OLD Mutual Finance
Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd is a private company registered in South Africa under Companies and Intellectual Property Commission registration number 1993/002279/07 (VAT number 4080174727), according to an official B-BBEE compliance annexure published by Old Mutual Limited. The “(RF)” element of its name denotes a ring-fenced company under South Africa’s Companies Act 71 of 2008, meaning its Memorandum of Incorporation contains provisions restricting certain amendments.
Trading as Old Mutual Finance, the company is registered with South Africa’s National Credit Regulator as a credit provider under registration number NCRCP35, as stated in the disclaimer published on Old Mutual’s official website. Its principal business activity, as classified in Old Mutual Limited’s consolidated Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024, is lending: Old Mutual Finance provides unsecured personal loans and debt-consolidation loans to individual consumers, advertised on Old Mutual’s website in amounts from R2 000 to R250 000 repayable over three to 72 months, subject to a credit and affordability assessment. Old Mutual Finance does not take retail deposits; the same financial statements record that its loan book is instead funded through wholesale lenders, subject to financial covenants imposed by those lenders.
Old Mutual Finance does not appear to maintain a separate corporate website; its loan products are marketed through the oldmutual.co.za website of the wider Old Mutual group. As of 31 December 2024, Old Mutual Limited’s consolidated group accounts allocated R385 million of goodwill to the Old Mutual Finance cash-generating unit, unchanged from the R385 million reported at 31 December 2023.
- Company fundamentals
- Corporate linkage & group structures
- Digitized company financials
- Firmographics — websites, social profiles, revenue and employee estimates
Shareholders
Shareholders of Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd
Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd is an unlisted private company and has no public shareholder register or listed share capital of its own. According to Old Mutual Limited’s consolidated Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024 (Note I1: Subsidiaries, approved by the board on 17 March 2025), Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd is listed among the Group’s principal subsidiaries with a 100% Group holding, unchanged from the 100% holding reported for the year ended 31 December 2023. The statement records that shares in the Group’s subsidiaries, including Old Mutual Finance, are held directly and indirectly by Old Mutual Limited (the Company); the financial statements do not itemise which specific intermediate holding company within the Group directly holds the shares in Old Mutual Finance, so the precise direct-versus-indirect ownership path could not be independently confirmed from the sources reviewed.
Ultimate beneficial ownership
Old Mutual Limited is a widely held public company, primarily listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE: OMU), with a standard listing on the London Stock Exchange and secondary listings on the Namibian, Zimbabwean and Malawian stock exchanges. No single natural person is disclosed as holding a controlling or reportable beneficial interest in Old Mutual Limited. No complete, dated ownership chain was located that would support calculating an effective ultimate beneficial ownership percentage for any individual in Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd, so no ultimate beneficial owner is reported here.
Data availability
Country availability: Major shareholders only / Partial. Full, itemised shareholder registers are not published for South African private companies through free-access sources. The 100% Group holding is disclosed only at the consolidated annual-report level, and the specific intermediate holding entity within the Old Mutual Limited group is not separately identified. This should not be read as evidence that Old Mutual Finance has no other shareholders on record.
Sources
Old Mutual Limited, Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024, Note I1 “Subsidiaries” (approved 17 March 2025) — oldmutual.com, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Old Mutual Limited, B-BBEE Verification Annexure A (AQRate certificate OML010581-REV5.1) — oldmutual.com, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Old Mutual, “Share Listings on JSE, LSE, MSE, NSX & ZSE” — oldmutual.com/about/governance/share-listing/, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Officers
Directors and officers of Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd
No director or officer information specific to Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd was located through the Companies and Intellectual Property Commission’s free public search facilities, Old Mutual Limited’s Annual Financial Statements, or Old Mutual’s official website and official announcements reviewed for this profile. South Africa’s CIPC records current company directors, but a full director search of an individual private company ordinarily requires a paid CIPC company report or an authenticated CIPC eServices search, neither of which was accessible for this research. Old Mutual Limited’s Annual Financial Statements set out biographical information for the Group’s own board of directors (Note M) and disclose Directors’ and Prescribed Officers’ emoluments (Note L) at Group level, but do not separately name the directors of Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd as an individual subsidiary entity.
Data availability
Country availability: Not public. Directors of a South African private company are recorded by the CIPC, but free, authoritative public access to a specific company’s current director list was not available for this research, so officer information for Old Mutual Finance could not be independently confirmed. This should not be interpreted as evidence that the company has no directors or legal representatives.
Sources
Companies and Intellectual Property Commission eServices portal — eservices.cipc.co.za (restricted, paid company search; not accessible for this research), checked 22 September 2026.
Old Mutual Limited, Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024, Notes L and M — oldmutual.com, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Group Structure
Group structure of Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd
Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd is not an independent company. It is a wholly owned (100%) subsidiary within the Old Mutual Limited group, as disclosed in Old Mutual Limited’s consolidated Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024 (Note I1: Subsidiaries, approved 17 March 2025), which lists Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd among the Group’s “principal subsidiaries and Group enterprises,” with its nature of business given as “Lending,” country of incorporation South Africa, and a 100% Group holding reported for both 31 December 2024 and 31 December 2023.
Old Mutual Limited (registration number 2017/235138/06) is the ultimate parent and is described on its own website as the Licensed Controlling Company of the Designated Old Mutual Limited Insurance Group. Old Mutual Limited was established through Old Mutual plc’s 2018 “managed separation”: Old Mutual plc’s shares were cancelled from the Official List and the London Stock Exchange’s main market on 26 June 2018, and Old Mutual Limited was admitted to listing with its primary listing on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE: OMU), a standard listing on the London Stock Exchange, and secondary listings on the Namibian, Zimbabwean and Malawian stock exchanges. The entity historically known as Old Mutual plc was subsequently renamed Quilter plc and is now an independent, separately listed UK wealth-management business with no ownership relationship to Old Mutual Limited or Old Mutual Finance.
The Annual Financial Statements record that shares in Old Mutual Finance and dozens of other principal subsidiaries (including Old Mutual Life Assurance Company (South Africa) Limited, Old Mutual Insure Limited and Old Mutual Investment Group (Pty) Ltd) are held directly and indirectly by Old Mutual Limited; the specific intermediate holding company that directly holds the shares in Old Mutual Finance is not separately disclosed in the reviewed source. No verified subsidiaries of Old Mutual Finance itself were identified in the sources reviewed.
Verified corporate relationships
| Entity | Country | Registration number | Relationship | Ownership | Status | Information date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Old Mutual Limited | South Africa | 2017/235138/06 | Ultimate parent | 100% Group holding (direct/indirect split not itemised) | Active | 31 December 2024 |
Recent structural changes
No recent acquisitions, disposals or reorganisations specific to Old Mutual Finance were identified in the sources reviewed for this profile.
Data availability
Country availability: Partial. The relationship to the ultimate parent, Old Mutual Limited, and the 100% Group ownership are confirmed by the parent’s audited annual financial statements; the specific intermediate holding chain within the Group is not itemised in the reviewed sources.
Sources
Old Mutual Limited, Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024, Note I1 “Subsidiaries” (approved 17 March 2025) — oldmutual.com, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Old Mutual, “Share Listings on JSE, LSE, MSE, NSX & ZSE” — oldmutual.com/about/governance/share-listing/, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Sharenet SENS announcement, “Update On Managed Separation Delisting Of Old Mutual Plc Shares And Admission Of Old Mutual Limited,” 26 June 2018 — sharenet.co.za, retrieved 22 September 2026.
Get complete shareholder and officer records, ultimate beneficial owner resolution, and ongoing ownership monitoring.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the legal name of Old Mutual Finance?
The company's full registered legal name is Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd, a private company incorporated in South Africa.
What is Old Mutual Finance's company registration number?
1993/002279/07, per an official B-BBEE compliance annexure published by Old Mutual Limited. The same document lists its VAT number as 4080174727.
When was Old Mutual Finance incorporated?
An exact incorporation date is not disclosed in the sources reviewed. Its CIPC-format registration number (1993/002279/07) indicates that it was registered in South Africa in 1993.
What does the "(RF)" in Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd mean?
'(RF)' denotes a ring-fenced company under South Africa's Companies Act 71 of 2008 – its Memorandum of Incorporation contains provisions restricting certain amendments.
What is Old Mutual Finance's principal business activity?
Lending. Old Mutual Limited's audited Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024 classify its principal activity as "Lending," and it provides unsecured personal loans and debt-consolidation loans to individual consumers.
Is Old Mutual Finance registered with South Africa's National Credit Regulator?
Yes. Old Mutual's official website identifies Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd as a Licensed Financial Services and Registered Credit Provider under NCR registration number NCRCP35.
Does Old Mutual Finance take retail deposits?
No. Old Mutual Limited's 2024 Annual Financial Statements state that Old Mutual Finance does not take retail deposits and that a portion of its funding is provided by wholesale lenders, subject to financial covenants.
Is Old Mutual Finance a subsidiary of Old Mutual Limited?
Yes. Old Mutual Limited's consolidated Annual Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2024 (Note I1: Subsidiaries) list Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd among the Group's principal subsidiaries with a 100% Group holding, unchanged from the 100% holding reported for the year ended 31 December 2023.
Is Old Mutual Finance's ownership by Old Mutual Limited direct or indirect?
The annual financial statements state that shares in the Group's subsidiaries, including Old Mutual Finance, are held directly and indirectly by Old Mutual Limited; the statements do not separately identify which specific intermediate holding company directly holds the shares in Old Mutual Finance.
Who is Old Mutual Finance's ultimate parent, and is it publicly listed?
The ultimate parent is Old Mutual Limited (registration number 2017/235138/06), primarily listed on the Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE: OMU), with a standard listing on the London Stock Exchange and secondary listings on the Namibian, Zimbabwean and Malawian stock exchanges.
How did Old Mutual Limited become the parent of Old Mutual Finance?
Old Mutual Limited was formed through the 2018 managed separation of the former Old Mutual plc. Old Mutual plc's shares were cancelled from the London Stock Exchange's main market on 26 June 2018, and Old Mutual Limited was admitted with its primary listing on the JSE. Old Mutual plc was later renamed Quilter plc and is now an independent, separately listed UK business with no ownership link to Old Mutual Finance.
Who are the directors of Old Mutual Finance?
Not public. No director information specific to Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd was located via free-access sources; a full CIPC director search typically requires a paid company report that was not accessible for this research.
Are Old Mutual Finance's shareholders and ultimate beneficial owners publicly disclosed?
Only at group level. Its 100% ownership by Old Mutual Limited is disclosed in the parent's annual financial statements, but no natural-person ultimate beneficial owner is identified, consistent with Old Mutual Limited being a widely held, publicly listed company.
What is Old Mutual Finance's registered address?
Not disclosed in the sources reviewed for this profile; no company-specific registered address for Old Mutual Finance (RF) (Pty) Ltd was confirmed via an authoritative source.
Does Zavia.ai monitor Old Mutual Finance for changes?
Yes. Zavia.ai's data pipeline can monitor South African company records such as Old Mutual Finance's for updates as new registry, filing or disclosure information becomes available, and this profile is refreshed as verified sources are found.