Impala Platinum Holdings
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (Implats) is a public company incorporated in the Republic of South Africa under registration number 1957/001979/06, with its registered office at 2 Fricker Road, Illovo, Sandton, Johannesburg. Registry linkage data and the company’s Legal Entity Identifier record (LEI 254900BZFIFB4PD2Z778) confirm a registration date of 2 July 1957 – a correction to the 1 January 1957 date shown in some data summaries, which reflects only the correct year and not the true registration day. Published company history indicates the entity traded for a period as Bishopsgate Platinum Limited, listing on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange in January 1973, before being renamed Impala Platinum Holdings Limited in October 1978 to reflect its role as holding company for the platinum group metals (PGM) mining interests developed at the Impala operation near Rustenburg from the 1960s onward through the separately registered operating company, Impala Platinum Limited (registration number 1952/071942/06).
Implats is among the world’s largest primary producers of PGMs, mining, processing and refining platinum, palladium, rhodium and associated by-product metals including nickel, copper and cobalt. Its group operations, held through subsidiaries and joint arrangements, include the Impala Rustenburg mining and refining complex in South Africa’s Bushveld Complex; Impala Refining Services Limited, which toll-refines third-party PGM concentrate; Impala Canada Ltd, an Ontario-based operation; and, following Implats’ 2023 offer for Royal Bafokeng Platinum Limited, the Royal Bafokeng Platinum group together with its interest in the Bafokeng Rasimone Platinum Mine joint venture. The group’s broader corporate structure also extends to Impala Platinum Japan Limited and Impala Holdings Limited.
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited’s ordinary shares are listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange under share code IMP (ISIN ZAE000083648), with an American Depositary Receipt line trading in the United States as IMPUY. The company’s registry status is recorded as Active.
Recent material developments include the completion of the Royal Bafokeng Platinum acquisition in 2023, which added the Styldrift and Bafokeng Rasimone mining assets to the group, and ongoing operational and financial reporting to the JSE through SENS announcements and annual integrated reports.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
Shareholders of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited
The on-file registry record for Impala Platinum Holdings Limited contains no specific shareholder entries, only a generic notice that South African beneficial-ownership filings may not yet be reflected in the source registry. Impala Platinum Holdings Limited is a public company whose ordinary shares are listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (share code IMP, ISIN ZAE000083648), with an American Depositary Receipt line (IMPUY) trading in the United States. As a JSE-listed issuer, it is subject to JSE Listings Requirements and Companies Act disclosure obligations covering shareholders who hold above the relevant notification thresholds, and it is expected to publish a major-shareholder analysis in its integrated annual report and in SENS announcements. This research pass did not retrieve or verify a specific major-shareholder table from a primary JSE SENS filing or the company’s latest annual report, so no individual shareholder names or percentages are reported here.
Data availability
Major shareholders only (expected, not verified): the disclosure framework for a JSE-listed company of this size ordinarily includes a published major-shareholder register, but this was not independently confirmed in this review. This should not be read as evidence that Impala Platinum Holdings Limited has no disclosed shareholders.
Sources
- On-file registry data (South Africa, Companies and Intellectual Property Commission source), retrieved 2026-08-11.
- General JSE Listings Requirements framework for shareholder disclosure (no specific shareholder filing retrieved in this research pass).
Officers
1
Directors and officers of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited
The on-file registry record lists a single active officer: Chief Executive Officer Johannes Nicolaas Muller (Nico Muller). Independent third-party financial-data sources, which aggregate disclosures made in the company’s SENS announcements and annual reports, additionally identify Thandi Orleyn as independent non-executive Chairperson since 2020, Meroonisha Kerber as Chief Financial Officer and executive director since 2018, and Lee Ann Samuel as Group Executive: People and executive director since 2017, alongside Nico Muller as Chief Executive Officer and executive director since 2017. These appointment dates were not cross-checked against a primary CIPC filing or an individual SENS appointment announcement in this research pass and should be treated as indicative rather than definitive.
Nationality is not disclosed for any of the officers named above in the sources reviewed and must not be inferred from name, reported role or the company’s South African registered office. The registered office address is a correspondence/service address for CIPC purposes only and does not indicate any officer’s residence or nationality.
Data availability
Partial: the on-file registry captures only the Chief Executive Officer, while the company’s actual board and executive committee are materially larger; historical appointment and resignation records were not reviewed, and no resignation, removal or termination events could be confirmed in this pass.
Sources
- On-file registry data (CIPC-sourced), retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Third-party financial-data aggregators reflecting company SENS/annual-report disclosures (not independently verified against a primary filing in this research pass).
Group Structure
Group structure of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (registration number 1957/001979/06) functions as the ultimate holding company of the Implats group; on-file registry linkage data records no parent company above it. The verified corporate-linkage tree lists eight related entities spanning South Africa, Canada and Japan: the principal South African operating company Impala Platinum Limited; refining subsidiary Impala Refining Services Limited; Impala Holdings Limited and Implats Services (Pty) Ltd; Impala Canada Ltd in Ontario; Impala Platinum Japan Limited; and, held indirectly through Impala Platinum Limited, Royal Bafokeng Platinum Limited together with the Bafokeng Rasimone Platinum Mine joint venture and Impala Bafokeng Platinum (Pty) Ltd. Ownership and voting percentages for these relationships are not disclosed in the registry data reviewed. The Royal Bafokeng Platinum linkage reflects Implats’ 2023 acquisition of that company.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impala Platinum Limited | ZA | 1952/071942/06 | Direct subsidiary | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Impala Refining Services Limited | ZA | 1968/009670/06 | Direct subsidiary | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Impala Holdings Limited | ZA | 1987/005592/06 | Direct subsidiary | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Implats Services (Pty) Ltd | ZA | 4650121256 (as recorded in source) | Direct subsidiary | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Impala Canada Ltd. | CA | 10606847 | Direct subsidiary | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Impala Platinum Japan Limited | JP | 8010001011599 | Direct subsidiary | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Royal Bafokeng Platinum Ltd | ZA | 2008/015696/06 | Indirect subsidiary (via Impala Platinum Limited) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Impala Bafokeng Platinum (Pty) Ltd | ZA | 2008/015696/07 | Indirect subsidiary (via Royal Bafokeng Platinum Ltd) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
| Bafokeng Rasimone Platinum Mine Joint Venture | ZA | JRF140605 | Possible relationship / joint venture (via Royal Bafokeng Platinum Ltd) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2026-08-11 |
Recent structural changes
- 2023 – Acquisition: Implats completed its offer for Royal Bafokeng Platinum Limited, bringing Royal Bafokeng Platinum and its Bafokeng Rasimone Platinum Mine joint-venture interest into the group.
Data availability
Partial: the registry linkage tree confirms the existence of these relationships but does not disclose ownership percentages, voting control, or the current status of each entity; this should not be read as evidence of full or sole ownership by Impala Platinum Holdings Limited.
Sources
- On-file registry linkage data, retrieved 2026-08-11.
- General company/JSE disclosures regarding the 2023 Royal Bafokeng Platinum acquisition (not independently re-verified against a primary SENS filing in this research pass).
Impala Platinum Holdings
South Africa
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Impala Platinum Holdings Limited's registration number?
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited is registered in South Africa under registration number 1957/001979/06. This corrects an on-file registration number of 87/04830/06, which does not match the registration number confirmed by the company's own registry linkage data and its Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record.
When was Impala Platinum Holdings Limited incorporated?
The company's Legal Entity Identifier record and registry linkage data show a registration date of 2 July 1957. An on-file date of 1 January 1957 reflects the correct year but appears to be a rounded placeholder rather than the true registration day.
Is Impala Platinum Holdings Limited the same company as Impala Platinum Limited?
No. Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (registration number 1957/001979/06) is the JSE-listed holding company. Impala Platinum Limited (registration number 1952/071942/06) is a separately registered, earlier-incorporated operating subsidiary that holds the group's core Rustenburg-area mining and processing operations.
What does Impala Platinum Holdings Limited do?
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited (Implats) is a holding company for a group of primary producers of platinum group metals (PGMs), including platinum, palladium and rhodium, along with by-product nickel, copper and cobalt, produced through mining, concentrating, smelting and refining operations.
Where is Impala Platinum Holdings Limited listed?
Impala Platinum Holdings Limited's ordinary shares trade on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange under share code IMP (ISIN ZAE000083648). The company also has an American Depositary Receipt line trading in the United States under the symbol IMPUY.
Who is the Chief Executive Officer of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited?
Johannes Nicolaas Muller (Nico Muller) is recorded as Chief Executive Officer in the on-file registry data. Independent financial-data sources describe him as CEO and executive director since 2017; this was not independently re-verified against a primary filing in this research pass.
Who chairs the board of Impala Platinum Holdings Limited?
Third-party financial-data sources identify Thandi Orleyn as independent non-executive Chairperson since 2020. This appointment is not present in the on-file registry data and was not independently re-verified against a primary filing in this research pass.
Where is Impala Platinum Holdings Limited's registered office?
The company's registered office is recorded as 2 Fricker Road, Illovo, Sandton, Johannesburg, South Africa. This is a registered/correspondence address and should not be described as a headquarters unless confirmed by an authoritative source.
What are Impala Platinum Holdings Limited's main group entities?
Verified registry linkage data lists Impala Platinum Limited, Impala Refining Services Limited, Impala Holdings Limited, Implats Services (Pty) Ltd, Impala Canada Ltd, Impala Platinum Japan Limited, and, held indirectly, Royal Bafokeng Platinum Limited and related entities.
Did Impala Platinum Holdings Limited acquire Royal Bafokeng Platinum?
Yes. Implats completed an offer for Royal Bafokeng Platinum Limited in 2023, bringing Royal Bafokeng Platinum and its interest in the Bafokeng Rasimone Platinum Mine joint venture into the group's corporate structure.
Are Impala Platinum Holdings Limited's shareholders publicly disclosed?
A specific major-shareholder table was not verified in this research pass. As a JSE-listed public company, Impala Platinum Holdings Limited is expected to disclose major shareholders under JSE Listings Requirements, typically in its integrated annual report and SENS announcements, but this content does not report unverified figures.
What is Impala Platinum Holdings Limited's current registry status?
The company's registry status is recorded as Active. An active status reflects registry standing only and is not evidence of financial performance, trading activity, or compliance.
What products does Impala Platinum Holdings Limited produce?
The group produces platinum group metals, primarily platinum, palladium and rhodium, together with associated by-product metals including nickel, copper and cobalt, from mining and refining operations held across its subsidiaries.