Skip links
Companies
› Germany › New Work SE
New Work SE logo

New Work SE

Active

in

Registration No.
HRB 148078 Hamburg
Incorporation Date
Not disclosed
Company Type
Not disclosed
Address
Hamburg, Germany
Website
www.new-work.se/en
Source: Handelsregister (Commercial Register)

Company description

New Work SE is registered with the Hamburg Commercial Register (Handelsregister) under number HRB 148078, with its registered office at Baumwall 7, 20459 Hamburg, Germany. Register records show the underlying legal entity was originally incorporated on 26 August 2003 as OPEN Business Club GmbH, converted to a stock corporation in 2006 (renamed XING AG in 2007), converted into a European public company (Societas Europaea) as XING SE in September 2017, and renamed New Work SE following shareholder approval at the 2019 annual general meeting, with the change taking effect later that year. Zavia’s stored incorporation date of 1 January 2019 could not be independently confirmed against these sources and should not be treated as the entity’s founding date: 2003 is the date supported by the commercial register history, and 2019 marks only a change of name, not a new incorporation. Register extracts describe the legal form as SE (Societas Europaea); Zavia’s own legal-form field was empty at the time of this review.

Trading under the consumer brand XING, New Work SE operates Germany’s best-known professional-networking and online job platform, connecting members for career networking, recruiting and job search, primarily in the German-speaking (DACH) market. Through its group, the company also operates kununu, an employer-review and workplace-rating platform, and InterNations, a global network for expatriates and internationally minded professionals. The group’s activities are concentrated in online recruiting, employer branding and professional-networking services sold to both individual subscribers and corporate and recruiting customers.

New Work SE’s shares were formerly listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange (Prime Standard segment, SDAX index, ticker NWO / WKN NWRK01). Following a public delisting tender offer launched by the company’s principal shareholder in 2024, the shares were delisted from the Frankfurt Stock Exchange effective 26 August 2024. A squeeze-out of the company’s remaining minority shareholders was approved at the ordinary general meeting of 23 June 2025 and registered in the Hamburg Commercial Register on 5 August 2025, at a cash compensation of EUR 105.65 per share; New Work SE is accordingly no longer a publicly traded company. As a listed group, New Work SE last publicly reported consolidated (group-level) revenue of approximately EUR 313.4 million for the 2022 financial year, with approximately 1,887 group employees reported for the same year; more recent, independently verifiable consolidated figures were not identified in the sources reviewed for this profile.

Data Provenance
This record is sourced directly from official government registries, including Handelsregister (Commercial Register).

View data sources →

We don’t stop at registry data.
Every company record is enriched with additional intelligence:
  • Company fundamentals
  • Corporate linkage & group structures
  • Digitized company financials
  • Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates

View full data dictionary →

Shareholders

5

Shareholders of New Work SE

Zavia’s stored shareholder dataset for New Work SE lists 10 total disclosed holdings, of which only 5 records are actually stored (institutional/fund holders such as Invesco International Small-Mid Company Fund, two Virtus funds, Putnam International Capital Opportunities Fund and a Vanguard index fund); the other 5 records referenced by the dataset are missing. The stored percentages, dated 4 September 2026, appear to be drawn from a sample of reportable institutional holdings rather than a complete capitalization table — the five visible entries alone sum to roughly 71% of reported share capital, which is not consistent with New Work SE’s current, publicly disclosed ownership (see below). This dataset should be read as a historical or partial snapshot of free-float institutional holdings predating the company’s 2024-2025 corporate actions, not as a current shareholder register.

Independently verified corporate disclosures show a materially different and more recent picture. New Work SE’s principal shareholder, Burda Digital SE, increased its stake from around 74% (announced 27 March 2024) to approximately 97.07% by February 2025, following a public delisting tender offer. Shareholders approved a squeeze-out of all remaining minority shareholders at the ordinary general meeting on 23 June 2025 (over 99% approval), and the transfer resolution was registered in the Hamburg Commercial Register on 5 August 2025 at a cash compensation of EUR 105.65 per share. On registration, all remaining minority shares transferred automatically to Burda Digital SE by operation of German law (Sec. 327a AktG). As a result, Burda Digital SE is now the sole disclosed shareholder of New Work SE.

Ultimate beneficial ownership

Burda Digital SE is itself part of the Hubert Burda Media group, whose ultimate parent is Hubert Burda Media Holding KG, a privately held German limited partnership associated with the Burda family. Following the August 2025 squeeze-out, Burda Digital SE’s holding in New Work SE is understood to be effectively 100%, subject to confirmation once an updated commercial-register extract is available. No official source reviewed for this profile itemizes the individual percentage beneficial ownership of specific Burda family members within Hubert Burda Media Holding KG; that level of the ownership chain is not disclosed. This profile does not present a calculated individual-level UBO percentage, because the private partnership does not publish the underlying family ownership split.

Data availability

Shareholder and beneficial-ownership information for this German SE is major shareholders only, partial and time-sensitive: WpHG major-shareholding notifications and squeeze-out filings reliably disclose corporate-level stakes, but Germany does not require public, itemized disclosure of a private holding company’s individual family beneficial owners. The dataset stored in Zavia predates the 2024-2025 delisting and squeeze-out and should not be relied on for the company’s current ownership.

Sources

  • EQS-News (ad hoc disclosure), “New Work SE: Grossaktionaer Burda Digital SE stockt seine Beteiligung an der New Work SE auf rund 74% auf”, 27 March 2024 — https://www.eqs-news.com/news/ad-hoc/new-work-se-grossaktionaer-burda-digital-se-stockt-seine-beteiligung-an-der-new-work-se-auf-rund-74-auf/7dc1422f-e104-4290-9c8f-1b58e14ec709_de. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • EQS-News (corporate), “Burda Digital SE submits specified demand for squeeze-out and determines cash compensation … at EUR 105.65”, 2025 — https://www.eqs-news.com/news/corporate/burda-digital-se-submits-specified-demand-for-squeeze-out-and-determines-cash-compensation-for-transfer-of-the-shares-of-the-minority-shareholders-of-new-work-se-at-eur-105-65/a397b5b6-bdec-4568-a752-03f5aef5fd6b_en. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • Spruchverfahren-direkt, squeeze-out resolution and registration notices, 2025 — https://www.spruchverfahren-direkt.de/?p=4751. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • Eurex, “XEUR: Delisting of New Work SE shares” — https://www.eurex.com/ex-de/handel/production-newsboard/XEUR-Delisting-of-New-Work-SE-shares-4077516. Retrieved 25 September 2026.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Handelsregister (Commercial Register), including entries the profile above does not cover.

Shareholder Type Holding Source Document
Invesco International Small-Mid Company Fund 41.5% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)
Virtus Opportunities Tr-Virtus KAR International Small-Mid Cap Fd 20.4% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)
Putnam International Capital Opportunities Fund 3.9% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)
Vanguard Tax Managed Fund-Vanguard Developed Markets Index Fund 2.9% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)
Virtus Equity Tr-Virtus Tactical Allocation Fd 2.1% Handelsregister (Commercial Register)

View all shareholders & beneficial ownership
Full cap table, ownership percentages, and ultimate beneficial owners resolved down to the natural person.

View all shareholders →

Officers

36

Directors and officers of New Work SE

Zavia’s stored officer dataset for New Work SE contains 37 records spanning appointments from 2003 to 2022, reflecting a long history of Executive Board (Vorstand) members and other registered officers rather than a current board list. Two entries in this dataset — “Virtus Opportunities Trust” and “Aim International Mutual Funds”, both recorded with the job title “Partner” — are investment funds, not natural persons or genuine corporate officers of New Work SE; they appear to be a data-linkage artifact and have been excluded from this overview. The most recent record in the stored dataset is a March 2022 resignation, so the dataset predates the company’s most significant recent board changes and should not be used as a current officer list.

Based on New Work SE’s own published governance communications, the Executive Board (Vorstand) as of mid-2025 consists of a single member, Henning Roenneberg, who was appointed Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer on 10 March 2025 and became sole Chief Executive Officer at the close of the annual general meeting on 23 June 2025, succeeding Petra von Strombeck, who had led the company as Chairman of the Executive Board and CEO since 15 January 2020. The Supervisory Board (Aufsichtsrat) was reduced from six to three members at the 2025 annual general meeting; its current members are reported as Dr Maximilian Preisser (Chairman), Tom Bureau and Jean Paul Schmetz. Nationality is not disclosed for any officer in the sources reviewed and is reported here as “Not disclosed” rather than inferred from names or addresses.

Recent officer changes

  • 10 March 2025 — Henning Roenneberg appointed Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of New Work SE.
  • 23 June 2025 — Petra von Strombeck stepped down as CEO at the close of the annual general meeting; Henning Roenneberg became sole Chief Executive Officer.
  • 2025 annual general meeting — Supervisory Board reduced from six to three members; Dr Maximilian Preisser elected Chairman, alongside Tom Bureau and Jean Paul Schmetz.

Data availability

Germany’s commercial register discloses Executive Board (Vorstand) appointments and resignations but does not publish officers’ nationality; that field is reported as “Not disclosed” throughout this profile rather than inferred. The stored officer dataset is historical (last entry 2022) and does not reflect the Executive Board and Supervisory Board composition following the company’s 2025 governance changes described above.

Sources

  • Marketscreener, “New Work Henning Ronneberg appointed as new CFO and COO of New Work SE” — https://uk.marketscreener.com/quote/stock/NEW-WORK-SE-174898103/news/New-Work-Henning-Ronneberg-appointed-as-new-CFO-and-COO-of-New-Work-SE-49179995/. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • Marketscreener, “New Work: Resolutions of the Annual General Meeting of New Work SE” — https://uk.marketscreener.com/quote/stock/NEW-WORK-SE-174898103/news/New-Work-Resolutions-of-the-Annual-General-Meeting-of-New-Work-SE-50317212/. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • Northdata, “New Work SE, Hamburg, Germany, District Court of Hamburg HRB 148078” (register-extract compilation) — https://www.northdata.com/New%20Work%20SE,%20Hamburg/HRB%20148078. Retrieved 25 September 2026.

Registry feed — rows exactly as filed with Handelsregister (Commercial Register), including entries the profile above does not cover.

RS
René Springer ACTIVE

Appointed
2017-04-04
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

HR
Henning Ronneberg ACTIVE

Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Aufsichtsratsmitglied (board member)

RA
Rainer Altfuldisch ACTIVE

Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

PV
Petra Von Strombeck RESIGNED

Appointed
2020-01-15
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Chairman Of Executive Board & Ceo

DH
Daniela Hinrichs RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-10-14
Resigned
2010-06-01
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

SH
Sarik Hermann Gerhard Weber RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-12-02
Resigned
2006-10-16
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

WF
William Fu Wei Liao RESIGNED

Appointed
2004-12-30
Resigned
2006-01-24
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

MS
Maria Sipka RESIGNED

Appointed
2006-01-24
Resigned
2006-10-16
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

LH
Lars Hinrichs RESIGNED

Appointed
2006-10-16
Resigned
2009-02-02
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

AS
Archambeau Schweiz RESIGNED

Appointed
2006-10-16
Resigned
2017-09-14
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Supervisory Board

EC
Eoghan Conor Jennings RESIGNED

Appointed
2006-11-10
Resigned
2009-08-05
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

JC
Julika Capek RESIGNED

Appointed
2007-05-03
Resigned
2010-06-01
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

BB
Burkhard Blum RESIGNED

Appointed
2007-09-05
Resigned
2010-03-15
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

FM
Felix Manuel Menden RESIGNED

Appointed
2007-09-05
Resigned
2010-06-01
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

RA
Ralf Ahamer RESIGNED

Appointed
2007-09-05
Resigned
2010-09-09
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

JD
Julian De Grahl RESIGNED

Appointed
2008-10-23
Resigned
2012-10-22
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

SG
Stefan Gross-Selbeck RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-02-02
Resigned
2012-10-22
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

MO
Michael Otto RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-03-25
Resigned
2011-02-07
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

IF
Ingo Franklin Chu RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-08-05
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

HB
Helmut Becker RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-09-29
Resigned
2013-05-21
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

HW
Helmut Wilhelm Becker RESIGNED

Appointed
2009-09-29
Resigned
2013-05-21
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

JP
Jens Pape RESIGNED

Appointed
2011-03-04
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

TV
Thomas Vollmoeller RESIGNED

Appointed
2012-08-28
Resigned
2020-06-04
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

GM
Gerhard Mohr RESIGNED

Appointed
2012-09-27
Resigned
2017-03-13
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

TR
Timm Richter RESIGNED

Appointed
2013-03-06
Resigned
2018-08-06
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

KW
Kai-Kristian Wolfgang Hollensteiner RESIGNED

Appointed
2014-06-20
Resigned
2022-03-15
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Officer

AN
Alastair Neil Bruce RESIGNED

Appointed
2017-03-13
Resigned
2020-04-20
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

EP
Ernst Patrick Alberts RESIGNED

Appointed
2018-08-06
Resigned
2021-06-28
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

FH
Frank Hassler RESIGNED

Appointed
2020-11-18
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of The Executive Board

VO
Virtus Opportunities Trust RESIGNED

Appointed
2020-12-17
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Partner

PO
Peter Opdemom RESIGNED

Appointed
2022-01-25
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Member Of Exec. Board

AI
Aim International Mutual Funds RESIGNED

Appointed
2022-10-20
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Partner

AI
Aim International Mutual Funds RESIGNED

Appointed
2023-06-04
Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Partner

JP
Jens Pape RESIGNED

Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Cto & Member Of Exec. Board

IC
Ingo Chu RESIGNED

Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Cfo & Member Of Executive Board

PM
Patrick Moller RESIGNED

Residence
🇩🇪 Germany
Occupation
Editor-in-chief & Vp Of Investor Relations

View all officers & directors
Complete appointment history, representation authority, and officer-level filings across jurisdictions.

View all officers →

Group Structure

Group structure of New Work SE

New Work SE is not an independent company; it is part of the Hubert Burda Media group. Its immediate parent is Burda Digital SE (Germany), which held approximately 97.07% of New Work SE’s shares by February 2025 and became its sole shareholder following the squeeze-out registered in the Hamburg Commercial Register on 5 August 2025 (see the Shareholders section for the ownership timeline). The ultimate parent of the group is Hubert Burda Media Holding KG (Germany), a privately held partnership associated with the Burda family. Within Zavia’s own stored corporate-linkage data, New Work SE appears with eight direct subsidiaries, concentrated in the DACH region, Spain, Portugal and Turkey, consistent with the company’s own reported acquisitions of kununu (employer reviews) and InterNations (expatriate network).

Data-quality note: the corporate-linkage dataset stored for this profile is the full group tree of the ultimate parent, Hubert Burda Media, and consequently also lists several hundred entities unrelated to New Work SE’s own operations — including magazine-publishing subsidiaries, HolidayCheck Group AG, Cyberport SE, BurdaForward GmbH, the UK-based Immediate Media Company group, Ghostery and DLD Media. These entities sit elsewhere in the same ultimate parent’s structure and have no direct or indirect ownership relationship with New Work SE. Only the entities shown below, which the dataset records as New Work SE’s own direct subsidiaries, are presented as New Work SE’s group structure.

Verified corporate relationships

Entity Country Registration number Relationship Ownership Status Information date
Burda Digital SE DE DE 80333B240850 Immediate parent Approx. 97-100% per regulatory filings (see Shareholders) Active Aug 2025
Hubert Burda Media Holding KG DE DE 79098A471250 Ultimate parent Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
kununu GmbH DE DE 80333B302266 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
kununu Germany GmbH DE DE 20355B184215 Indirect subsidiary (via kununu GmbH) Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
kununu Austria GmbH AT AT FN305241i Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
KUNUNU PORTUGAL, UNIPESSOAL, LDA PT PT 518928179 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
InterNations GmbH DE DE 80333B239797 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
XING Austria GmbH AT AT FN653958d Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
New Work Networking Spain S.L. ES ES B64062920 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
New Work Networking Portugal, Unipessoal, LDA PT PT 514509651 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source
EUDA Uluslararasi Danismanlik ve Bilisim Hizmetleri Limited Sirketi TR TR 554837 Direct subsidiary Ownership percentage not disclosed Active Not dated in source

Recent structural changes

  • 2024 — Burda Digital SE launched a public delisting tender offer and raised its stake in New Work SE to approximately 97.07% by February 2025; New Work SE shares were delisted from the Frankfurt Stock Exchange effective 26 August 2024.
  • 5 August 2025 — Squeeze-out of New Work SE’s remaining minority shareholders registered in the Hamburg Commercial Register, transferring all remaining shares to Burda Digital SE.

Data availability

Corporate-linkage information for New Work SE is partial: the immediate and ultimate parent and a set of direct subsidiaries are identifiable from register data and public filings, but exact ownership percentages within the group (other than the headline shareholder stakes described in the Shareholders section) are not published at entity level, and the same dataset mixes in a large number of unrelated Hubert Burda Media group entities as described above.

Sources

  • Northdata, “New Work SE, Hamburg, Germany, District Court of Hamburg HRB 148078” — https://www.northdata.com/New%20Work%20SE,%20Hamburg/HRB%20148078. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • Eurex, “New Work: Delisting” — https://www.eurex.com/ex-en/rules-regs/corporate-actions/corporate-action-information/New-Work-Delisting-4078862. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
  • EQS-News (ad hoc), 27 March 2024 — https://www.eqs-news.com/news/ad-hoc/new-work-se-grossaktionaer-burda-digital-se-stockt-seine-beteiligung-an-der-new-work-se-auf-rund-74-auf/7dc1422f-e104-4290-9c8f-1b58e14ec709_de. Retrieved 25 September 2026.
Ultimate HQ
Hubert Burda Media Holding KG
Germany
kununu GmbH+ subsidiaries
GermanyDE 80333B302266

KUNUNU PORTUGAL, UNIPESSOAL, LDA
PortugalPT 518928179

NEW WORK NETWORKING SPAIN S.L.
SpainES B64062920

XING Austria GmbH
AustriaAT FN653958d

InterNations GmbH
GermanyDE 80333B239797

EUDA ULUSLARARASI DANISMANLIK VE BILISIM HIZMETLERI LIMITED SIRKETI
TurkeyTR 554837

kununu Austria GmbH
AustriaAT FN305241i

NEW WORK NETWORKING PORTUGAL, UNIPESSOAL, LDA
PortugalPT 514509651

Explore the full group structure
Map the complete corporate hierarchy: parent companies, subsidiaries, and cross-border ownership chains.

View full group structure →

Need the full UBO picture on New Work SE?

Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does New Work SE do?

New Work SE, trading as XING, operates Germany's leading professional-networking and job platform together with the employer-review site kununu and the expatriate network InterNations, serving primarily the German-speaking (DACH) market.

Who owns New Work SE?

Following a 2024-2025 delisting tender offer and squeeze-out, Burda Digital SE became New Work SE's sole disclosed shareholder (registered 5 August 2025); Zavia's stored shareholder records predate this and reflect an earlier, partial set of institutional fund holdings.

Who is New Work SE's UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner)?

Burda Digital SE (effectively 100% shareholder since August 2025) is itself part of Hubert Burda Media Holding KG, a private partnership associated with the Burda family; the individual beneficial-ownership split among Burda family members is not publicly disclosed.

What is New Work SE's company registration number?

New Work SE's registration number is HRB 148078 Hamburg, filed with Handelsregister (Commercial Register) in Germany. Its current status on the register is active.

Is New Work SE still an active company?

New Work SE's status on Handelsregister (Commercial Register) is listed as active.

What is New Work SE's registered address?

The registered address on file for New Work SE is Hamburg, Germany.

What is New Work SE's revenue?

As a listed group, New Work SE last publicly reported consolidated revenue of approximately EUR 313.4 million for the 2022 financial year; more recent independently verifiable figures were not identified.

Is New Work SE listed on a stock exchange?

New Work SE was listed on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange (SDAX, ticker NWO) until it was delisted on 26 August 2024 following a tender offer by its majority shareholder; a squeeze-out of remaining minority shareholders was registered on 5 August 2025, and the company is no longer publicly traded.

Who are the officers/directors of New Work SE?

New Work SE's Executive Board consists of a single member, CEO Henning Roenneberg, who succeeded Petra von Strombeck at the close of the June 2025 annual general meeting; the Supervisory Board was reduced to three members (Dr Maximilian Preisser as Chairman, Tom Bureau, Jean Paul Schmetz) at the same meeting.

Does New Work SE have a parent company or subsidiaries?

New Work SE is part of the Hubert Burda Media group, with Burda Digital SE as immediate parent; its own verified subsidiaries include kununu (employer reviews) and InterNations (expatriate network), plus local XING/New Work entities in Austria, Spain, Portugal and Turkey.

Can Zavia monitor changes to New Work SE's ownership over time?

This profile reflects a point-in-time snapshot from Handelsregister (Commercial Register). Zavia's monitoring API can track changes to New Work SE's registered shareholders, officers, and group structure going forward, flagging updates as they're filed rather than requiring a manual recheck.

Can I access New Work SE's data through an API?

Yes. Zavia's API connects directly to official government ownership registries across 195 countries and territories, including Germany, so records like New Work SE's registration, shareholder, UBO, and group-structure data can be queried programmatically instead of viewed one page at a time.

Where does this company information come from, and how current is it?

This record is sourced directly from Handelsregister (Commercial Register) and was last synced on 8 September 2026.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.