statutory Auditors of Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.?

The Board of Statutory Auditors, appointed 29 April 2024, is chaired by Sonia Peron, with Alessandro Musaio and Francesca Di Donato as standing auditors and Andrea Bonelli and Marco Salvatore as alternates.

What subsidiaries are part of the Garofalo Health Care group?

The group's own website lists more than 25 Italian operating subsidiaries, including Aurelia Hospital, European Hospital, Hesperia Hospital Modena, Sanatorio Triestino, Rugani Hospital, Istituto Raffaele Garofalo and Casa di Cura Villa Garda, among others.

How large is the Garofalo Health Care group?

On a consolidated group basis (not the figures of the standalone legal entity), the group reported approximately €470.7 million in revenue for FY2024 and around 5,500 employees across 37 facilities in eight Italian regions, according to the group's own financial communications.

Where is Garofalo Health Care S.p.A. registered?

The company's registered office is in Rome, Italy (Piazzale delle Belle Arti 6, 00196 Roma), on file with the Camera di Commercio di Roma.

What is Garofalo Health Care S.p.A.'s official website?

garofalohealthcare.com.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.